We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage in lovely small village with...”
Groves Cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Cottage and garden
Seating area in Double Bedroom Large Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Groves Cottage and garden
Seating area in Double Bedroom
Large Double bedroom
Shower room en-suite for Double bedroom
Dining area of lounge/diner
Lounge
Lounge/Diner with view through to Kitchen
Well equipped Kitchen
Twin bedroom with built in storage and own seating area
Bathroom en-suite for twin bedded room
Garden at Groves Cottage
Decking area, perfect spot for relaxing in the Garden
Groves Cottage from Chapel Lane
Ducks enroute to the Pond, Chapel Lane
The village of St Margarets at Cliffe with village shop
Childrens Play Area in the village of St Margarets at Cliffe, a short walk from the cottage
St Margaret's Bay, top of Bay Hill
One of the many walks to St Margaret's Bay
Enchanting St Margaret's Bay
Conservation grazing on the Downs St Margaret's Bay
South Foreland Lighthouse on the cliff top once used to warn ships of the Goodwin sands
Historic Dover Castle, with exhibitions, tunnels, restaurants ; space for youngsters to run about
Visit the famous city of Canterbury and its Cathedral, fantastic shopping and history.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timothy D
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in lovely small village with great walks nearby”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I had been wanting to explore the coastal paths in the area for some time and found this place, which is ideal for 1-2 people or up to 4. It is extremely well equipped in terms of the bathroom and kitchen, and the bedrooms are spotlessly clean and very quiet. I haven't slept this many hours a night for some years, living in the East End! The beds were very comfortable and the village is very quiet, at most times of the day except when the refuse collectors visit once a week or the odd horse clatters past. The village is an ideal size, having two pubs, one (rather expensive but posh) hotel, a weill-stocked and friendly village stores (not overpriced, unlike many) and a daily post-office. There is also a converted church hall that seems to have regular activities, coffee mornings etc. and even a library tucked away.
The walks around here are magnificent and you can start off in several directions from the village itself, though the descent to and ascent from St. Margaret's Bay may be too steep for some, even to get a coffee and snack at the excellent little cabin on the beach. You can't walk more than 100 yards in either direction from the bay itself at sea-level, but you can easily find the path to Dover on the coastal path, which is stunning, and then to Kingsdown and Deal in the other direction.
Make a point of seeing the obelisk memorial to the Dover Patrol and visiting the amazing teahouse for lunch, cakes or scones etc., being a repurposed weather station with stunning views across to France from its cliff-top location.
The walks are fairly easy, very well marked and beautifully grassy for the most part, with lots of seabirds, rabbits, wild flowers and virtually no other humans except for the odd dog-walker or, if you stray off course, golf-player.
You can also catch a bus to the village from Dover or Deal, though tickets are bloody pricey at about 3.50 or 4 quid for a single - ouch!
The cottage itself is snug and cosy with a nice view of the road from the kitchen. BBC reception was very shaky when the weather was bad, but otherwise OK.
My only slight gripe would be the size of the sofa suite, which I found to be rather cramped and not conducive to settling down for the evening to watch a film, but then the living-room space is much smaller than the bedrooms and things do have to fit after all.
I would also note that the locals are very friendly and happy to give directions and advice when asked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from kitchen and comfortable bed
Liked least: Lack of spare towels and lack of lighting in village
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard30...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent value in a great location.”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great holiday stay. Clean, tidy and well positioned for visiting the South East Kent area. The owners are not intrusive and the cottage contains all the information needed to explore the area We found lack of internet a minor drawback but the Cliff hotel, about 50 yards walk, has free wifi and all you need do is have a coffee to access it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_C_Es...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Kent Channel coast break”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Groves Cottage is located in the quiet village of St Margaret's at Cliffe, down a narrow lane that runs parallel to the main road through the village. It's within easy reach of Dover, Canterbury, Sandwich and Thanet...more of that later. We chose it as we were visiting relations living in the area - post-kids it isn't possible for us all to stay in the same house. We stayed in the cottage with our 10 month-old baby and 5 1/2 year old son.

The cottage consists of three former labourers' cottages, joined together in such a way that much of the character has been retained, whilst being clean and modern. The property is entered by a porch area, ideal for putting on shoes and storing coats, which then has a door leading into the compact kitchen area which is linked, open plan, to the living/dining room. The kitchen is well appointed, with a fridge with freezer compartment, oven and gas hob, washing machine, toaster and microwave. Whilst the living/dining area is small, it has space for a table with four seats, a two-seat sofa and two armchairs, clustered around the TV/DVD player. We certainly didn't find it too small for us during our stay. A micro hifi system, books and some games are also provided. A glass door leads out into the garden.

The two bedrooms are located on either side of the living space, and both are large. The main bedroom has a queen-size bed, plus two armchairs, and has an adjoining shower room. The second bedroom has two single beds, and in our case a travel cot. Both bedrooms have ample storage space, both in built-in cabinets and chests of drawers - in the case of the twin bedroom, with a baby changing surface on top. The second bedroom has an ensuite bathroom with shower over bath.

We didn't really use the garden during our stay, beyond having the back door open in the evenings, but it has a washing line, decking area with a table and seating, and a lawn which extends around the cottage. A gravel driveway provides offroad parking for two cars (just - if one of them is an estate!) which is important given the narrow lane that the cottage is on!

On arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Tracey, who showed us around the property, handed over the keys, and explained the basics. She had left biscuits, tea, coffee and milk for us, as well as gingerbread men for our son. If you're not familiar with the area, there is a folder in the cottage with information from walking routes and tourist attractions to details of local shops.

As for what to do while you're in the cottage - there is plenty, with options for all weathers. During our stay we visited Dover Castle, the Hornby Visitor Centre in Margate, the Spitfire & Hurricane and RAF museums in Manston, Canterbury city centre, the Battle of Britain memorial at Capel-le-Ferne, the East Kent Railway at Shepherdswell and Samphire Hoe. We also occupied the kids with a visit to Jungle Jim's at Quex Park, which has an indoor soft play/cafe and an extensive outdoor play area, all at a reasonable price.

We didn't eat out in the village, so can't comment; other reviewers have commented, and we can confirm that the Cliffs Hotel, Smugglers Arms and Red Lion are all within 2-3 minutes walk, the former backing on to the property, but with its carpark in between. We didn't experience any problems with noise during our stay, which included a Friday and Saturday night.

The adjoining village of St Margaret's Bay has a beach, which I briefly visited with our 5 year old son - it was high tide, so I can't confirm whether or not there is sand beyond the shingle. This is walkable from the cottage, but down a long flight of steps; if you don't fancy that, then there is a pay-and-display carpark at the bottom. I also walked from the cottage to the White Cliffs visitor centre (National Trust), via the South Foreland lighthouse: this takes about an hour and a half if you factor in a few stops to take in the view. The lighthouse and Fan Bay deep shelter (advance booking required for the latter) are both along the route and open to visitors, and there are several other wartime relics along the way.

We intend to stay here again, which I think says it all if you are thinking of booking a break here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thehappyp...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a lovely cottage, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The bedrooms and ensuites are spacious and finished to a high standard. The living area is compact but has everything we needed. The kitchen has everything you could need. The cottage doesn't have wifi but there is a friendly pub within a couple of minutes walk which does have it. The cottage allows you to have a real break from the pressures of everyday life. Our daughter and 3year old grandson were with us and he loved going to the pond to see the ducks. It is very quiet too, ensuring you can have a good night's sleep. Tracey and her husband are friendly and helpful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“on my bucket list”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful cottage ,like something from a romantic novel .we loved it.Everything we needed was there .Tracey the owner was there to greet us .we visited deal which is close by and family in Dover .There is a great inn for food called The Smugglers ,the food was superb.If there was a down side it was that the time went so quick .The cottage is so cosy and beautifully clean .cant wait to return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quite
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoobyLu64
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So relaxing and comfortable.”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed three days for a well earned break. Groves Cottage is a beautifully equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable cottage down a tiny lane within walking distance of the village amenities. We had everything we needed for our stay and were very comfortable. We were amazed at how quiet it was at certain points of the day when only birdsong could be heard. There's off road parking for two cars and as you'd expect in a tiny village you have to drive very carefully to get in and out of the lane as it's a bit narrow in places. Tracey is a wonderful host, she welcomed us on arrival, provided milk and cookies and familiarised us with all of the essentials like heating etc. If you want an escape to peace and quiet for a few days this is the place to stay, we will hopefully return before too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100danali...
Gembloux, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, clean - excellent!”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful little cottage in an excellent location with everything that we needed for a lovely weekend at the coast. Owners provided a very warm welcome and were extremely helpful with additional requests. We will definitely be returning!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing