We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Firs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a recent two night stay here and really enjoyed it.
Met with a very friendly receptionist on arrival . While room was not huge it was spotless and very comfortable with good quality toiletries , coffee/tea / hairdryer, good TV.
One thing I think could be improved on is a Non-slip Mat in the bath as I found it a bit slippy but its a really good size en-suite.
Breakfast is very good and the breakfast room is delightful and service efficient.
There is a quiet and relaxing bar for a nightcap also.
It is is a good position with a 10 min walk into the lovely Market town of Hitchin with its many nice shops. There is also an indoor and outdoor swimming pool across the road, not sure if open to the public or if you need to be a member but worth noting.
There is lots of car parking to the rear and our room was at this side also which was really quiet.
I would certainly stay here again
Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLadyIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for completing a review. I am delighted that everything was satisfactory. For future reference the swimming pool is open to the public and there is both an indoor and outdoor pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
59
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a overnight stay at the Firs Hotel Hitchin, we were greeted with a friendly receptionist who was efficient and nothing was to much when we asked her some questions.

As the weather was not very good we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and was a very high standard at a reasonable price.

The room and all areas was spotlessly clean and bed was very comfortable which helped us to have a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was of a very high standard and very tasty

Many thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay

Mike and Kerrie Taylor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that all the facilities met your expectations. You can not imagine how rewarding it is to receive your appreciation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived home last night after staying at the Firs Hotel in Hitchin. Had to let everyone know if you are in the area and need somewhere to stay this is the place. Firstly it was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble really really helpful ( we arrived earlier than expected and was allowed in our room) fantastic. Large bedroom with tv, large bed, settee, ensuite bathroom with shower etc + toiletries -Fab. When we were ready we asked how far to Hitchin town centre, really nice surprise as it was only 10 mins walk across a park and we had a great day. When we came back we sat out in the garden ( as it was a beautiful day) with very comfortable chairs and the owers served us drinks from the bar, lovely. WE went out for the evening and also had a great night. The break in the morning was also great (lovely breakfast/dining room, really roomy and very well stocked with everything you coulfd wish from, from cereals, to fresh fruit + a menu for anything hot. We has an english brerakfastm with toast and tea an d we could not fault it, freshly cooked and lovely and hot.

We checked out at 10.30 feeling really refreshed, one of the best and friendliest hotels we have stayed in.

So if anyone is around that area and looking for somewhere to stay this hotel is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED).

Also plenty of safe parking at the back of the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Just go on their website there is full information or ring the hotel (which we did as well ) and sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Somewhat dated décor but clean, tidy and very friendly and helpful reception staff. Lovely powerful shower. Breakfast was not cordon bleu, but plentiful and tasty. Great location for Hitchin and to access local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear to avoid quite a noisy road at the front of the hotel. Also check whethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for completing a review. I am sorry you found your room overheated. All bedroom windows at the hotel can be opened. Some bedrooms have velux windows in the roof, and one room upstairs has secondary glazing which can be pushed back to access the window. All bedrooms also have thermostats which can be switched off. I am glad that this did not deter you from enjoying your stay and finding the the hotel good value for money. Your kind comments are appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

On arrival at this hotel we were warmly welcomed by a very friendly receptionist and told of the service they provided, the room was very nice with tv coffee and tea making facilities, the food in the restaurant was very good, and a warm welcome in the bar was very good, with tv in the lounge, all in all a very nice stay and would do it again now our daughter lives in the area. So we will visiting again in the not so distant future,

Room Tip: Read my review ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for completing a review. I am delighted that you found everything at the hotel to your satisfaction. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bute
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

On a previous visit to Hitchin we stayed at The Priory and were disappointed. This time we decided to try the Firs Hotel and were more than pleased with our choice. Our twin room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was freshly decorated and a selection of toiletries was provided. The electric shower was powerful but VERY loud, as was our neighbours shower which woke us up at 7am on our first morning! The kettle in the room was full-size and quick to boil, unlike most hotel kettles. There was a good selection of beverages, inc. Horlicks, and biscuits were also provided.
There is a very nice bar in the hotel and the restaurant was spacious and comfortable.There was a good choice at breakfast with cereal, yoghurt and fruit, as well as a full English. The hotel is quite an old building and this is reflected in the layout of corridors, passageways and unexpected twists and turns. However, everything is kept in good decorative order and is a pleasant change from the rather clinical, predictable layout of Holiday Inns, Premier Inns and Travel Lodges etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful, parking was plentiful and free and it was within easy walking distance of the town centre. We enjoyed our stay at the Firs and will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Hitchin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo-yo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I am delighted that you were pleased with your stay at the hotel and the services provided. We will try and identify the noisey shower and see if this can't be rectified. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby/cleethorpes
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Firs a few times now (Hitchin is my home town), the staff are always friendly, the rooms are clean with all the ususal facillities and there is a good selection of cereals, fresh fruits, toast and many variations on the 'Full English' for breakfast so there is no reason to go hungry, nothing is too much trouble nor do you feel rushed in any way. Plenty of parking space and the price is very reasonable.
This is a very small, quiet, family run hotel so remember that when you book and yes we will be going back there the very next time there is a family gathering!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am happy that you continue to enjoy staying at the Firs Hotel and appreciate our particular style and type of hotel. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firs Hotel

Property: Firs Hotel
Address: 83 Bedford Road, Hitchin SG5 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hitchin hotel with a large free car park and patio area. All bedrooms are en-suite with a spacious licensed bar. Free wifi available throughout the hotel. All breakfasts are cooked to order. If you prefer the individuality of a smaller hotel, the Firs Hotel provides a friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firs Hotel Hitchin, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing