We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really chilled and relaxed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaways Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really chilled and relaxed”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've just got back from a week at Castaways and we had a great time. The site is quiet, and compact, situated really close to a lovely beach via some steps. I'm not sure why people moan about the steps being steep and their dogs couldn't use them? My 4 year old and not so spritely parents had no problems going up and down them.

Overall the caravans are in good nick, everything you would expect. The only annoyances we had was it smelt a bit like wet dog, but then it's a dog friendly park, so we just got on with it. The blinds in the caravans are in need of a dire clean. I nearly did it myself! We didn't speak to anyone about this so I'm not sure it's fair to add this, but it's an honest review of the van. The Tv didn't work from Wednesday to Friday and when you have a little person you're a bit confined in the evenings. We did speak to Richard who came to check it and assured us it was most likely the weather.

Even though we had a few annoyances, this park is really well maintained, the park for kids is lovely and the pub is just a stones throw from any caravan, yet you can't hear the entertainment of an evening, which was great. The shop has everything you need if you forget anything and the staff are really friendly.

Woke up to a seal every morning, swimming about in the sea just outside our caravan which was wonderful. And the Gas terminal that is next door, well we didn't notice it much at all. In fact, I got some lovely sunset pictures with the terminal included. Some people just like to moan for the sake of it, and you have more than 1 window in your caravan, if you don't like the view look out another one!!!

I will definitely recommend this park, the staff and the area. Had a thoroughly good time and was sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had caravan 9 with a sea view and it really was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carriej1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    5
    5
    11
See reviews for
70
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

we have been going to castaways for 16 years now and we love it the staff are brilliant so friendly anna and richard always make us welcome they are like family to us there is a lovely club house shop and the sea is minutes away what more do you need, richard has done lovely job on site its very clean and tidy, the caravans are always clean and very equipped out, also we have met some lovely friends at castaways and now we meet up here every year, cant wait till we go again .

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 944diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This was my first holiday away with my newborn baby he was four months old it was lovely to get away and be with my little family. Staying at castaways holiday park was brilliant such a quiet and relaxing holiday park, access right to the beach. The staff are friendly and always talk to you. Can't wait to come and visit castaways holiday park again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed last August, for our second year running, taking our two small dogs, grandparents, and their small dog too. Always a friendly welcome from the owners, it's like staying with relatives. We had a minor problem with a smelly fridge, but on telling the owners, they were right over sorting it out for us. We love the access to the beach, dog friendly bar, inventive quiz night, and magical Edd the hilarious magic act. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family went this holiday park last year in summer. We enjoyed our holiday because of the wonderful staff who were very welcoming and very helpful. A good variety of entertainment every night with excellent bar staff..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went on a family 3 day trip and by all accounts should still be there instead I am back home writing this review. The caravan we stayed was described in our literature as superior BUT if this is superior i really would not want to see budget.

My son was unable to sleep in the room with twin beds as the beds were to uncomfortable we had arrived late so couldn't complain. We made up his bed in the lounge on the seating as we pulled out the pull out bed and it was absolutely filthy and disgusting.

My husband and I could not sleep in our room and used a blow up mattress on the floor. The next morning everything was DAMP our clothes were WET my poor dog was coughing and spluttering due to the damp.

The caravan was dirty below the surface which appeared clean.

Obviously the owners know the beds are crap as the mattresses have old duvets wrapped around them.

ONE saving grace was that dogs are allowed in the bar area.

When we complained the lady we spoke to said she would go and get the owner however they never materialized just the same lady who worked in the bar to say did we want another caravan by this time we had packed up in the car and were driving away.

A offer of our money back or partial refund would have been nice pherhaps we to should inform ABTA we will be informing the site we booked through.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

So disappointing with this accommodation, yes it is family run that does not excuse the filthy accommodation. It does not excuse the fact we couldn't use the bar for lunch as they hire it out for private meeting (to make more money) Despite sending photographic evidence of the filth and bloodstained sheets and numerous other complaints these were brushed of no offer of a refund and not even an apology apparently it was my families fault for not running around chasing after the owner to complain. Oh and if you want to buy lunch from the shop for goodness sake don't go at lunchtime as its closed!!!!! This was meant to be a relaxing family holiday before my husband deployed for 6 months, totally ruined. Armed Forces personnel give a wide birth in my opinion if they don't respect an honest complaint why line their pockets. I have taken this further to ABTA as this is disgraceful.

Room Tip: certainly not a lodge didn't see other accomm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gyouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Owner at Castaways Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your family break at Castaways Holiday Park. Yes we are a family owned and run site that prides itself on cleanliness and personal Customer service however on this occasion you never gave us the opportunity to use our experience to ensure that you would have had a great stay. We apologise if you thought that your Pine Lodge was not up to your standards, however as stated in our previous complaint responses to you had you had brought these issues up directly with the park, we may have had a chance to rectify the situation. With regards to our clubhouse, this is clearly stated that we do not open for lunch time as in previous years we decided to close our Clubhouse during the daytime due to lack of response. The photographic evidence does not suguest that these photos were taken at the start of this customers stay, however to take apart the shower trap to take photos is totally unacceptable. The bloodstained sheets were only noticed as you stated on the Thursday evening after checking into your accommodation on the Saturday before. We would also like to state the blood stains that were on the sheet and were also on the protective cover underneath the undersheet. In all honesty how could we apologise if you could not come and speak to us directly regarding your problems with the accommodation. We as owners were onsite during the whole of your stay and in fact our house is directly opposite the lodge you stayed in and you know we spoke to you at the start of your break, so the fact that you did not want to chase us is total fabrication as this customer had every opportunity to speak to us. Our Shop opening times are clearly advised and stated to all our holidaymakers at point of checking in at Reception, so you would know when the shop opens and closes. We close at lunchtimes in order to get a meal ourselves as we work such long hours, but if you did require anything why did you not come across to the main house to ask for us to open the shop, as if you would have spoke to us you would have known we are very approachable people. The fact that you never mentioned anything with us at the start of your holiday, that you never spoke to us or our staff at all during your stay regarding your complaint, the fact that you stayed the full duration without saying anything at all, then when you get home you complain is not very honest to us or our staff. We do apologise that your complaint has esculated this far and that you wish to complain to ABTA regarding our site, but we could have made your stay better with us had we have known about your complaint during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacton
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
261 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
278 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
499 reviews
2.5 mi away
Olde Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Overcliff Lodge
Overcliff Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mundesley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Holiday Park

Property: Castaways Holiday Park
Address: Castaways Holiday Park Paston Road, Bacton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Bacton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bacton
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception and Shop Opening Times: 9.00am - 12.30pm & 2.00pm - 6.00pm Wednesdays closed at 5.00pm Saturdays: 8.30am - 11.00am & 2.00pm - 6.00pm Jolly Roger Bar Opening Hours: 6.30pm - 12.00 Sundays 7.00pm - 11.00pm Food Served from Opening till 9.00pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castaways Holiday Park Bacton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing