We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a lovely stay at park resorts st margarets. We especially enjoyed our Sunday carvery. Food was lovely and chef russell was really helpful. Would recommend the food. The whole restaurant was very clean and tidy and staff very helpful. Would recommend to friends and family. We stayed in a gold caravan which was very nice and very spacious. All the staff on the site were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    114
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
186
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Where do I start... first impressions of St Margaret's Bay site were good, well maintained and tidy. The reception staff were friendly and as we were a bit early for check in the lady directed us to the bar whilst we waited (can't remember her name but she had stars tattooed on her wrist). once we'd checked in we where given directions to our caravan and couldn't have hoped for more. Nice location, a few minutes walk from the club house but so quiet at night. The caravan had a veranda going half way round the caravan with two lockable gates either end. We had our 15 month old son with us so this just added extra safety as he is very much the little adventurer. Once inside it was clean and smelt fresh. There was a spacious lounge with flat screen wall mounted TV & DVD player separate sofa, armchairs and coffee table. The kitchen was large with dining table/chairs, fridge freezer, cooker and washing machine/dryer. two twin bedrooms and a double bedroom with en-suite toilet. A separate shower and toilet also.Timed Gas central heating which was good for the chilly evenings. The entertainment was good for children and adults. Nigel & Bekki were friendly approachable and after the first time meeting them they knew your name. We caught a magic act (The Strangely Unusual) which was good with plenty of audience participation.
The first day we arrived we decided to go to the New inn for lunch but unfortunately it was closed awaiting new management, so we went to the Coastgaurd which was still slow with service as other reviews have stated. So we decided to go back to St Margarets for some food. A little worried as I had read that the food wasn't all that....how wrong these reviewers were. A good selection, reasonably priced and well cooked. Very pleased we decided to go back.
ATTRACTIONS: Dover Castle is amazing. Perhaps a little overpriced but still well worth the visit.Canterbury is so lovely but again quite expensive but the river trip (By the Weavers) was worth the money and was a nice way to end the day. Dover Cliffs are beautiful and the views are fantastic.
The swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were clean and spacious.
All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend it to anyone with children or to those who don't.
Only two negatives (if you want to call them that):
1) The seal on the shower doors was broken which allowed water onto the floor which may prove a slip hazard but a towel on the floor and it was ok.
2) Gutted I didn't win a Park Holidays mug....lol

Would go back again without hesitation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zombie_nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where do I start... first impressions of St Margaret's Bay site were good, well maintained and tidy. The reception staff were friendly and as we were a bit early for check in the lady directed us to the bar whilst we waited (can't remember her name but she had stars tattooed on her wrist). once we'd checked in we where given directions to our caravan and couldn't have hoped for more. Nice location, a few minutes walk from the club house but so quiet at night. The caravan had a veranda going half way round the caravan with two lockable gates either end. We had our 15 month old son with us so this just added extra safety as he is very much the little adventurer. Once inside it was clean and smelt fresh. There was a spacious lounge with flat screen wall mounted TV & DVD player separate sofa, armchairs and coffee table. The kitchen was large with dining table/chairs, fridge freezer, cooker and washing machine/dryer. two twin bedrooms and a double bedroom with en-suite toilet. A separate shower and toilet also.Timed Gas central heating which was good for the chilly evenings. The entertainment was good for children and adults. Nigel & Bekki were friendly approachable and after the first time meeting them they knew your name. We caught a magic act (The Strangely Unusual) which was good with plenty of audience participation.
The first day we arrived we decided to go to the New inn for lunch but unfortunately it was closed awaiting new management, so we went to the Coastgaurd which was still slow with service as other reviews have stated. So we decided to go back to St Margarets for some food. A little worried as I had read that the food wasn't all that....how wrong these reviewers were. A good selection, reasonably priced and well cooked. Very pleased we decided to go back.
ATTRACTIONS: Dover Castle is amazing. Perhaps a little overpriced but still well worth the visit.Canterbury is so lovely but again quite expensive but the river trip (By the Weavers) was worth the money and was a nice way to end the day. Dover Cliffs are beautiful and the views are fantastic.
The swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were clean and spacious.
All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend it to anyone with children or to those who don't.
Only two negatives (if you want to call them that):
1) The seal on the shower doors was broken which allowed water onto the floor which may prove a slip hazard but a towel on the floor and it was ok.
2) Gutted I didn't win a Park Holidays mug....lol

Would go back again without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank zombie_nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to st Margaret's bay in April from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a big smile and a friendly chat with Lesley who had loads of local information for us
We had booked a sun holiday so to be honest we weren't really expecting too much but our van was spotless on arrival
We were out most of the day investigating the local area Canterbury cathedral was amazing and we had cockles and flew kites on margate beach
The evening entertainment was fantastic station road wow they were amazing and our team stars did an amazing job love nige and bekki you made the kids holiday and met some lovely people
We were also really lucky and got to have our pics taken with the FA cup one happy hubby and son
Only downfall was the pool they don't allow under 15 s to swim on their own even though we had told them our daughter who is 14 was a county swimmer they wouldn't budge which was a real shame
It's the friendly staff who make st Margaret's such a lovely place to stay oh I must mention the girl in the bar I forget her name but she was fab and so helpful
My family loved this park and hope to go back again soon

Room Tip: All the vans are close to the complex so no problems there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had booked a long weekend through the Sun newspaper and this was the holiday park we were allocated. On arrival you could see that it was a well maintained park and the staff were very welcoming. We stayed in a bungalow and it had been recently renovated, with adequate heating and kitchen facilities and nice spacious bedrooms, we were extremely pleased with it.

The big bonus about this park was the attitude of the staff; they could not do enough for you and always with a big smile. The entertainment staff, Nigel and Bekki were truly very talented and had boundless energy, watch out Holiday Park resorts, this talented team could be easily poached from underneath your noses.

The food was good and the normal fast food sort of thing but if you want to spoil yourself to some really good cuisine a trip down the road to the Smugglers Inn is really worth it. You do not have to walk out of the main gate of the resort as it is far easier and quicker to use a small wooden gate to the far left of the site as you leave. Someone had made a comment about walking down an unlit country lane with no lighting; this little entrance bypasses that bad stretch of road.

We would not hesitate to return, as long as Nigel is there to entertain us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouzo-and-ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed in a platinum caravan for a weekend break with friends & have to say the break was fab. Caravan was lovely, staff were very welcoming & friendly. The weekend was topped off by a fantastic evening in the clubhouse where the evening entertainment was a Take That tribute band, they were great but the evening was made so much more with the brilliant Nige, who was so fun & energetic, he certainly made the evening. We will definitely be returning with all the family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniM3476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It would be impossible for any park to get 10/10 at all times - however standards have improved significantly at this Park Resorts property since 2011. Like all properties - we need to remember everyone is looking for different things in a holiday and what I feel lets them down may be not important to you. With reguard to staff - a member might be the most helpful normally and on the day someone does a review/visit they may be having a bad day. In the UK the weather can change how we feel about a holiday/property/attraction.

Right to my actual review. Booked a 2 bedroomed Gold unit (AdaptedCaravan through a Specialist Agent - http://www.accessibleholidayhomes.co.uk ) and they helped with picking the site, I was surprised not to have received discount attraction book prior to arriving as this had always happened on previous Park Resorts holidays - so rang and was advised now given at Park on arrival - and after confirmation no more paperwork sent from Park Resorts themselves, arrived for a long weekend and found instead of Atlas Caravan (Silver) we had last time we were provided with an ABI Prestige adapted unit (Gold) which is a well built caravan.

IF you are interested in disabled units continue reading next paragraph, if not please scroll down to next paragraph starting with $$.

The ABI prestige is a 2 bedroom unit consisting of a double bedded room - about 12 inches gap between wall(with opening window and radiator) and bed. Above bed is a unit with 2 small cupboards and shelf running above head end of bed. There is a switch for room lights - no bed side lights, next to bed on right hand side of bed is a bed side cabinet and " dressing table area complete with mirror and electric socket, space is about 3 ft wide to allow wheelchair access and standard cupboards - unfortunately the wardrobe doors are not sliding making access harder and the rails are normal height - so an able helper is advised - I was expecting to find a monkey pole to help sit up etc - however this was missing. Door to room slides

A tip - if you need more than 1 pillow or are used to a thick one - please take some with you as Parks may not be able to supply extras and as a rule of thumb provide one per person so if it sleeps six then normally the unit will have 6 pillows.

The second bedroom contains 2 narrow single beds approx 2ft 3" wide. - (27") . A standard single bed is 3 ft 0" (36") and a narrow single like childs bunk normally 2ft 6" (30") so would say aimed at smaller children. If you plan to use this bedroom for a disabled person then you will need to alter the layout - One bed has a ridged frame, the other is slightly shorter, allowing it to fold legs down and to slid with mattress still attached under other bed. With both beds up, gap is about 4" to 6" so very narrow, with one bed removed then gap about 3 ft wide. Again wardrobe doesn't have sliding door or lower rail. It does have a radiator on wall next to wardrobe away from bed next to socket. Again you can turn off light by bed head. If you need to use medically equipment such as c-pap, nebuliser or similar you will need an extension as socket away from head end. Sliding door to corridor.

Shower / WC

The shower room has a sliding door and as you enter the toilet is to the left with cupboard with boiler above ( hand rail to left of toilet < towel rail and window with blind by toilet>) - immediately in front is sink with mirrored cupboard above, and on the right end is a shower with two folding doors ( doors will fold in or out) complete with half shower curtain and a fitted drop down shower stool, shower has a flexible hose and dual control allowing temperature and pressure to be altered individually. The shower slider could do with being replaced to allow longer bar so you can wash lower down without having to continuously hold shower. Due to shape turning a wheelchair in the bathroom wasn't easy and the space inside shower very small making it hard for a carer/helper to assist in shower. Again sliding door.

The corridor is laminated and a mop in bathroom may have helped. - Suggestion take an old towel , sheet or pillowcase to steep on coming out from shower to help prevent slips on bathroom floor. The width is fine for standard wheelchairs even wider manual chairs.

Entering in the kitchen is ok plenty of space built in cooker and cupboards, nice space under sink for wheelchair, fridge normal type with microwave above, complete with kettle and toaster. Again help needed getting to crockery in top cupboards or getting cleaning items from floor.

In lounge dinner is a table with 4 chairs by door right by wide entrance door, the bench seating is very solid and stable making it easy to get on and off. The TV isn't the biggest and both heating and fire work well. Under the seating is a put me up double bed which is fairly comfortable although realist it wouldn't be too practical to leave up if you are using wheelchair and need to use caravan during the daytime etc.

I found that sitting on seats for more than an hour was a bit uncomfortable due to disability so a pillow or two behind back might help.

Light works well - remember to leave outside light on outside when going out at night and inside to help see locks. The unit has a upvc ramp which can be slippery on wet day. Draw back no parking outside unit and no designated disabled parking near by.

Well back to normal review :-

$$ The caravan was clean - infact I cant fault the cleanliness here, the bedding was all clean and stain free - we strip beds on leaving and can say no marks on pillows, duvet or mattresses this is an avast improvement to 2011 when we had to ask for pillows to be replaced as they were stained x 2 with blood, dark stained and smelling of cigarrettes x 3, and final 2 were damp - 1 mouldy ( As stated that was in 2011 not this time). The duvets were nice and soft and like new. The sheets / pillow cases / duvet covers are typical of modern hire stock ie plain white - again no problems compared to stained and holey sheets and pillowcase in 2011. The caravan had adequate numbers of crockery and cutlery and all though we chose not to cook there seemed to be enough saucepans etc.

The site could do with a daily litter pick due to wind etc and being one way can be seen more, there seems to be a lack of disabled parking with no marked bays near adapted caravans or any useable by hotel or club house etc.

Reception was manned well into the night and even the night staff try to be very helpful - Please remember out of hours staff may not be always able to rectify everything - we made a request which was not able to be completely fulfilled to next morning due to supplies being locked up at end of house keepings day shift.

The boathouse restaurant is the sites main food venue and when we entered a member of staff was cleaning down some equipment and didn't even answer another customers question. There was less than 1 main menu per table and nothing explaing what to do, so we explained to another party that they neede to order at bar ( refered often as Wine Bar at St Margarets) no where does it tell you what time food can be ordered.. Our food was delivered at not too much delay and at average prices (main courses about £5.50 up to about £16) and deserts about £3-£4.50. A table of ladfies who had never been to St Margarets attempted to order at about 2050 and was told some items too late to order as last orders meant to be 2045 - but no details up.

Food was fine - tasty and served as ordered with sauces removered. Too late to order deserts.

Member of party was told to smoke outside in gazebo - this had been removed weeks before, a couple of fire doors by phone (signs above) were looked during opening hours. The marked disabled bays have been blocked in to a patio area with table and chairs with normal bays often causing blockage as need widder openings.

Entertainment team and entertainment greatly improved since 2011 - Nigel and Beckie, - good team only thing Beckie needs to vary place she dances as blocked same tables most of the night. The slush machines only partly working. one out of 2 second not freezing. It was pointed out that this site like most advertise 2 size slushes standart £1.99 and large £2.29 but on this sight only small so forcing to by 3 small insted of 2 large across night to get same fluid intake.

More games for adults and party dance set times and more details of exact times for entertainment would be great. Bingo time well advertised. In fact St Margarets seems to lack times of opening on most premises.

I still cannot tell you what time the Park shop is open - it says open 7 days a week but no times, restaurant no exact times - says join us for carvary from 12 noon on sunday but not info on til what time, and then told no normal food til 5.30pm on Sunday as had carvery at lunch time on the menu. when menu says main meals served from 11.30.

Food offers are not valid on Saturday or Sundays so a bit unfare for weekend guests.

With minor changes - simple changes to signs, a few extra litter picks and better parking planned this site could be more enjoyed.

Whats improved since 2011

Food better range - cooked better and served at correct temperature.

Entertainment Team - Both interested in job, in 2011 only Team member was interested in holidaymakers - she tried very hard with the actual Entertainment Manager very negative and felt entertainment lounge known as London Bar better used for private functions.

Visiting cabarets - better quality

State of cleanliness in caravans increased by 400%.
Linen cleanliness improved - unfortunately new bedding especially pillows lower quality with stitching coming loose even on brand new pillows (Cheap polyester which within one day had gone flat)

Maintenance is an ongoing issue- and in our caravan - carpet comeing away from floor (trip hazard), taping off of parts of road making access harder.

This review is here to help you and as stated - No park is ever perfect - This park is a quieter park ideal for relaxation or using as a base - it is not - an action park - If you are looking for a busy park with lots to do on site then try Camber Sands, Valley Farm, Ty Mawr or one of there parks in the West Country.

I would suggest as a base prior pr post to a cruise from Dover and ideal with the hotel facilities etc with pool and gym - the 45 year plus, there are some amusements in a so called arcade but this is very limited so I would not say first choice for young families - my 7 yr old nephew and 14 yr old niece would have been bored rigid and with so few kids - and small entertainment team they will probably struggle to amuss large age range.

If given choice to visit again would I ? For a rest or re-coperation - Yes. For a busy family active holiday no ?
Would I book again a holiday to a Park Resort Site - Yes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caravanmysteryvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
0.2 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
289 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
837 reviews
2.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Reach Road | Nr. Dover, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
St Margaret`s Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel St Margaret`s At Cliffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing