We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“recent stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just got back from two nights at St Margaret`s.We were visiting relatives in the area. The hotel was as we expected, we had stayed at the park before but in a bungalow, being the closed season we srayed at the hotel.A minor problem with the toilet flush was fixed immediatly!Breakfast was extra but very good and freshly cooked for us.Pool complex very good , staff very pleasant and helpfull, room spotless . Good value for money and certanly comprable to others of that price. Thans to the great staff we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186460Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    59
    27
    11
    13
See reviews for
69
77
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here last weekend,and thought it was a cheap place to stay .We had use of the swimming pools which were lovely and warm,and also the spa facilities(there was a small gym as well but didn't use it)The only downside was that it was advertised as having entertainment but as the rest of the campsite is closed there was no entertainment.The restaurant was ok and the bar was open but it was not big enough for the number of people there especially as they had a pool table in the middle,don't know why they didn't open up the entertainment room which also had bar and would have accomodated more people.We actually saw some people leave to go down the town,but the walk was down an unlit country lane and we didn't want to drive.Remember this price is only for the room,meals,including breakfast are extra.
All in all it was a cheap break for a winter break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and had no complaints. The room was quite basic, but was clean, tidy and functional which was just what we wanted. It was end of season so not very busy, thus no waiting at the bar or for meals. Also the attached Health Centre was a bonus being free to use pool, spa and sauna. Not much in st.margarets bay, but quite close to the white cliffs visitors centre and walks along the cliff edge (not to be missed). All in all a good break and probably better than we had expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

When we finally found the hotel it was in the middle of a camp site which was a surprise. The hotel itself was fairly modern and was clean and tidy. The comfortable room was on the first floor and I did unfortunately struggle with the cases up the stairs as there is no lift. The room had a pleasant outlook over the campsite and we found it quite peaceful.
There is a bar/restaurant next door which provided a good meal at fair prices.
As we were catching the Dover ferry early the next morning the location was ideal for our use.

Room Tip: The stairs can be a bit of a struggle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A Handy hotel very close to Dover ferry port.

The hotel was comfortable and clean, with everything you'd expect from a modern hotel.

A few things to consider... the hotel is on the grounds of a static caravan park and situated next to the bar/entertainment building. A such we could hear people laughing and joking at about 1am whilst smoking outside the bar.
The bed sheet had a hole in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

PLUS
It is fantastic place with lovely and clean facilities. Our room was (as we asked for) with bath and windows facing car park. Room was very clean and the walls were NOT paper thin as you get in many places. Towels were lovely, new and so,so white! There was not only tea and coffee in the room but also hot chocolate :) (what a lovely surprise that was). Our room was on first floor and it was facing entrance to swimming pool which was open from 9am and free to use. This place is very family friendly so if you have kids you should stay here. Downstairs there is bar with billiard, music (don't worry you cant hear it in the room), wide range of drinks and spacious outside beer garden. Swimming pool is clean and in good size, there is smaller separate pool for kids, jacuzzi and sauna (all that is free after showing your room key!). All in all it is great place to stay.

MINUS
The only minus (and it is as much minus as it is plus) is that bar gets quiet busy on the weekend evenings. This means that entertiment is very good but it also means that car park gets very busy and we had trouble to find space to park in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

ARRIVAL - Too say I was disappointed is a little understatement - The site I booked through didn't mention this was a "hotel" on a campsite. Even the directions only took you as far as the main road and made no mention of pulling into the campsite.

Even after driving around the site and not being able to find any sign of a hotel - we eventually rang the number given - after what seemed forever I was told - we are on the campsite!

On arrival to a very crowded car park (after risking ruining the suspension on the speed HILLS!) we made our way to reception - as we walked in the receptionist looked up, saw us arrive and promptly walked into the back office, leaving us standing a good few minutes before returning and providing us with the key.

Obviously we were psychic and knew where the rooms, bar and restaurant were? or I assume we were meant to as the receptionist promptly disappeared without any further explanation.

ROOM - don't be fooled by the designer style bedrooms - looking great in photos, these rooms clearly had a designer but no budget and looked to have been furnished by Argos several years ago! The small size double bed was barely big enough for my 6"4" partner, never mind me as well! 1 teabag each was provided so don't expect to be able to relax in your room for long!

BATHROOM - the loudest fan in the world ever made it near on impossible to put the bathroom light on during the night! Looking forward to a nice hot shower?? My watering can at home produces a faster and stronger stream of water - don't plan on washing and conditioning your hair successfully!

CHECK OUT - After a family celebration and late night we slept in the next morning - part way through preparing for the day - housekeeping knocked on the door - We should have left our room 30 minutes ago and we were now holding up the work of the cleaning team! ( we had never been told a check out time, and when I explained we would only be 5 minutes more - the response was far from polite and it took control from myself to remain polite!)

When leaving 5 mins later we walked past the cleaning team (sat on the step having a cigarette) and the comment as we left could be heard - finally!

The hotel stated it was 4 star - the caravan park might be 4 star but the hotel certainly is NOT!

St Margarets seems a lovely village and now we have been there looks some lovely places to stay - but this is not one of them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
0.4 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
303 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
877 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts

Property: St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
Address: Reach Road, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Margaret`s Bay Hotel - Park St Margaret`s At Cliffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing