We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hitchin Lavender

Hitchin Lavender
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're a family owned and run farm. During the summer months (check the website for precise dates)we're open to visitors who are able to wander up and down the miles of lavender rows we grow. We also have a small gift shop and offer light refreshments too. Coach groups or large parties are only possible by prior booking. Hope to see you soon!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

At this time of the year, the view is wonderful. A huge sloping field, the colour blue/purple as far as the eye can see.This is marvellous value. Cost £4 and children under 14 are free, this allows you to pick your own bag of lavender. It is run by friendly staff who give you great if slowish service, but you don't go to a lavender farm to rush. Just enjoy the scenery and have a nice cup of tea and cake and finally buy your own lavender to plant at home. Blissful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    167
    38
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had such a lovely afternoon at Hitchin Lavender,so relaxing. The cafe is in a converted barn together with a shop where you can buy all sorts of lavender related products. The cafe was very busy and they did seem to have only one person serving so there was a bit of a wait but the food was very nice. Would recommend on a sunny summers day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I really hope this stays a guarded secret because it is wonderful!

We went yesterday, absolutely great value for money and my 4yo loved it here. Not packed like most places on a sunny day, lots of benches and a nice shady area for you to sit when the sun is too much.

Great for a picnic, reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A lovely place! Great to go with younger kids or with friends. Cafe is well stocked and reasonable, and the lavender fields themselves are lovely. £4 entrance with which you get to take home a massive bag of lavender is incredibly cheap. A great day out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wormburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very relaxing afternon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent a lovely sunny afternoon among the lavender fields at Hitchin Lavender. Nice little coffee shop with yummy homemade cakes and a gift shop too. Lavender is renowned for its relaxing and unwinding properites - and it did. I would recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitchin Lavender also viewed

 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hitchin Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing