We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Rhayader”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Ranked #8 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good choice in Rhayader”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This restaurant by the Rhayader Clock Tower in the very center of the village is a good alternative for a nice dinner experience. Informal and friendly staff ensures a feeling of being welcomed. We were a group of approx 10 friends dining and we all were very satisfied with both the quality and the service. Personally, I had Lamb Shank which was excellent !!

For the record, we were only dining - not staying there.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SignarI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    65
    35
    18
    15
See reviews for
37
116
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the jubilee weekend. We were 2 couples 1 had the Elan suite which was fab very spacious with a very comfortable bed, we the other couple had a king size bedroom which was small but perfectly fine for 2 niights. This is a really nice homely place to stay and they are very friendly. We ate in the bar on the 1st night and bfast each morning and food really was good and very good value too.. The only slight drawback is the hotel is on the high street and the bedrooms can be a bit noisey with traffic ...otherwise it's really a very very nice place to spend a few days and we will defintley be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked their 3-bed, 2-bathroom townhouse over the jubilee weekend. As we arrived we were shown the house incl the bathrooms - one taken apart and really smelly, the other with broken toilet seat. Had we known this we before we would never have booked the house and perhaps opted for their B&B instead. The sitting room was simply smelly, sofas were broken with a dusty sheet to cover them. In the bedrooms one of the double beds had broken mattress and the bunk bed too had a damaged mattress. The utensils in the kitchen were really grubby. The place hadn't been cleaned properly and layers of dust on the mantle piece, curtains were really dusty too and the back garden was overgrown and an absolute tip. We couldn't bear to cook and eat in the house on the first day and next day got up early cleaned the kitchen and all the plates and utensils before we had breakfast. Dining room downstairs was nice however.

The booking was really confusing - on one day they said breakfast is not provided yet the second day it was, which was ok. Would have liked it if their staff knew what was included.

The owners should not rent it out until it has been fixed, painted inside and cleaned properly. Parking was on a single yellow line.

There were some positives - There are many pubs to choose from and we went next door to the Lamb & Flag for dinner on one night that served really good food with generous portions. Locals were really friendly, and these together with it's central location in this small town were the reasons why we decided not to cancel our 2nd night stay, but it was very tempting to just return early.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neera_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights on jubilee weekend and found a real gem , food and service where fantastic and the staff really friendly and helpful , the rooms where very unique and clean and the building decor was a real eye catcher , we will return for sure but hopefully with the sun this time as the surrounding area is idyllic for walking and exploring

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Booked last minute and we were greeted warmly on arrival. I was really pleased with the room - The Elan Suite,the food, the bar and the staff were spot on, and the locals very friendly. Breakfast was great, pleanty of it and good quality. We had planned to do some cycling around the Elan Valley but the weather was not in our favour, although the views of the dams were spectacular due to the heavy rainfall! Just loved Tŷ Morgans and we will defintely be back!

Room Tip: The Elan Suite was great. I took a tour of all rooms before leaving and would be happy in any one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borntochillout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent Saturday and Sunday night at Ty Morgan's simply faultless. The room was really comfortable, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff are charming and very friendly and helpful. The bar, bistro and coffee shop all very good with an excellent selection and superb quality. Bob the batman and the locals in the bar all put themselves out to make us feel very at home which made our stay very special. The town of Rhayader is well situated to explore mid Wales and the Élan Valley is breathtaking. It's the ideal location to relax and wash away the stresses of working life back in Essex. Loved it and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Put yourselves our to talk to the 'locals' of Rhayader they are so friendly and helpful it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had booked into Ty Morgan's as I was in Mid-Wales on business, there is a large conference hotel nearby which most of my colleagues have stayed in however I wasn't impressed. This on the other hand is wonderful, superbly decorated rooms with a homely feel, I stayed in one of the luxury doubles. Which also featured a mezzanine level with a leather sofa and wide screen TV! The service was lovely and friendly and the bath even had a whirlpool! The room had a lovely box of baked lovelies from the bakery downstairs instead of the usual stale packaged biscuits.

I also ate in the bistro downstairs which had a great seasonal menu and the meal I chose was lovely with fresh local ingredients.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XraynbeauxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
89 reviews
7.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,318 reviews
7.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rhayader
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Property: Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing