We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling local pub with great food”
Review of The Sun

The Sun
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Carshalton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A real local favourite situated just a minutes walk from Carshalton Ponds. The Sun offers something for everyone - acclaimed food a fantastic wine list and beautiful walled garden with bar and wood fired oven.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

We walked to this location from where we were staying in Carshalton village. Appeared to be quite a lot of locals drinking here and had a friendly atmosphere. Gastro pub with lovely tasty food. I had the beer battered halumi cheese which was excellent. Staff very pleasant. Restaurant seemed full, probably best to book.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lizza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 366 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Great beer selection. Waffles and chicken a must. Personally think starters are more interesting than mains, and it changes regularly.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

The food here is amazing everytime me or friends visit, it never disappoints. The staff are also very friendly

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jazmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

We might be biased as this is our local but actually we just consider ourselves super lucky to have such a lovely pub round the corner.

Food is always top notch. Often full so I would suggest booking.

The outside area is great for the summer but doesn't get the sun in the evening which is a shame.

Don't hesitate to go here if you're looking for pub grub in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

It brilliant ideas for Monday event - meat free Monday, food is great and drinks enjoyably with family.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LynTigger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun also viewed

 
Sutton, Greater London
 
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing