We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cafe”

Sutton Wharf Cafebar
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab cafe”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have been to this cafe numerous times and the view, food and staff are great. It also sells alcohol. Very dog friendly. Only downside is the amount of wasps outside which isn't helped by the numerous bins provided, as it is situated on the canal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suziq53hinckley, Owner at Sutton Wharf Cafebar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments!!

If I could have got rid of the wasps I would have! It was reported to be an epidemic year for wasps, We had Rentokill out 3 times within 2 weeks. They did their best but with us being in the country and selling ice creams, drinks and cream teas it was just impossible to get rid of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    51
    27
    23
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Potential to be great”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We were on a day out in bosworth and we decided a nice walk would be ideal we found a nice little water side cafe on our venture. We decided to stop off and have a coffee and a bite to eat we sat down on a aged picnic table and drank our coffee and slice of lemon cake, which was superb. However inside it is dated and the sofa area dominated by a cat! Outside there was a concerning amount of wasps. I know this can not be helped however fly traps were hanging above our table. Overall I enjoyed my stay, but I was disaponited as it has the potential to be a very nice water side cafe with a lick of panit and new decor

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeknowshisfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“In a lovely setting”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice place to stop off if you're visiting the Battlefield. Set right next to the canal so you can spend an hour or two watching the boats, ducks etc. Good choice of drinks, snacks and meals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StellaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stop and relax and have a bite to eat”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I love the wharf. Its a lovely little café and serves breakfast, lunch and hot meals with some evenings open too, they have specials and also sell beautiful hand made cakes and have an ice cream freezer, they are licenced so your drinks range from a pot of tea to a bottle of fine wine or a cold bottled beer, with soft drinks in between.

Orders are taken at the bar, and you will then be given a spoon with your number on it - food typically takes anywhere between ten minutes to half an hour depending on how busy it is, there is lots of outdoor seating with umbrellas and they even sell bread for the ducks!

You can order anything from a breakfast or toasted sandwhich to chilli and rice, the menu is quite varied!

From this lovely café you can take a walk through the woods to the Bosworth Battlefield, and in the opposite direction you can visit the church where King Richard 3rd gave prayers before the battle, where you will find a beautiful church that is almost a dedication to the fallen king, with white roses left in his honour and a plaque noting his visit.

Not far from here is Whitmoors Antiques who have a car park which was future King Henry the 7ths battle camp before the Bosworth war!

In daddlington there is a church where all the soldiers that dies in the battle are buried, and the church was paid a fee by the new king.

All in all you can spend a day based at the Wharf and sink yourself into a world of history, battles and kings!

The staff are all lovely, and when we once left my daughters favourite bag, they had left us a message on the phone before we got home, was nice to go and collect it and have another lovely lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HONESTEYISMYPOLICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs the waiting time sorting”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a lovely little cafe in a fantastic location ....only problem is the service the staff are pleasant
But more than 2 people and it seems to grind to a halt .....it could do a lot better

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diablosazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutton Wharf Cafebar also viewed

Dadlington, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to Sutton Wharf Cafebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing