We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food!”
Review of The Sun

The Sun
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Carshalton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A real local favourite situated just a minutes walk from Carshalton Ponds. The Sun offers something for everyone - acclaimed food a fantastic wine list and beautiful walled garden with bar and wood fired oven.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Friendly service, and delicious food.

Enormous cheeseboard!

Not cheap, but you get what you pay for

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank CroydonDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019

Having grown up and lived in Carshalton for for 25 years I was delighted to return to The Sun, a drinking haunt of my youth, to find not only that it was still there but thriving. What a delight to find an eclectic and original watering hole! I enjoyed a beautiful glass of Picpoul from the extensive wine list to accompany an absolutely delicious chickpea and cahew nut tajine with couscous and a garlic flatbread, followed by a sticky toffee pudding with salted caramel ice cream And topped off with crystallised pecan nuts which were so yummy. The main was from a vegan menu - I am a carnivor but could happily have eaten everything on the menu it was difficult to decide. The service was great attentive but not intrusive. A wecoming atmosphere and one of those places that even if I had been on my own I would be happy to linger over a coffee or eat a meal and not feel self concious. The double expresso to finish was strong and hot. So a great meal, in a great environment and not a slot machine in sight I urge you to go.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claudette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

It’s worth the short walk from Carshalton High Street to get to The Sun. they have a good selection of drinks and the food is good too!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank rgoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Iconic Victorian wedge shaped brick building, a few minutes walk from Carshalton Station. Internally it has been modernised somewhat, but still retains some of its original features and it remains a nice characterful pub. There are about half-a-dozen handpumps featuing a varying range of ales, some of which are from smaller breweries - personally I would have liked to have seen something local on offer, although I understand they do usually have a local brew available but just not on the day I happened to visit. There are various menus available according to the time of day, day of the week and so on. The lunch/brunch menu has a good range of straightforward reasonably priced food; nothing too ambitious on there, but it's all well prepared and well presented - the Sun Full English Brunch seems popular. There were indications of specials sometimes available, but none on offer at the time of my visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 989pezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

We visited here for a party and the pub has a great vibe with an arts and crafts theme. It feels like a real local pub and has loads of character. The bar is well stocked with a variety of spirits, beers, ales and ciders and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. It gets popular here so best to order a table if you can. This is a popular place for dog walkers and pooches are welcome which we really liked.

The food was excellent and we especially enjoyed the monkfish scampi for starters which was delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was just divine.

A terrific place for a party and for a general visit - loved it and we will be back

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun also viewed

 
Sutton, Greater London
 
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing