We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Winchelsea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Carvery”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a sunday cavery on our way back to Rye... we found all the staff extremely helpfull and understanding of our needs and requirements with a 9 year old with special needs....also we all enjoyed a great carvery will recomend to our friends and will definitely visit again....

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    108
    41
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
161
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a lovely time recently in Sussex and this place was good as a base to explore the surrounding area. When we arrived the room was functional but looked a little tired, the shower very good. There was a faint smell of urine in the bathroom though as if it hadn't been cleaned properly. My husband felt it was as if the place was looked after by youngsters who perhaps weren't as meticulous with their cleaning as they could be. The hotel was advertising for more seasonal staff so perhaps they were short staffed. Breakfast was fine for what we needed but the cutlery and crockery were always slightly dirty, as if the dish washer is not functioning properly. Every morning we were hunting for bowls without bits stuck to them. The room also felt clean enough (apart from the bathroom smell) but like it didn't receive enough regular thorough cleans. The walls were paper thin and we did hear the amorous antics of a couple next door one night which our twelve year old also heard. Not the hotel's fault but it was annoying when they had set all the tv controls so the volume can only go so high so we couldn't drown it out. If you are hard of hearing you will not be able to hear the tv without a hearing aid.
For me it was a bit of a let down compared to what I was expecting but not enough to spoil the holiday. We enjoyed the breakfasts apart from the lack of cleanliness. We would not stay again though, we would rather pay a little more and find somewhere better. We did not eat at the hotel because we were worried about their hygiene standards and found The Robin Hood at Icklesham nearby has a fabulous play area for the children and the meals are outstanding. Booking is recommended though unless you are going to eat in the garden, it was fully booked inside when we went on Monday but we ate in the garden.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room, don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyscavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Sadly our booked family room was not as expected. The room itself was as could be expected considering the price (beds ok, toilet not working). However it was not overlooking lovely hills but the ever busy road. As it was warm we opened the windows only to find all kitchen noises and the road noises floating in. The hotel itself was alright, it should be further from the road.. A little understaffed for a Saturday, the only staff visible did his best to cater our needs. Still we couldn't escape the thought he'd rather not had us visiting.
The hotel advertises as a wedding location, I would recommend it as such. For holidays I'd go elsewhere...

Room Tip: Ask for a hillside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peetersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our stay at the Lodge has been wonderful. It is set in beautiful peaceful countryside with sheep and rabbits in the fields next to it and we particularly enjoyed watching the sun go down over the hills each evening. We kept the window open to get plenty of country air. The room was simple but well appointed with free wifi and a great powerful shower. The food is good, particularly the Sunday carvery and all desserts are home made and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we found nothing to fault at all. The room rate is extremely good value for money. The Lodge is perfectly situated for many attractions including beautiful Rye, the exceptional Camber Sands beach, Winchelsea Beach, Hastings Country Park (a real gem), Battle and Hastings itself. I would wholeheartedly recommend and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were on a week's holiday in hastings, we began our week on the 12th July 2014 at the Highlands Inn. On Monday the 14th we checked out (refer to my review for the Highlands Inn to find out why). We were passing the lodge on Sunday the 13th and decided to call in for a carvery, it was lovely we sat outside as there was a long wait inside due to them being very busy. The staff were lovely and the restaurant was gorgeous and very reasonably priced. We happened to pick up a card for the future, however we ended up booking in the following day after luckily managing to get a room. It was brilliant, lovely room excellent service and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: They have single rooms, family room's and doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stopped at The Lodge just by chance around 4 pm last Sunday and were lucky enough to be able to have a lovely lunch from the carvery. It was late in the day for lunch and to early for dinner, so we hadn't really expected to get anything nice anywhere, but we were wrong!! The staff were welcoming the setting was nice and the dining restaurant was clean and pleasant (not sure about the artificial flowers and fairy lights but what the heck)!! I can honestly say it was one of the nicest carvery meals we have had anywhere . My turkey was delicious, moist and tender, and whilst the roasted veg was past its best as was to be expected at that time of day, the broccoli cheese, peas and carrots were very nice indeed, the Yorkshire pud was huge and the gravy very flavoursome and everything was piping hot. We had creme brulee for dessert from a good choice of options and left feeling replete and ready for a nap. An experience we shall definitely be repeating and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjpgjp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We took a weekend break in Rye and stayed at The Lodge, Staff were Great, very helpfull, the room was very clean, everything you need was there, they are spacious so you dont feel cramped, The bar is open all day and the Sun was shining,so drinks on the terrace were order of the day.
The restrauant serves great food of an evening, or sandwiches during the day, Breakfast is continental or you can have a hearty Full English if you want.
Easy to get to Rye from the Lodge but you would need a car or the staff will arange a taxi for you.
Good all round value 100% 5*****

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
951 reviews
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.5 mi away
The George in Rye
4.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Winchelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Property: The Lodge at Winchelsea
Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing