We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and full of character but not for us”
Review of Strand House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strand House
Ranked #1 of 5 Winchelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Very pleasant staff and hosts but every time my husband walk around the room I was sure he was going to knock himself out on the beams and our ensuite was described as compact more like a cupboard. Also no storage and hardly any hanging space. Not for us and expensive as well

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just come back from an enjoyable weekend in this lovely "Olde Worlde" guest house.
We had an evening meal which can only be described as superb....and we were offered "seconds" which frankly we wouldn't have had room for.
Super hosts....super cat and more Teddies than the Teddy bears picnic!!
Big thanks to the host.......

ps Try the Deli in Winchelsea....cake to die for..... and we don't even eat sweet things!!

Room Tip: Host happy to show alternatives when avaliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2710ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is home to the dwarfs and fairies and magic of England. Low knock you noggin beams. Thick mud and wattle walls. A tiny bit crooked and a lean here and there and the magic you saw in every illustrated child book you ever read. Admittedly our room had the smallest bathroom I have ever been in .. think of an airplane toilet with a shower squeezed in .. seriously! But manageable. Seriously. A cat that begs to be petted and the over stuffed furniture we see in Ms Marple tales. The hosts were made for the business and breakfast is superb. If you love the mysterious magic of England you must stay here.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad one but ask what Mary thinks of each .. Hardly an old woman and hardly living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for a Bank Holiday, never having been there before, and had the Hastings Room, part of a more modern conversion in a separate building from the rest of the house and ideal for my partner who is 6 foot 4 inches tall and struggles with typical Tudor-height ceilings. Had a private patio area overlooking the fields which was surprisingly quiet given the closeness to the main road, but if you are staying in any of the rooms in this annex, bring a torch as there is limited lighting from the main building and it's a bit lethal along the path between the two after dark. Make full use of the lounge in the main building - it has an honesty bar and if lucky, a rather friendly cat to curl up with so bring a book. We were disappointed that they were already full for Christmas as we would love to have returned then, but it's clearly a popular place which says it all really.

Room Tip: When booking, ask about headroom in rooms, foot boards on antique beds and other sensible questions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We paid a little more than we normally would for what is essentially a B&B, to find that our bedroom contained a reproduction four poster bed and the kind of "old " furniture that can be bought at Age Concern. The en-suite shower room was pokey and difficult to access - one had to side step a chimney breast to get in. We have lived in older houses all our lives, so appreciate the difficulties and limitations of conversion. However, at £150 a night, this was unexpectedly poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 612helaineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in Rye Bay Cottage - situated in the garden of Strand House. We had the 'Hastings Retreat Room'. It was very well appointed, comfortable and cosy with a lovely view over the fields (and lots of rabbits!). Obviously this is a modern building so doesn't have the quirkiness of the Strand rooms but it does have all mod cons and great comfort!
The owners, Mary & Hugh, are very nice people and really care about their guests. In fact, all the staff are excellent. Breakfast was very good, with a varied and tasty choice of food available.
The cost of a stay here is relatively high but you do get what you pay for - I have no hesitation in recommending the Strand for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in this area. You will struggle to find better!

Room Tip: Strand House rooms are all individual with their own quirks - ask Mary or Hugh for advice. Rye Bay C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived at Strand House at about 6pm after a terrible journey and were delighted to find a cold bottle of bubbly (complimentary as promised as the booking was to be a surprise for my wife) which we quaffed in the garden in the late evening sun. This reinvigorated us and set us up for the rest of the evening.

Strand House has its origins in the fourteenth century and has many charming features: low ceilings, narrow doors, beams, original fireplace. We were in the Tudor room which although not huge was bigger than many hotel rooms and certainly with more character and charm. Our bed was a four poster and very comfortable. The feature was the period stone fireplace part of which extended into the small bathroom.

Dinner was excellent and was the highlight of our stay. Our starter of smoked duck salad with a gooseberry sauce was delicious complimented by a selection of freshly baked bread. Our main of lamb cutlets, locally sourced, were tender and perfectly cooked in a delicious jus. There was a wide choice of fresh vegetables supplied by the owners' gardener. A very appealing Rioja was a perfect accompaniment, reasonably priced. We barely had room for our dessert of Eton mess but guess what, we managed! We adjourned to the lounge for coffee and mints. What a lovely evening.

After an early morning walk along the adjacent canal, we returned to be confronted with a wide variety of foods for breakfast. There is something for everyone. We plumped for orange juice, fresh fruit and the freshly cooked to order Sussex breakfast, eggs, bacon, sausage (all sourced locally) with Hugh's home made baked beans. Excellent.

We stayed for two nights. Our room was £150 night which may seem high for a b&b but compared to some hotels for the same price or more we felt it was excellent value. Our dinner was £38 each for three courses and given the quality of the food we had, extremely good value for money.

The owners are clearly people who know what they are doing, know what their customers want and do it very well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
1.9 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
2 mi away
The George in Rye
1.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
376 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 39 in Rye
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House

Address: Tanyards Lane, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winchelsea
Price Range: $104 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome to a Luxury Bed and Breakfast RyeStrand House Guest House Rye is the home of Mary Sullivan and Hugh Davie, a luxury bed and breakfast near Rye. Strand House offers quiet, relaxed and calm surroundings for you to savour and enjoy. Its sense of history makes it a unique house to escape to. Your hosts Mary and Hugh provide a brand of hospitality that will make a short stay feel like a holiday and a holiday like home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Hotel Winchelsea
Strand House Winchelsea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing