We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Bella Vita
Ranked #5 of 6 Hitchin B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a lovely,spacious and well furnished family room with a beautiful, brand new bathroom. However the owner was surly and uncommunicative, and only available by ringing his mobile number which was stuck on the front door. This was a contrast to the woman I spoke to when booking by phone, who was friendly and helpful.

Also the beds had not been made up properly when we arrived (no apology when I pointed it out) and had still not been done when we returned after our evening out - they 'forgot'. The window was also jammed open and very hard to shut, and the frame was also very dirty making the task unpleasant.

Beds were very comfortable but had to ask for more pillows.

At breakfast it seemed they couldn't wait to get rid of us. We arrived about 8.15 having been told it was served from 7 - 9. However even before we had finished eating the waiter was clearing the things off out table. He also took away the food that was laid out, before we had a chance to help ourselves. The food itself was fine although not as good as some hotels.

When we left I wanted to give the owner this feedback, but on phoning for his attention was told to just put the key through the letter box. Unfortunately it seems he does not value listening to customers, which is a shame as with a few improvements to service it could be a great hotel. The price was good and the location excellent if you want the town centre, and there is a car park.

Room Tip: Family room number 20 was large, had a mezzanine area with single bed, and great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel room was lovely and clean with everything you would expect : en suite, tea and coffe making, air con/heating, large flat screen tv, nice towels and a huge very comfortable 4 poster antique bed. There was no cover on the bed and only one pillow each. This was not an issue for us but might be for others.
We booked breakfast which consisted of cereals, juice, tea or coffee, toast with jams and full English which was cooked to order. It was all good quality produce.
They are currently carrying out alterations and so there is building materials about that may get in the way. Noise, however is not a problem.
Hitchin is a pleasant place to visit and the Bella Vita Hotel is centrally located and provides lovely, clean accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhiljLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Staff were very approachable and ensured that all the presents and flowers were in our room upon our arrival as arranged. Have never slept on a memory foam mattress, what a great nights sleep! Lovely clean bathroom and a breakfast with perfect hot, runny poached eggs!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is perfect if you're travelling solo or your with a group, whatever your circumstances the hospitality is second to none, the food is of the highest quality with an extensive menu to suit all tastes, any fish dish is highly recommended. The accommodation offers excellant standards, the rooms are tastefully decorated and really comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were taken to La Bella Vita by friends who had been before and rated the Italian cuisine very highly. We were not disappointed and enjoyed a wonderful Sunday lunch for six people from the table d'hote menu. Cost was about 20GBP per head which was excellent value. We chose the house wine which was not great but acceptable, usually house wines from good restaurants are very good. Our booking was for 1pm but we had to amend it to 2pm and when we arrived they had no knowledge of the change and had let the table go. Another table was quickly prepared in the inner restaurant which we had that to ourselves and was very much like private dining, so no real problem there, just pleased they were not full. There seem to be several negative reviews regarding the hotel but from a restaurant perspective it was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed here before twice recently and have to say it is superb. A gem really. The rooms are furnished to a really high standard with very classy and authentic decore. I had a room near the front which was really airy and very clean. En suite was large and swish. The memory foam mattress was extremly comfy. The room had air-con too. Room quality vs price is very good here.

The hotel and rooms has a brilliant feel to it and it was a great place to relax. Right in the centre streets of Hitchin. The restaurant is very good at which I ate there twice last time. The pasta is very good - had a cold beer to wash it down. The owner was very chatty and friendly and the service all round was very good. I will return!

Room Tip: Rear of Hotel for a perfect sleep at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhawkins64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

stayed here twice over the years.
Like the sound of Hitchin streets at night so always have the room over looking Sun St. If you want quiet book the rear of the hotel.
Good VFM.
If you eat downstairs for you evening meal you'll be in for some fantastic food.

Room Tip: Front for noise, rear for quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadwell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
446 reviews
2 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
364 reviews
0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
2.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bella Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bella Vita

Address: 9 Sun Street, Hitchin SG5 1AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hitchin
Price Range: $64 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bella Vita 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Bella Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bella Vita Hotel Hitchin
La Bella Vita Hitchin, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing