We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Bella Vita(Hitchin)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Lodge(Hitchin)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Needham House Hotel(Little Wymondley)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firs Hotel(Hitchin)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Baileys Farm(Hitchin)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
107
133
107
39
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
133
107
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold coaching inncar parkold buildingtown centre locationlate at nightearly hourslots of characterincluding breakfaststayed for one nightcooked breakfastthe pubwedding guestscooked to perfectionsunday lunchlovely townattending a weddinggood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 414 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, fab individual rooms with lots of character! We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting family. I was in room 15 which was quirky from the outside being up its own little flight of steps! Fabulous beams etc in this very clean and tidy attic room. Spacious bathroom with all necessary facilities, comfy bed and good extras in room...free view tv, phone and tea making facilities. Breakfast was delicious with a good menu to choose from. Only downside was limited parking and very tight parking spaces. Other than this our stay was very enjoyable. The bar was reasonably priced and catered for a wide range of soft or alcoholic beverages. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank _Claire_8909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Car Park is very small and it is difficult to find a space. There is a pay and display car park adjoining the hotel car park, if you get stuck for somewhere to park. Warm welcome at reception and a quick efficent check in. No lift and the hotel is a warren of corridors, twists and turns until you reach your room. We had a twin bedded room which was reasonably spacious. Beds were soft and comfortable to sleep in, but difficult to sit in and watch TV (The bed moves away from the headboard if you shuffle around to much!).The tv is wall mounted and can be turned to various angles. There is tea and coffee making facilities and ironing facilities. The lighting was not that good if you need to work around the room. Noise from outside and inside the hotel was not a problem during our stay.The bathroom has a bath tub with shower overhead, toilet, sink and heated towel rail. Bath towels are a good size, Minimal toiletries provided-small soap and a small bottle of hair and body shampoo.
Breakfast is cooked fresh to order and was really tasty. We did have a sunday roast in the restaurant which was good and reasonably priced at £9.95 for two meals.
Shopping area just outside the hotel was good and had a lot of variety.
We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems make sure you warn the hotel so that they can put you in a room without a lot of steps etc to get to it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, we're glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stay here occasionally with my partner when we have something to celebrate. The service is always good, the rooms are spotlessly clean and it is a wonderful historic building. The food is good and reasonably priced; the restaurant is usually busy and people seem to return here regularly. The staff are friendly without being over-familiar; the cleaners are unobtrusive and cheerful; check-in and check-out is always accomplished with a minimum of fuss. In short, a great hotel in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Room 27 has a lovely double bed and a real bath.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Hitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for a long week-end break. The hotel is a very old building and I believe the bedrooms were refurbished last year when we stayed. Our room and shower room was quite small but adequate and situated down a long corridor. It was quite noisy on the Friday and Saturday nights after midnight as we could hear music coming from the ballroom and noise from the guests as they walked through the courtyard to the car park.
Breakfast was quite good with more than enough to eat. One breakfast waitress Agata was quite friendly more sociable than any one else.Possibly would stay here again as it is convenient to other amenities in the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pears700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding breakfast and will pass them on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here due to business in the area. Quirky hotel but in need of a refurb. Check in was handled in surly manner even though I mentiond to my collegue I was pleased it was an old english inn (i hadn't made the booking so didn't realise till we got there). Was not asked if I required newspaper in the morning. Check out was similar experience Was disappointed that neither the car park nor walk up to hotel had been cleared of snow, cobble type paths are only seem safe in dry weather. Food was average. Hi-light was friendly breakfast waitress.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giggleslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We value all feedback and will certainly address the issues raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews