We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome at this lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Ranked #8 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A warm welcome at this lovely B&B”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Ty Morgans last Saturday night as we were visiting family in the area and would definitely recommend this as a lovely place to stay if you are visiting this beautiful part of Wales. We arrived late afternoon and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was well decorated and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast the following morning was excellent with a good choice. Although we did not have an evening meal at Ty Morgans as we were visiting family the menu had lots of dishes which we would have been only too happy to sample if we had been staying longer. In fact, friends we spoke to on the Saturday evening said they often travelled quite a distance to eat there as the food was so good. We would definitely stay again when next in the area. The only slight thing that marred our stay (and which was in no way the fault of the staff) was that the fire alarm went off at 12.45 am but luckily this was a false alarm. These things happen! We did originally plan to stay at another B&B when planning this trip but they were unable to accommodate us as we wanted only one night (a Saturday) and they would only take bookings for 2 nights at a weekend. However, we were very glad we went to Ty Morgans instead as it would be difficult to find a better more friendly place to stay in Rhayader. We definitely recommend it. With best regards and thanks to the staff from the Pritchards.

Room Tip: Room 6 Caban Coch was lovely with a feature fireplace and excellent bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    65
    35
    19
    15
See reviews for
37
115
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Margate UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I entered Ty Morgans not looking our best. We had spent several hours on a motorbike travelling up from South Wales. We were met by a young lady who gave us a welcoming smile before showing us to our room. The room was spacious, and spotlessly clean, with an equally clean en-suite bathroom. There was a very generous selection of teas and coffees as well as home made biscuits. The bed was incredibly comfortable. I have read reviews complaining about noise, but Morgans is situated on the main crossroads of the town, so there will be traffic noise. However the town itself is set in a very rural part of Wales so come nightfall traffic is extremely light. I spent a quiet hour at the bar while my wife readied herself for a night out with friends. The bar staff were very friendly as were the locals using the bar. The following morning we made our way to breakfast and were once again greeted by smiling faces from the staff. The breakfast was first class. This point can be reinforced by non residents coming in for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Rhayader and would certainly use it again myself. I have stayed at B&B's all over the country and this one is one is in my top 5

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A great place for an overnight stop in the heart of fantastic roads and wonderful scenery.

Our room was a very good size, clean and well decorated and furnished with a comfy bed and plenty of tea and coffee supplied.

The staff were very welcoming and accomodating and seemed genuinely pleased to look after you.

We ate in the restaurant early evening and the food was fantastic before having a wander round the town and popping into a number of the very friendly pubs.

All in all we had a great night in Rhayader, we were warmly welcomed by the staff at Ty Morgan's and made very welcome by all the locals that we met around the town.

We will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ty Morgans in the centre of Rhayader is an excellent overnight stop with good bar and restaurant facilities and well sized and fitted out rooms. On top of that, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the food good and all of it very good value for money. It is also very well placed for access to the Elan Valley only a short distance away with fantastic scenery and rides/drives. We were on motorcycles and felt very welcome and were provided with good parking at the back of the hotel in a small courtyard.
Only complaint (and not really one anyway) was a lack of hot water in the bath as a result of a power cut (beyond their control) and there was a working shower so all well there. The room was very hot but then so was everywhere that week and they provided a fan for cooling. Some very nice touches like home-made biscuits in a tupperware box, lots of coffee, tea and milk (more than you'd get in a 5* hotel!)l and a good supply of good quality toiletries.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I visited Ty Morgan's on Thursday 4th July 2013. We had booked a twin room but on our arrival the room was not ready for twin occupancy so we were given a double room each for the same rate as the twin. The young lady who dealt with our checking in was friendly and efficient. Our rooms were very comfortable and attractively decorated. Our only reservation with the hotel was the level of cleanliness; for only a little more effort the rooms would be really excellent but the carpet stains and grubby showers detracted from the original thought that must have gone into their initial design. The food was mediocre at best. Light sleepers might need ear plugs! Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyGamoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I booked a room for a surprise 30th for my husband. It was a large group and the food was beautiful. I am a vegetarian and for me, good food choices can be difficult but there was plenty to choose from and it was delicious. The staff were incredibly friendly and provided excellent customer service. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zetaiolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

this is a great place to be based if you fancy a trip around mid wales. Good bar with very friendly staff and local characters. The restaurant was superb and they will make you up a packed lunch for the next day if you ask, all at the right price and served with a smile.

I would definately not hesitate to recommend this place.

Well done Ty Morgans

Room Tip: Room number 1 was brilliant, main room had a large double bed and two singles in a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
89 reviews
7.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,318 reviews
7.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rhayader
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Property: Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing