We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful farmhouse, lovely location.”
Review of Wickham Manor Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchelsea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickham Manor Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Winchelsea B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful farmhouse, lovely location.”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed one night, wish we had booked more nights. Sally, our host, was very welcoming and friendly, she took time to chat to us. Our room was beautiful, it was big and our four poster bed was very comfortable. There was a huge log fire in the sitting room, very cosy. We had a good choice of breakfast, including a full English, all the produce was local. The location was gorgeous but you do need transport. We will definitely return - thanks Sally for a lovely stay, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Thank you so much for the opportunity to stay in your wonderful home. Not many people get the chance to stay in a beautiful old English house - complete with its foibles and wonderful oddities! The stairs, the low ceilings, the small doorways!! Made us feel like a noble family livings three hundred years ago, albeit without the inherent discomfort that would have afforded! Clean, comfortable, romantic. There are too many sterile, identikit B&B's in England and this is a wonderful breath of fresh air. Don't change a thing! Even the chilly evenings added to the sense of drama. Fantastic breakfast filled us up for the whole day. The fact that it's a working farm made us feel like we were welcome even though the work had to be done by the family.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppet on hayling
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2009

family run bed and breakfast, very friendly, clean,serve a geat breakfast, we arrived for an anniversary break, on the dressing table,bottle of wine and a hand wrtten card, a very nice gesture. even the annimals made the break special. will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppetonhayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Very friendly and helpful service, comfortable bedroom and clean bathroom. Beatuiful house and location overlooking Romney Marsh, about 1 mile from the centre of Winchelsea. Good breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattKent65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at Wickham manor B&B last month, we were walking the 1066 footpath fom Rye to Battle.

We stayed in a four poster bedroom, it was lovely, clean & comfy.

The breakfast was great - huge! Will be returning next year to this lovely house.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This is a beautiful National Trust house on a working farm. That is perhaps thetrouble, you get the feeling the people running it are more interested in the farm, but not very much in the history of the house and see guests as a bit of a necessary evil. We were not actually made unwelcome but the lady running the b&b knew very little about this beautiful and unusual house. It is a truly fascinating building but one did not get the chance to be interested in it. / Usually owners want to tell you about their home and local area, things to do, etc. but there was none of that feeling. She ran the place competently but (unlike with most b&b)s we got a feeling that we were a bit in the way of what she was really interested in, ie the animals and making the house look nice. . Which is fair enough,and anyway she was certainly not unpleasant.I do not want to be unkind about her but I just prefer to feel that a b&b is personal - maybe she was folloing some National Trust guidelines or something. The breakfast was perfectly adequate and average, she used some local produce I know, but again it was very businesslike and a bit corporate, no home made jams etc. which would have seemed appropriate. All in all there was nothing actually wrong with this place, it was clean, well decorated, historic and businesslike. Oh, there are some very low beams so watch out if you are over 5 ft 10 inches! they are not marked....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reflectorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
3.0 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
970 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
773 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The George in Rye
1.1 mi away
Strand House
Strand House
#1 of 5 in Winchelsea
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickham Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Manor Farm

Property: Wickham Manor Farm
Address: Wickham Manor Panel Lane, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winchelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickham Manor is an historic property built in the16th century and now owned by the National Trust. It is the home of the Palmer family and the centre of their 750 acre organic farm, which surrounds the picturesque town of Winchelsea - the smallest town in England. Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Wickham Manor offers comfortable oak beamed bedrooms [refurbished to a high standard in 2007] some ensuite or with private bathrooms, with spectacular views across the countryside and out to sea. In the morning, a traditional full English breakfast awaits featuring fresh, local produce. The sitting room with woodburner is the perfect place to sit and relax after a long day exploring the many places of interest nearby. In the summer months find a corner in the tranquil gardens and watch the sun go down.Pets welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickham Manor Farm Winchelsea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing