We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break in unspoilt surroundings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaways Holiday Park
suffolk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break in unspoilt surroundings”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a lovely small park run by very nice helpful people,well maintained on a cliff top with superb views out to sea from most of the caravans. We go away quite a lot this time of year so are used to taking a couple of fan heaters with us and belieive me you will need them here if you hire a standard caravan, there is a electric heater in the main bedroom but nothing in the twin and all that does is just take the edge off .Also take an extension lead as there is only one socket in the lounge and we like to take a dvd player with us ( also handy for fan heaters ) . This was a freezing weekend but we were lovely and cozy and the wind rally does blow there. There is a bar on the park which we didnt use but seemed very nice also a safe play area for the children. I would recomend this site purely because its small and friendly. The beautiful sandy beach goes on for miles and you can get down with steps from the park . This time of year its very quiet but suits us to the ground. There is a fish & chip shop in the village and few small shops and also a few nice pubs within a short drive some with roaring fires , perfect . If you want an all action park this is not for you but if you want a peaceful break this time of year i would highly recommend it.The only thing stopping me giving this park 5 stars if im being uber picky is loo brush, shower head and metal towel holder need replacing they were a bit grim. But overall we are looking forward to going back sometime,

Room Tip: there are caravans right at the front and you would get a great view but bear in mind if its very wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank backseatbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    4
    5
    11
See reviews for
69
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first visit to this area, it was better than expected by far. The caravan was perfectly located, unspoilt sea views, clean beach. The site was clean, friendly and very well cared for. Lovely play park for children, dog exercise area. Short walk to chip shop and Chinese restaurant too! Lovely weekend break, would love to go again in the summer.

Room Tip: the beach goes for miles in each direction, perfect for walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank baileewisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We just got home from our stay at Castaways in January 13 we stayed in a standard caravan which was clean and tidy.
We had a superb sea view to wake up to but due to the time of year caravan got very cold during the night and first thing on a morning if you stay in a standard caravan we reccomend you take a portable heater as we did and it made all the difference.
Staff were really helpful and friendly very nice and well maintained site.
The only thing keeping me from a 5 star rating was that the kitchen utensils were not that clean but that was easily fixed with a quick wash and also the oven was very tempremental you need matches to light it and it would sometimes not light at all but no real complaints we really enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again when we are in norfolk excellent family holiday and great base to explore north norfolk from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Craigy_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

just spent our xmas at castaways,very nice site lovely location,right next to sea,very friendly family run site, we stayed in apartment 4 and it was very clean and cosy,very dog freindly and will definately be going again and recomending it to our family and friends A++++ rating. len and angie doble, witham essex

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton le Moors, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

this was a excellent holiday for the family, all the staff that run the site were extremely friendly and worked so hard to make sure the kids had a great time,they arranged lots of entertainment for them . it was a small and family focused site and we will be booking again for next year!! lots of places to visit ,

Room Tip: sea view cold and fresh , i would take hot water bottles for the winter season
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eli Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our family had a amazing short break , we were greeted by friendly staff , the caravan we stayed in was a standered but had plenty of space and a sea veiw which our daughter loved waking up to , its located in a very quiet and safe area . Would recommend to anyone , we r planning to return in April :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 88emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have visited Castaways 4 times now and have just returned from a 2 week stay.
Anna and Richard are very welcoming and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
I took my parents and 2 dogs and spent glorious days on an empty beach with fantastic sunrises and blue skys.
I would live here if I could and I am seriously thinking of buying a caravan on site
There is a small shop on site and a bar with entertainment in the evening
I found the caravans and the Lodges very comfortable and spacious and feel quite sad that I am now back home. Infact, I cried when I had to come home and I'm 44 years old and have never felt like that about anywhere I have ever been on holiday!
I can't wait to go back and this is definately a place worth visiting

Room Tip: 3 bed wooden lodge are quiet and have disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueL153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacton
3.1 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Holiday Park

Property: Castaways Holiday Park
Address: Castaways Holiday Park Paston Road, Bacton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Bacton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bacton
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception and Shop Opening Times: 9.00am - 12.30pm & 2.00pm - 6.00pm Wednesdays closed at 5.00pm Saturdays: 8.30am - 11.00am & 2.00pm - 6.00pm Jolly Roger Bar Opening Hours: 6.30pm - 12.00 Sundays 7.00pm - 11.00pm Food Served from Opening till 9.00pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castaways Holiday Park Bacton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing