We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a 1 night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Winchelsea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Booked for 2 nights very dissapointed with room size so small no chair to sit on only bed, but very clean, ate there 1st night and food average staff were very helpful but would not stay again as we like our comfort

Room Tip: all rooms are same size arranged outside like an annex on ground floor, upper floor has a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 383 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just arrived back from a two night stay at 'The Lodge', having had a wonderful and memorable time. The setting is beautiful, surrounded by National Trust land and only a stone's throw from different towns such as Hastings and Rye. The room was clean, fresh and modern, being self-contained with steps up to it, and a nice ambience. The staff could not do enough to help, they were friendly, professional and helpful and attended to all our needs, always asking if everything was ok. The food is gorgeous, we had a range of starters, main courses and desserts and the taste and presentation was lovely. We have big appetites and we were so full from the food. The restaurant had a nice buzz and atmosphere to it and people seemed to be really enjoying their stay there. Given that it was August and high-season, the cost was realistic too! We were originally going to go to the New Forest, but are so glad we came here instead. We will definitely making this a regular place to stay and eat. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at The Lodge, and could not fault anything. The room was great, very clean and fresh, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the food gorgeous and the location excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here just one night with a view to visit Rye and Camber, Hastings if possible. When we booked through lastminute.com the only room available was triple room. We had no choice but to take it. But no regrets. My two year old daughter loved to sleep in her own bed. The staff was really warm and helpful. The location was very convenient for us. We were able to visit Camber on a beautiful sunny day and spend some great time on the beach and in the evening we had a lovely meal in Rye and just walked around this beautiful town. The drives to Rye and Camber were very short. Next day we could visit Hastings as well. The stay was really great. Will surely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On paper we should have loved staying at the Lodge. It was a perfect location for us, a small family, wanting to explore Winchelsea and do some coutryside walking, and be close enough to get to the seaside at Winchelsea Beach and Camper Sands. Our room was very clean. The bedding looked lovely, and was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. We had a view from one window of a field of sheep, and saw an occasional rabbit! We opted for continental breakfasts both mornings and these were abundant (though croissants were slightly burnt and quite hard the first morning).
Overall I thought the room rate was quite expensive at £89 per night, and for that reason I would have rated the Lodge 4 stars. However:

The bedroom smelt like a wet dog. We had to keep all the windows open throughout our stay. We were assured by staff that no dogs had been in there, so I cannot imagine what might have caused that smell. One star deducted for this.

Other people have commented about traffic noise, which yes we could hear, but that didn't bother us as much as the constant loud whirring noise from very early in the morning (perhaps 4am), which may have been a pump underneath our room. With the windows shut this would be less of a problem but we had to keep ours open because of the wet dog smell! Another star deducted for this.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip otherwise, and it's a great pity that the noise and smell let the Lodge down. Other rooms may not suffer from these issues, but ours was room 19 and you may wish to avoid it if booking there, or carry earplugs and a can of air freshener!

Room Tip: Avoid room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There is nothing quite like being welcomed back with open arms to a place you've enjoyed - and discovering that little touches have been applied to make your stay even more enjoyable. And so it was when I returned to the Lodge at Winchelsea, where new touches of colour in the rooms brightened them up, wall dispensers of fragrant, liquid hand soap replaced the small tablets of soap from before, and I'm reliably informed similar units are being placed in the shower areas for shampoo etc.

The food had improved too - especially the delicious Sunday carvery where the roast beef was more tender, the vegetables copious and as always - the service warm and friendly.

Am I biased? No. It's simply hard to fault good people who work hard to make you feel welcome, who try to provide anything you might find you need, who return stuff you leave in your room without complaint, and who go out of their way to make sure the tea, coffee, milk and biscuits are not only plentiful in your room, but also the ones you once mentioned in passing that you like. The rooms are - as others have said - spotless. The bathrooms equally so. Are the bathrooms huge and palatial - no. But are they meticulously clean, are the loos disinfected every day, do you feel cared for? Yes.

This time there was a difference for me. I had a family gathering near by and so I took seven rooms for that event - and all my siblings, neices, nephews and friends were very happy with the Lodge.

I'll be back - fairly soon as it happens. And it will again be like coming home to Winchelsea.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter, and the upstairs is quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janziff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night only, with my two children on a mission to Battle Abbey and ruins. It reminded me a little bit of a very famous TV Motel from way way back when I was very small. The rooms and en suite were meticulously clean but a little on the small side. So my 6' 8'' husband would have had a little difficulty with the size of the bed if he had come along, but as he didn't the small double was a delight for me on my own for that one evening. Breakfast was standard fare but delivered by a very jolly young man who delivered fantastic pancakes to the children. Whilst it is a little 80's dated it has a lovely atmosphere of being independant and cared about. So was a very pleasant change from 'Premier Look a Likes ' that are the length and breadth fo GB.
The shower was strong and effective and the carparking plentiful and easy. So what! if the decor feels of a time more recently gone by, it was very clean, reasonably comfortable, very well situated and very affordable.

Room Tip: Find out about the size of the double beds, mine was one of those small ones which may not be suitab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
846 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The George in Rye
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Winchelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing