We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant”
Review of La Bella Vita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Bella Vita
Ranked #5 of 6 Hitchin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were taken to La Bella Vita by friends who had been before and rated the Italian cuisine very highly. We were not disappointed and enjoyed a wonderful Sunday lunch for six people from the table d'hote menu. Cost was about 20GBP per head which was excellent value. We chose the house wine which was not great but acceptable, usually house wines from good restaurants are very good. Our booking was for 1pm but we had to amend it to 2pm and when we arrived they had no knowledge of the change and had let the table go. Another table was quickly prepared in the inner restaurant which we had that to ourselves and was very much like private dining, so no real problem there, just pleased they were not full. There seem to be several negative reviews regarding the hotel but from a restaurant perspective it was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed here before twice recently and have to say it is superb. A gem really. The rooms are furnished to a really high standard with very classy and authentic decore. I had a room near the front which was really airy and very clean. En suite was large and swish. The memory foam mattress was extremly comfy. The room had air-con too. Room quality vs price is very good here.

The hotel and rooms has a brilliant feel to it and it was a great place to relax. Right in the centre streets of Hitchin. The restaurant is very good at which I ate there twice last time. The pasta is very good - had a cold beer to wash it down. The owner was very chatty and friendly and the service all round was very good. I will return!

Room Tip: Rear of Hotel for a perfect sleep at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhawkins64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

stayed here twice over the years.
Like the sound of Hitchin streets at night so always have the room over looking Sun St. If you want quiet book the rear of the hotel.
Good VFM.
If you eat downstairs for you evening meal you'll be in for some fantastic food.

Room Tip: Front for noise, rear for quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadwell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were attending a party in Hitchin and could La Bella Vita Hotel. It's central town location is great for a night out dining and shopping in Hitchin. The car park to the rear is a real help too. The room was a recently refurbished ( a couple of finishing bits still required but not an issue), was a large room with a four poster bed and a modern shower room. We were towards the front of the building and when we got back late that evening we didn't hear the loud disco music other reviews mention ( but we got in at 2am!). Breakfast was served in the resturant the following morning and it was absolutely lovely, good quality food served fresh rather than the warm Buffett style. All this for £65!!! Others in our party stayed at another hotel on the outskirts of the town and they paid more plus the cost of taxi's to and fro made La Bella Vita a great buy. We will return and next time will be trying the resturant, which looks nice and not another chain resturant.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferguskkeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Have stayed at the Bella Vita in Hitchin lots of times, the rooms vary in decor from four poster oak panelled beds to new modern refurbished rooms, all rooms have big screen TV,s and all bathrooms are finished to a high standard. the restaurant offers a varied menu with excellent food quality and good service. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

As a resident of Hitchin for the last ten years, I have been eating out in all of the restaurants, cafes, pubs on offer in the town.
One venue stands out - La Bella Vita.
The food is always of a high standard, and if you eat from the daily menu it is always reasonably priced. No hidden extras - the coffee is not added to the cost afterwards.

Then the surprise. It is not only the best place to eat - it is also the best place to stay.

The images show luxorious bedrooms with old fashioned style but when you actually stay a night in a room you discover that they have also been modernised. The bathrooms are right up to the minute. Other hotels you may get a small cold shower room but at La Bella Vita, my present room has an outsize bath, both in length and width. It also has a walk in shower! Movement activated light, widescreen televison, internet access show we are in the modern world - while 4 poster bed, wooden furniture, red carpets show we have kept the best of the past.

All this comes at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a good bathroom - the best are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

And the award goes to…. La Bella Vita! The first ever hotel we have actually paid for and walked out of before the head hit the pillow, preferring to lose £130 and drive the three hours home in the night than spend another minute there. Truly the worst hotel experience in 30 years. Congratulations!!

Where to even begin..?? Perhaps with the surly, off-hand and downright rude ‘welcome’. Or the pool of sick left outside the door to our rooms? The appalling rooms themselves? Or being locked out of our rooms for having the temerity not to pay upfront on demand? The ensuing row? Or the row outside, on the streets, from the thumping disco and screaming, drunken girls (we begin to understand how the pool of sick got there)?

We arrived at what is essentially a naff, dated Italian restaurant in the centre of Hitchin with bedrooms in the old stable blocks and above. There’s no apparent entrance, signage, just a cluster of surly staff who leave us standing in the restaurant. The clue should have been when we arrived, driving through the street archway entrance to the car park at the back (it’s best feature?), to be ‘greeted’ with a nasty stare from the owner. We’d arrived at the Slaughtered Lamb. Eventually, a young waiter in overalls grunts at us, immediately insists on us paying upfront before seeing the rooms. We say that is not common practice and refuse. He begrudgingly shows us the way, stepping over the pool of puke on the way – and looks hacked off when we ask if there’s any chance of cleaning it up before we return later. The rooms, on to the high street, are large but shabby, dated, dirty and the bed has pillows (just the one) thinner than a shoe ins-sole. I’ve seen more plump on an anorexic catwalk model. But what the hell – we’re here for a family get together and will only be spending one night. Let’s not fuss.

My daughter and I arrive back at 11pm to find the door keys no longer work and the doors locked. We eventually find an embarrassed looking waitress in the restaurant who explains that the owner has locked us out until we pay upfront. My daughter is tired. We put up a meek fight but give in. Once in the room, along with the Faliraki party crew in full mode, I lie down on the bed. It sags in the middle. The sheets are damp. I begin to notice the filth, the musty smell. There is a dawning realisation we are not going to get one wink of sleep. My wife returns. We decide not to throw some shapes to the thumping music, drag our girl out o bed (to her great relief) and head off in the night on a three hour journey back to Bristol. It’s been the most expensive car parking our lives but anything is preferable to staying at this dump.

La Bella Vita ??? (The good life). Surely some kind of sick joke? Italian humour? I’ve read the ‘good’reviews on these pages. Nice try mate. This place is a disgrace to Italy and to Hitchin.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank maiamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bella Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bella Vita

Address: 9 Sun Street, Hitchin SG5 1AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hitchin
Price Range: $61 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bella Vita 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your La Bella Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bella Vita Hotel Hitchin
La Bella Vita Hitchin, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing