We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Ginger Italian

The Ginger Italian
Order Online
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Carshalton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $63
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Walked by this restaurant so many times and can’t believe its taken so long to go in. Phoned up to make a reservation and had the most delightful chat with the owner. Booked in for the same evening and had a great time. Fabulous staff, amazing food (arancini balls, crab salad, lamb, chicken, tiramisu... delicious). And all for £32 per person for three courses. Thank you Ginger Italian.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner with a couple of friends to Al Verde. It's a lovely little local restaurant with an Italian based menu and very friendly staff.
The menu on a regular evening is not too comprehensive but you can be happy with the choice available.
It was a set menu night coupled with entertainment provided by Wayne Woodward of Britain's Got Talent fame.
The food was wonderful and Wayne was absolutely brilliant. He played slower tunes during the food service had everyone on their feet dancing after. A great night was had by the entire restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Previously known as Al Verde, this is a truly lovely little Italian restaurant that’s owned and run by the inimitable, wonderful and eternally damn hard working Joe and staffed by equally marvellous chefs and front of house folk (a special hug for Eduardo and Malou).

The menu is extensive but not overloaded which is always a good sign as it means freshly prepared food and gosh, what delightful and delectable food it is!

The wine list is varied and reasonably priced with a good selection and take the time to investigate the bar too.

It’s perfect for couples, families and groups alike.

Look, I could wax lyrical at how brilliant a place The Ginger Italian is, about how lovely the staff, food and surroundings are, how the ambience is captivating in its welcome, but the best thing is for you to make a reservation and visit it for yourself, it’s simply marvellous!

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank LordEdeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

This is now my regular place to visit, decided to take some girlfriends there to celebrate my birthday and they loved it and are looking forward to returning. The new décor is very nice and the evening felt chilled and relaxed, we all had starter, main and dessert and the only problem we had was choosing what to have. Always a good evening, I would definitely recommend and if you don't want to go out they deliver to your door.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank GillS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

How have I lived 2 minutes away from this place and never been? I visited Al Verde with 3 friends from work and I have to say the food was fabulous. I had the avocado, tomatoes and red onions- so light and refreshing. The steak- cooked exactly how I wanted and it came with sides of potato and veg, the roasted potatoes were divine. And to top off the meal I had Creme Brûlée. Lovely crunchy top and smooth creamy bottom. Perfect!!! Would highly recommend. Reasonably priced. Will be going again.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank AmyEMcCormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ginger Italian also viewed

Carshalton, Surrey
 
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to The Ginger Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing