We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect short break!!”
Review of Wickham Manor Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchelsea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickham Manor Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Winchelsea B&B and Inns
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect short break!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Me and my Mum stayed at Wickham Manor for a short break and was most enjoyable. Sally was very welcoming & helpful in recommending local attractions.
We stated in the largest room overlooking the gardens & sea with a view of the medieval arch which we passed through many times. The rooms were very clean, plenty of space with a sofa to relax and supply of bottle water was most grateful.

Always looked forward to our English breakfast and the sausages were amazing!! In an idea location for exploring Bodium Castle, Battle Abbey, Tenderden (good shopping!!) and much more.

Would definately return again as there is so much more to explore in East Sussex.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineBBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

What a wonderful stay we had at Wickham Manor Farm. The house is so beautiful and steeped in history. The hosts are just fantastic and we really enjoyed the fresh eggs from their farm and meeting "Dexter" the horse!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTravellerssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We are regular users of B & B's and found this one to be excellent. Your Hostess Sally is very pleasant and most accommodating, the house is wonderfully atmospheric and the breakfasts made from local produce superb (and Newspapers provided if the company is flagging!) Our room had a beautiful sea view over the gardens and the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and Sally had thoughtfully provided bottles of mineral water as well as the usual tea and coffee which was much appreciated (it was 80F +!) Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BandBUserLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumpkinsawyer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The approach to the huge, ancient farmhouse at night was magical -driving through a medieval arch in the dark!
Sally is welcoming, friendly, thoughtful and provided a personalised but not at all imposing form of service.
The bedroom, with its amazing four poster bed, was dreamy. Our breakfasts there were delicious and copious. We even enjoyed talking with our fellow guests (although obviously I couldn't guarantee that would be your experience too).
A perfect wedding anniversary :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkinsawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed one night, wish we had booked more nights. Sally, our host, was very welcoming and friendly, she took time to chat to us. Our room was beautiful, it was big and our four poster bed was very comfortable. There was a huge log fire in the sitting room, very cosy. We had a good choice of breakfast, including a full English, all the produce was local. The location was gorgeous but you do need transport. We will definitely return - thanks Sally for a lovely stay, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Thank you so much for the opportunity to stay in your wonderful home. Not many people get the chance to stay in a beautiful old English house - complete with its foibles and wonderful oddities! The stairs, the low ceilings, the small doorways!! Made us feel like a noble family livings three hundred years ago, albeit without the inherent discomfort that would have afforded! Clean, comfortable, romantic. There are too many sterile, identikit B&B's in England and this is a wonderful breath of fresh air. Don't change a thing! Even the chilly evenings added to the sense of drama. Fantastic breakfast filled us up for the whole day. The fact that it's a working farm made us feel like we were welcome even though the work had to be done by the family.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppet on hayling
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2009

family run bed and breakfast, very friendly, clean,serve a geat breakfast, we arrived for an anniversary break, on the dressing table,bottle of wine and a hand wrtten card, a very nice gesture. even the annimals made the break special. will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppetonhayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
3.0 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
948 reviews
3.1 mi away
The George in Rye
1.1 mi away
Strand House
Strand House
#1 of 5 in Winchelsea
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 40 in Rye
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Inn Winchelsea
New Inn Winchelsea
#2 of 5 in Winchelsea
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickham Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Manor Farm

Property: Wickham Manor Farm
Address: Wickham Manor Panel Lane, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winchelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickham Manor is an historic property built in the16th century and now owned by the National Trust. It is the home of the Palmer family and the centre of their 750 acre organic farm, which surrounds the picturesque town of Winchelsea - the smallest town in England. Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Wickham Manor offers comfortable oak beamed bedrooms [refurbished to a high standard in 2007] some ensuite or with private bathrooms, with spectacular views across the countryside and out to sea. In the morning, a traditional full English breakfast awaits featuring fresh, local produce. The sitting room with woodburner is the perfect place to sit and relax after a long day exploring the many places of interest nearby. In the summer months find a corner in the tranquil gardens and watch the sun go down.Pets welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickham Manor Farm Winchelsea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing