We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“it was nice”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rhayader, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claptontr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“it was nice”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

enjoyed the stay. close to the elan valley estate which is very scenic. del and her husband were pleasant and helpful. the hamlet is nice and quiet so it made a welcome change from London. rooms were clean and adequately spacious.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble to review we are glad you have had a nice time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review we are so glad you had music relaxing and tranquility, space and comfort. We so look forward to welcome you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ellsy B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cottage For All Of The Family!”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My family and myself had an amazing time celebrating the New Year in this fantastic cottage. Large enough for all of us to stay comfortably and set in the most perfect location for any family getaway. The cottages location feels rural and secluded while the cottage is still close enough to amenities and most importantly a good coffee shop. Overall our stay at Dolwen cottage was fantastic and we would defiantly recommend the cottage to friends.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2016
Thanks for your review and we are so pleased you had a nice stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and spacious accommodation
Liked least: Nothing I can think of.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Ian, thank you very much for your review on Dolwen. It was a pleasure to read such a glowing review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salah A
2 reviews
“peace and quite in a wonderful location”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are looking for peace and quite in a beautiful part of Wales this is the place, the property is big enough to accommodate large family and the area around the property is beautiful.
there are walks, and tracks as well as other activities within short rides from the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quite with only the sound of birds and animals to hear
Liked least: The garden require a little work
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Salah, thank you very much for your review on Dolwen. It was a pleasure to read such a glowing review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joemck201...
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, serenic countyside stay in spacious bungalow.”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A nice place to get away from it all.
Very quiet at night making for a good sleep.
Would have enjoyed the garden more if it hadn't rained as much.
We couldn't locate the wifi at the property although that wasn't a bad thing.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Joe, thank you very much for your review on Dolwen. It was a pleasure to read such a glowing review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackhowke...
1 review
“Tranquility and cycling”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Four of us stayed at Dolwen in early October to experience the road cycling. It was the perfect gateway to the Elan Valley, and the views were breathtaking. We'll definitely be back to ride the route again in the new year.

Rhayader was a nice little town. Good lamb chops from the butcher and plenty of pubs.

What was really enjoyable though was relaxing in the bungalow. We unplugged the TV at the mains, put a good stew on the stove and relaxed as much as possible when we weren't out riding the hills. With plenty of red wine.

The views from the house and most of the bedrooms are unspoilt. The kitchen is fit for a good sized group so we chose to cook the entire time we were there.

Del looked after us very well when we arrived but after we'd settled in we were left to our own devices.

Overall it was an absolutely fantastic weekend. If you're looking to get away from it all for a few days then it's the perfect setting - next time I'll try and stay a bit longer to experience more of the cycling and maybe some of the walking.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing