We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elan Valley Lodge

Elan Valley Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhayader
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elan Valley Lodge
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a little haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

spent a couple of days in this great little retreat. old school that has been designed for groups. The rooms are comfortable, very clean with on suite facilities that includes a shower - not sure how easy the ensuite facilities would be for wheelchair users but there are rooms on the ground floor which are big enough to manoeuvre wheelchairs in. the sitting room is comfortable.
great venue for workshops, just relaxing with friends or taking up the team building challenges or activities available in this beautiful location in the cambrian hills. the lodge is surrounded by dramatic hills and there is a river just a hundred yards away which has seating to enjoy a picnic.
the welcome is fantastic. the food amazing and the activities brilliant. tried archery for the first time and really enjoyed it. would highly recommend this for group activities as would cater for all ages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithhamdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from our second visit here with 23 members of our walking club. The walking group package is ideal for clubs who want the fun without the hassle of organising everyone and the guided walks can be tailored for grade flexibility.
Rooms are not luxurious but perfectly adequate, clean and refurbished with en suites and comfortable beds. We were encouraged to use the rest of the accommodation as a home from home and the 2 large lounges were ideal for entertaining ourselves.
The food and packed lunches were very good and the staff, led by Roy, were extremely friendly and helpful.
The building itself is very characterful and situated in an idyllic location with lots of local history which was imparted to us by our very knowledgeable guide Phil.
All in all a great weekend and I am sure we'll be back as there is still so much more to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

You can never guarantee the weather in Elan Valley, hence a reservoir! We have just had a two night break at the lodge (our previous visit was for a mates 50th) and the staff made the 3 days fun packed with varied activities despite the poor weather conditions. The accommodation is not plush BUT this is an activity centre (converted school) where you can do as much or as little as you wish. We did Canadian canoeing and leap of faith on the first day and high wire team activities and orienteering on the second. The food is fantastic and the staff very welcoming. Highly recommended if you are into walking, hiking, general sport activities and team building. The scenery is beautiful

Room Tip: The area is very quiet so only sheep to wake you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

I have never been compelled to write a review, but we have just got back from a fantastic week at the Lodge. We took a small group of youngsters who were doing their Duke of Edinburgh's Award and found the accommodation and staff to be perfect for our needs. The Lodge is described as a five staff multi activity centre and I have to agree. The rooms are ideal, and the food was marvellous. I have stayed in numerous similar type of accommodation and The Lodge is by far the best. This facility is ideal for groups of any age and size. The staff, led by Roy, are extremely helpful and friendly. Their local knowledge is priceless. I recommend Elan Valley Lodge to everyone and will certainly be returning again soon.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Filipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhayader hotels
0.0 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#6 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mid Wales Inn
Mid Wales Inn
#5 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Valley Lodge

Property: Elan Valley Lodge
Address: Rhayader LD6 5HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Elan Valley Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Elan Valley Lodge Rhayader, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing