We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, well equipped cottage close to the beach”
other travelers have booked this property
Coastguard Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coastguard Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Coastguard Cottages
Open working fireplace
Original range in kitchen (not in use)
Kitchen - gas hob and electric oven
Bathroom, with shower
Stable Type Back Door
The cottage has steep stairs
Upstairs landing
Landing
Front bedroom - single
Front bedroom
Front bedroom - double
Back bedroom - single
Original fireplace in back bedroom
Looking back towards the cottage from the coastal path
Bacton Beach walkway
Bacton looking north
Bacton village sign
Poachers Pocket Pub just 10 minutes walk along the coastal path
Plenty of walks around Bacton
Happisburgh Lighthouse
Nearest town North Walsham
Friendly Turnstones always present on the front at Walcott
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bacton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue O
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped cottage close to the beach”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having been on some European city breaks recently I was looking forward to the tranquility & beauty of Norfolk for a long weekend. I've stayed at Jane & Steve's other property in Mundesley 4 times over the past couple of years & been extremely satisfied (twice on my own, once with a friend & once with my partner). My trip this time was with 2 single friends, so we needed a 3 bedroomed place, I was delighted to learn that Jane & Steve had taken on this cottage, as I knew it wouldn't disappoint. It was perfect for us (2 ladies & 1 man). We ate our breakfast & lunch each day in the back garden, which is a cosy little sun trap. We all found the beds comfortable & the facilities spot on. We managed to park our 2 cars in the parking place (a Mini & a Citroen C3). We walked along the beach to the pub on the first night. We had a lovely walk in the other direction to Happisburgh the next morning (the home made burgers at "Burgers by the Beach" just past the car park were delicious) & took the coastal path back after looking around the village & sampling the beer at The Hill House pub. The Old Vicarage garden at nearby East Ruston was a big hit, as was Horsey beach, where we saw some seals. We also visited Ranworth Broad & I recommend climbing the tower of St Helen's church for the view. We were blessed with fabulous weather for our weekend, which was the icing on the cake. I shall definitely be staying again as I want to return to The Old Vicarage during a different season (it's the best garden I've ever visited) & visit Horsey beach when the seal pups are there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable Short Break”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

HAd a 3 day break with partner and our small dog, your own parking space and 3 bedrooms , 2 doubles and 1 single. Mattresses werent great otherwise all good

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Sorry you weren't happy with the mattresses - 2 of them are only a couple of months old, the mattress on the single bed is older and will be replaced later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely welcoming cottage in easy access of South and North Norfolk villages.
5 minutes walk to the beach. Very chilly and windy when we were there but would be lovely in the sunshine! Happisburgh lighthouse a must see only about 10 minutes drive away in the next village.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abrahamHe...
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just spent a lovely 3 night break at coastguard cottage,we have stayed at the owners other property in mundesly which is of a excellent standard so we knew we wouldn't be dissapointed.
The cottage is homely and comfortable.Lovely spacious bathroom with shower over the bath, large sink (and good mirrors)
Kitchen has a good clean oven,microwave and fridge with a extra fridge/freezer in hall.
Comfy living room with good table and chairs for eating meals.
Bedrooms lovely bed linen and throws although bed was too soft for us.
Small courtyard to back of cottage,lovely lawned front garden with bench,garden out back is secure, front garden in nicer to sit out in as it gets the sun,it has fence down one side and gate then hedge the other side ,our dogs loved to sit out on lawn but it's not totally secure under hedge so if you have a adventurous doggy best to keep watch,enjoying a cuppa on the bench in the sun in the morning was lovely as road fairly quite,and generally a quite village.
It's a 5 minute walk to beach,amazing! Agian quite beach dogs loved it.
In all a great property,can't wait to rebook,us and our dogs loved every minute

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage, pet friendly.”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed for two nights in Coastguards Cottage. Well equipped home from home. Clean, quiet, set back from road. Lovely bits and pieces around the cottage.
Comfy bed. Safe rear garden for our dog. Great to be able to walk to the beach in 5 minutes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing