We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicious afternoon tea.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Offley Place Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Offley Place Country House
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went there yesterday for afternoon tea on a coupon deal and it was superb. I went with my wife, daughter and son in law. This is a grand hotel and we were served tea in the Salusbury Suite on sumptuous armchairs. It helped that the sun was shining and we had lovely views across the lawn. A wedding was being held within the hotel at the same time but it did not interfere with us.
We started with champagne and strawberries and cream and it was a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy-Bowdery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamid S, Owner at Offley Place Country House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your champagne afternoon tea in the sun lit Salusbury Lounge. They are currently proving very popular. As we approach Winter, perhaps we can look forward to welcoming you back to have afternoon tea in front of one of our real log fires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
56
55
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from a night stay at the Offley, can't wait to go back for a long weekend, staff friendly and very helpful, rooms immaculate, food lovely, the house and grounds stunning. A very relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at offley place last march (2012) for our best friends wedding.
I stayed the night before with her in the bridal suite which was amazing! We ate at the green man pub which was lovely. Had breakfast at offley place the morning of the wedding which was varied and delicious.
Offley place is one of the nicest places I have stayed. The grounds are fab and the hotel stunning- perfect setting for our friends wedding. The food was so good!
Generally the whole wedding was brilliant and I think the hotel was perfect for hat they had invisaged.
My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the smaller guest rooms the night of the wedding which wasn't cheap (but one of the cheapest) it wasn't tiny but not large, still it was comfortable, clean and well presented.
Again, breakfast the following day was very nice and staff great!
Can recommend this as a perfect wedding venue and a lovely country retreat.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty_m_c1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I Like Offley Manor a lot. We stayed overnight on a bright sunny day. Andy Murray won his semi, and everything in the garden was rosy. The hotel possesses an authentic charm. Ok, a bit creaky in parts, but I am pleased it is at it is, wouldn’t swap its true character It has a homely feel that sets it apart, in a friendly and genuine manner. The grounds are magnificent.Peaceful and tranquil. A Pretty and pleasing place to get married I would think.

Our spacious bedroom overlooked the view of the grounds and very comfortable with nice little welcoming touches. We slept like a log, which is I suppose the true test.

People often comment on the staff here, and deservedly so, like the building itself, they are genuine and friendly.

I must also say I thoroughly enjoyed the meal, and restaurant. The chef uses good quality ingredients, cooked to a high standard and well presented. All in all, a resounding yes for Offley Manor

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited the restaurant of this country hotel with a large group of 25 friends who enjoy eating in a more formal manner – crisp white tablecloths & silver service and no Muzak to interfere with any conversation!
This establishment certainly “ticked all the boxes” and the staffs were superb in their waiting skills and knowledge of the menu choices.
We were seated in the conservatory which has been built on to this quite old building and in a May evening the weather should have been much better but even so it was comfortable and warm.
The food was excellent & hence choices difficult to make!
Starters included a Tian of Smoked Salmon, Avocado & Mango (my choice & delicious) also a Terrine of Guinea Fowl & Red Pepper, a Cheddar Blue Cheese Soufflé plus a soup and a Tomato tart.
For the main course I chose “Mignon of Beef” which was cooked to perfection. The other choices were Salmon, Duck. Skate & Chicken so everyone was taken care of. We had no vegetarians on this occasion but there was an option if required.
The Desserts created another choice problem as they were all delicious & made on the premises which has unfortunately become unusual even in some of the top establishment these days.
There was no hurry to see us gone & at the right moment the correct coats (it was a cool evening) were brought to us – how do they do that? It is very impressive.
A great evening for us all & for once in this group not one complaint!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business recently one Wednesday night. On arriving I was very pleased, beautiful property and in a quiet, peaceful setting. The room was just like what is shown on the website and I couldnt of been happier. The bed was extremely comfortable. The views out the bedroom window were amazing.The receptionists were all so lovely. I liked the fact the history of the house was in the welcome folder. Breakfast was superb. All in alI a reallý lovely stay. I booked on late rooms and I would love to go back. Thank you so much

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoejohnson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I got married here in May and just had to write a review as my husband and I were so happy with our choice of wedding venue. The hotel is beautiful with lovely grounds. Our ceremony was in the conservatory which was a beautiful room to get married in. The food and service were amazing. The wedding co-ordinators at the venue did a great job of ensuring it all went smoothly.

We can't wait to spend our first wedding anniversary back at the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angemy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamid S, Manager at Offley Place Country House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your kind comments.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the food and beauty of our venue for your wedding day and that our staff were so helpful.

Have an amazing year and we shall look forward to welcoming you back on your first wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
3.8 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
24.8 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offley Place Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offley Place Country House

Property: Offley Place Country House
Address: Kings Walden Road, Hitchin SG5 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Offley Place Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Offley Place Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Offley Place Country House Hotel Hitchin
Offley Place Country House Hitchin, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing