We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Prosecco for 2 hours!”
Review of The Sun

The Sun
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Carshalton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A real local favourite situated just a minutes walk from Carshalton Ponds. The Sun offers something for everyone - acclaimed food a fantastic wine list and beautiful walled garden with bar and wood fired oven.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

My daughter won a Facebook lcompetition for free prosecco for 2 hours. We had a table reserved on arrival and were given our first glass of prosecco very quickly while we looked at the menu. The food was delicious, I had burger and chips, my daughter had veggie breakfast. The staff were really friendly and helpful and kept filling our glasses whenever they saw them getting low! I had sticky toffee pudding my daughter had ice cream, both were really lovely. We would definitely recommend visiting The Sun Pub it has a lovely ambience and staff.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

Sat down to eat on a Saturday afternoon but with tables of children being entertained on their parents phones (playing repetitive songs at full blast) while the parents took no notice if them, it wasn't an enjoyable place to be.
We know the food would be nice but at the Suns prices the atmosphere needs to equally high.
Will return in the evening when the pub is a pub not a crèche.

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank maidyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Really nice pub food, especially the sticky toffee pudding!!

Slightly smaller than the average inside and it is a nightmare to park around there.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lbee2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

The Sun pub is my local in Carshalton. 2.5 years ago my family launched a supporter group for The Brain Tumour Charity and after a chat with the owner Jo she kindly agreed to host a charity pub quiz for us.
We've hosted our quiz at the sun for the past 2 years once in the main pub and once in the fantastic function room they have upstairs. The team there are great providing very efficient service with a great selection of food and drink and can't do enough to help make the event go smoothly. The team promote the evening ahead of time and have even donated prizes. Callum is the mastermind of the quiz which is entertaining with something for everyone.
The pub has helped us reach a massive 20k landmark in funds raised and we couldn't have done it without them. Thank you to all of the team.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Nw been there several times and it never disappoints. Excellent staff, terrific beer and the best home cooked food for miles. around.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun also viewed

 
Sutton, Greater London
 
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing