We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good short break locaton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Winchelsea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good short break locaton”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for a 3 night break and was very pleased with the Lodge. Motel style accommodation set in great countryside and although on a main road noise is not an issue. It is well placed for visiting many nearby attractions but a car is recommended to get around though the local bus does stop outside.
Had a first floor room which was large , clean and comfortable. Toiletries supplied plus tea/coffee (and biscuits) so no need to bring anything with you - just turn up and relax. The bar - fully stocked - and dining area are of a good size and there is some seating outside if the weather permits. Food wise a continental breakfast is included in the room price and it was ample but if required various cooked items are available at extra cost. A reasonable size menu is available from lunch through to late evening and the standard is good - we ate in all 3 nights and enjoyed what was on offer.
The staff are all very friendly and efficient and give the place a home from home feel and we would gladly go back to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    113
    41
    19
    9
See reviews for
86
161
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a family of four. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating throughout the stay with no complaints. The room itself though was very dated and The Lodge is in need of refurbishment. The room had a slightly "fusty" smell to it, although the sheets were all clean. The bed was far from comfortable. The location itself is good and with a general lack of good, decent priced options in the area, if a little were spent on bringing this up to date whilst keeping the friendly attitude, then it would do very well.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rajec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for one night as part of a weekend travelling around Rye, Camber, New Romney etc. Nice location about 10 minutes from Rye and just on the edge of the lovely little town of Winchelsea.
The hotel is in a very admirable location, no other buildings around at all. Ample free parking available.
We had an upper level room facing the back, with a beautiful veiw of meadows - lush green countryside, rabbits hopping around and lambs skipping through the fields. Very nice and relaxing!
The room itself was nice (although the short stairwell up to the room was a little like a 1960's tower block) - but don't let that put you off - the room was lovely and modern, nice size bed, TV, hairdryer, and other items. The bathroom was ample, although could do with a refresh. It was clean, tidy and well sized though.
We only encountered two staff - and they were superb! A young blonde lady and a young man with tattooed arm - they were both on duty the night we checked in and again in the morning. Both really professional, friendly, helpful, attentive and a real credit to the hotel. If only more hotels had staff as good as these two.
The breakfast (included in the price) was good - cereals, juices, fresh fruit, pastries, toast. Very good. You can pay a small amount more for cooked breakfast items which I'm sure are good too.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a lovely relaxing base to explore this beautiful part of the country. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Last year, Bank Holiday weekend in August we decided to go to Rye. As everything in Rye was fully booked we found this Lodge. Was relatively cheap so we were not expecting much and what a surprise we had. Extremely nice staff, clean rooms, nice view with some sheep giving an amazing character to the place. DEFINITELY WILL GO BACK!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed two nights with our two children aged 9 and 11. The location is perfect - a 5 minute walk to pretty Winchelsea village and a short drive to Rye or Hastings. The countryside setting is very idyllic - the children loved seeing rabbits running around outside their window! The room could do with modernising slightly but was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant food was fantastic and the bar very relaxing. The staff were amazing, friendly and welcoming, they made us feel at home. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We're just back from a couple of nights at The Lodge. The whole hotel is well looked after and spotless throughout, the rooms are a good size and as others have mentioned, offer everything you need, from tea/coffee, little toiletries to keep you going and hair-dryers if you need one. The views surrounding the place are absolutely stunning and a few minutes drive will take you through countryside, to a selection of beaches (Camber being the closest I've seen in the UK to Spain!) and into delightful Rye. The breakfasts were great and the carvery was a fantastic meal too, with a buffet of fresh, well-cooked food, and plenty of choice.

The one thing that sets this hotel apart from pretty much any other we've ever stayed in, is the staff. They couldn't do enough to help us, they were all super friendly throughout our stay and at one point we had a problem but this was more than made up for. I'm a tough one to please but with excellent value for money as well, I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to all my friends - and we very much look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineDBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked in at very short notice and were made very welcome. Good location for sightseeing, right next to A259, but road very quiet at night. Staff were all lovely and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar very nice, good continental breakfast was included in the price. Food was excellent on our first night and still good on our second, though it was chef's night off. Room was comfortable and well equipped. Only complaint was that one of the twin mattresses was not very comfortable, staff apologised and assured me that it was being replaced (in fact van with new mattresses arrived as we were checking out!) Excellent value for money, we'd transferred there from a more expensive hotel in Hastings (The Lindum) which was nowhere near as nice after being offered a lilo because one of the beds was awful! Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandererGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
971 reviews
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The George in Rye
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
4.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Winchelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Property: The Lodge at Winchelsea
Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing