We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Brynteg

Brynteg
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhayader
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brynteg
Ranked #10 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Fantastic location, lovely clean room with private bathroom across the corridor with fluffy towels and a nice range of toiletries,amazing powerful shower,yummy breakfasts and genial hosts.I would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

3 of us stayed there whilst doing the trans-cambrian cycle way. On arrival we were given a secure store for the bicycles, help with our washing and drying - we were living proof that Wales can be wet. Then we were shown to our rooms, they were spotless (before we arrived very wet and covered in mud) and had good powerful showers. The following morning there were 3 large, freshly cooked full English breakfasts with home made marmalade. What more could we want?
We also had our own guest lounge in which we sat to plan the next day, watch telly and have cups of coffee.
Very close to local shops, pubs and garage. Very helpful owners.

Room Tip: All the rooms were immaculate, absolutely spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Short-breaks-only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Mandy & Adrian are superb hosts, and the rooms are supremely comfortable, although mine wasn't en suite, and I enjoyed an excellent night's sleep. The shower, just across from the room, was hot and powerful, which was just what was needed after a day in the great outdoors, and next morning's Breakfast was ample and very tasty too, with tea and coffee in the room.

For motorcyclists and cyclists, there is a parking area at the back, with a garage if necessary. Adrian is a motorcyclist himself.

Couple of things to note: there is a radio in the room but no TV (there's a residents' lounge with one downstairs), there isn't a drying room or similar for wet kit if you've been enjoying the Welsh weather, and no internet access.

Having stayed at a number of places in Rhayader on numerous visits, I can certainly say that this is one of the best so far and I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTM-Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just stayed one night after seeing the kites at Gigrin Farm. Couldn,t have wished for better. Great
nights sleep in a very comfy clean bed and an excellent breakfast in the morning,who could ask for more.Top B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potter875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is the best value and the highest standard Band B I've ever stayed in. Immaculaely clean, freshly decorated and well equipped.- the thickest, whitest towels you ever did see! Lots of choice for breakfast and beautifully cooked. I was cycle touring and trying to travel light- but everything I needed was there.
This place should be official gold standard for small B& B's., as it knocks spots of lots of places which charge more.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Booked for 2 nights and stayed a 3rd! Great B&B: spotlessly clean, very comfortable and a very good breakfast at a sensible rate. Rhayader is a good base in the lovely Powys countryside and I'll definitely be back and will stay at the Bryntag again - Mandy and Adrian make you very welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Over the past couple of years I have stayed at Brynteg 3 times and everytime everything has been perfect.The room has been spotless, the bedlinen cleanand fresh smelling and the full Welsh breakfast made with local produce absolutely excellent.Mandy & Adrian made me feel completely at home.The view from the back bedrooms is great.Their garden hosts a good variety of birds [Siskins,Blackcaps and Goldfinch]with the occasional Kite flyover.Their are Dippers in the river, not far away[easy walk] and it's a very short drive to the Gigrin Kite feeding area which at anytime of the year is a wonderful experience.Make sure you get there around 2pm for the feeding time.3 in summer.The surrounding area of Elan is stunning and great for walks and there are about 5 great pubs in the area.Whenever I am in the area, I will continue to stay at Brynteg.Thanks again Mandy and Adrian.Les Jenkins StLouis Missouri.USA

Room Tip: Best are at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
89 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beili Neuadd
Beili Neuadd
#2 of 13 in Rhayader
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Rhayader
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynteg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynteg

Property: Brynteg
Address: Brynteg East Street, Rhayader LD6 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynteg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynteg Guesthouse is in a quiet, convenient location just 200m from Rhayader town centre with its shops, cafes and pubs. The red kite feeding centre at Gigrin Farm is visible from the rear of the house and is only a 10 minute walk away. We serve a full Welsh breakfast using eggs from our own hens, sausage and bacon form Rhayader's award-winning butcher and tomatoes from our garden. Vegetarian options are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brynteg Rhayader, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing