We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crown Inn(Rhayader)
$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Glen Usk Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liverpool House(Rhayader)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage(Llanwrtyd Wells)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Ty Carreg(Llanwrtyd Wells)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
51
35
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
35
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetwin roomvisit friendsb boff road parkingelan valleyshort breakexcellent valuebed was comfortablegood sizeone night stayset us up for the daycooked breakfasta lovely stayplace to stayyogurtstayed for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 93 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August to attend a wedding. We had the twin room which is on the ground floor. As we were only staying to attend a wedding our time at the guesthouse was limited but the essentials were all ticked: a nice welcome, comfortable bed, very quiet at night, a satisfactory shower in the morning and a very good cooked breakfast which was served very promptly. Guests had their own area to relax. Only one minor point - the room could have been slightly cleaner around the edges - bit of cobwebs and dust in the corners. This place would be suitable for familities, individuals or groups. The B&B is on a quiet street in the village.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 397Traveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our bicycle trip across Wales.

We arrived at the B&B before our arrival time, but the owner locked up our bikes and showed us to our room. The room was very nice, with very comfortable beds and nice decorating.

However, we have travelled a lot around scotland and wales B&B's and have never experienced a shower with so little pressure as this place (I know it used to be more common before the "power-shower". After cycling for a whole day, the shower is the highlight of the day, and this was one was very dissapointing.

Apart fromn this, everything was nice, good breakfast, and everything as it should be.

Given a decent shower this would have recieved a very good rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNorwegianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfiemar, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thanks for pointing out the issue with the shower. I tested the shower and found high pressure at low temperature but that the pressure decreased as the temperature was increased. Subsequently I have fitted a new shower and the problem is solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 11 days traveling in Wales, Cornwall and the Cotswolds, places that we'd never explored before.
We had an absolutely lovely stay at Paul and Laura Roberts' guest house. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious
Yet it was Paul's easygoing and gracious style that made our stay special. He gave us good advice on places to go, was knowledgable about the area. We ate dinner there one night - Paul cooked and served, then joined us for the main course - the food was local, fresh and totally delicious and the conversation fun and engaging. We met their 3 children who are dear - and we loved the way that Paul interacted with them (Laura was away during most of our stay, but having met her briefly, assume that she is similarly great.) We'll definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneMH_3818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Excellent value and a good quality comfortable room. Bed was comfortable and the room was a reasonable size. Good selection of tea and coffee in the room and toileteries. Very good value for money. Breakfast was excellent. Rhayader is a great central location from which you can explore north or south, and also has a very good selection of pubs and restaurants for evening meals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We only stayed for one night of our driving holiday through Wales and England, and throughly enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse. It was very peaceful staying there, just what we wanted, peace, lovely countryside etc. We enjoyed exploring the lovely countryside, and there were certainly lots of places to do just that. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. We would recommend it to others, and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews