We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Needham House Hotel(Little Wymondley)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firs Hotel(Hitchin)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Letchworth)
$100
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Letchworth Garden City Hotel(Letchworth)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
107
133
107
39
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
133
107
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold coaching inncar parkold buildingtown centre locationlate at nightearly hourslots of characterincluding breakfaststayed for one nightcooked breakfastthe pubwedding guestscooked to perfectionsunday lunchlovely townattending a weddinggood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 414 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel could be so much better if the management made some more effort. Initial impressions are not good when there is no one on reception and one has to ask the bar staff to provide check-in facilities. The room was acceptable with comfortable bed, clean bathroom and powerful shower. However, towels are not replaced, simply folded and put back on the rack. Breakfast is copious if uninspiring. The major drawback is the noise from the street and hotel courtyard as late night revellers stumble homewards in the early hours. It's impossible to get a good night's sleep at weekends. But the management seems to be prepared to put up with this rather than do anything about it.

Room Tip: Take earplugs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay, especially on being disturbed during the night. As we are a town centre Hotel we do suffer from late night noise especially at the weekend. We are very conscious of the affect on our guests and are taking steps to address it. Once again, apologies for your disturbed night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed one Saturday night for a family function. The room was quite small but adequate and the en suite looked as if it had just been refurbished and was fine. We had a meal of fish and chips early in the evening which, for under £10 for 2, was remarkably good. Unfortunately, as other reviewers have noted, the noise from the street was excessive with loud cars revving their engines and the general noise of revellers well into the small hours (must be getting old!). Noise level was not helped with a rattley window - which actually we could have remedied and then to cap it all the road sweeper at around 7am on a Sunday morning going both up and then back down the road, sounded as if it was coming in the room! Not much the hotel can do about these problems, but take heed and try to avoid the rooms over the road.
Overall a good value, quirky but noisy hotel in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12 and those overlooking the road
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay, thank you for the lovely comments regarding the team and food. We do have noise issues at the weekend with rooms at the front for which we apologise, but we'll certainly address the rattling window which didn't help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is is a great location close to everything you could need.

Yes it is noisy at night (probably worse at the weekend) but that is probably due to the close proximity to the pubs & clubs!

It is an old building full of character and granted there are elements which are in need of DIY but if you appreciate the age and the history if the building, you can live with it!

The breakfast was plentiful with good variety and the staff helpful at all times.

The room I stayed in was massive and had everything I needed & for £65 for 3 people with breakfast it was certainly value for money.

I do plan to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finallylanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the lovely comments regarding the team and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I love The Sun Hotel. yes Green King - your rooms need refurbishing....and your hotel is understaffed... but the atmosphere is fantastic ...breakfast is yummy ...the staff are loyal troupers. great value for money and good food ...The Sun Hotel is the heart of Hitchin....come on Green King - put something back.

Room Tip: each room is different
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We're so glad you enjoy your visits to us and appreciate your lovely comments regarding the team here.We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel let down by poor maintenance. Numerous problems in the en suite - worst was the fan did not work and there was a damp sewagey smell when we arrived. There were not enough hangers - 4 for 2 people. Extremely noisy until after midnight on Saturday night with people shouting and singing right outside the bedroom windows.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We apologise you were kept awake due to external noise and will address the issues you raised with maintenance in the bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews