We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very enjoyable excellent evening meal.Clean and comfortable rooms. check the website for deals. Excellent breakfast. friendly helpful staff.we had a really great evening. Highly recommended.The food was really first class.

Room Tip: Check the net for deals and offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4589712j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 327 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We used this small but very pleasant Hotel for the night before catching our ship from Dover.




Driving down from Norfolk we stayed overnight at this small but very pleasant Hotel in a little village just outside Dover. Before boarding our ship at the port. Taxi fare to port was £10 there (But over £17 return !!!) can only guess it was Bank holiday !!) We had a lovely very large bedroom with ensuite, with 4 poster bed, Large TV, views over the garden & all toilet & tea making facilities. A good buffet breakfast was supplied (£5 extra for full English). All for £109 which included 2 weeks free car-parking. We had a delicious Fish (local caught) supper. All the staff were very pleasant & very helpful, making us feel very welcome. We would recommend this Hotel & would like to thank them for making our stay enjoyable.







For the price of £109

Room Tip: We were given room No.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 161,236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed one night with our daughter, we had a double in the main house, she a single in the Mews.

A very warm welcome on arrival with assistance with our bags when shown our rooms. The rooms were a nice size with all modern amenities and very comfortable beds. Our room overlooked the rear garden and was extremely peaceful.

My wife and daughter enjoyed Kentish Cream Teas in the garden whilst I enjoyed a pint or two of the local ale which was very nice indeed.

All in all a very nice stay and would definitely return again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-Guilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked adjacent cottages for 2 families of 4 (whilst visiting Dover Castle). Accommodation was relatively basic but very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast - with cooked items optional at small additonal charge (well worth the extra cost - you know it is cooked to order as well ! Would happily stay here again if we need a Dover stop-over.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Close your eyes and you could be in France – the excellent quality of the food and wine, earwigging the conversation in French at another table….. its only a few miles away after all and my phone kept welcoming me to France! (no problem – just press ‘decline’). This hotel and restaurant has everything that we like – interesting location in a quiet village close to wonderful iconic cliff top walks, excellent service, friendly and welcoming staff – to us and our chocolate Labrador. Our room in the main house was spacious and relaxing, although it could have had better sound-proofing –we could hear every word spoken in the bar! Will probably leave the dog at home next time and stay before taking the ferry – only 10 minutes drive to the port.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked this gorgeous small hotel for a surprise for my other half and our two dogs. We parked out the front (ample parking which was handy). They gave us room 12 which is also known as the "Lighthouse" room-it opens out onto the cute little garden which was perfect for the dogs. We checked in around 1pm, popped our bags in the room and went exploring! We walked down to the beach (about 15 minute walk from hotel), along to Dover along the top of the White Cliffs(!!), back to St Margaret's Bay for a gorgeous pub lunch (called The Coastguard) then finally collapsed back in our room 4 hours later!! One word of warning, as we reached the beach, our phone signal switched over to a French service provider so we were "roaming" and therefore incurred big charges so don't answer/make calls until you're further back in land! We then went for dinner in the restaurant of the hotel at 7pm. I'm not sure I'll be able to put into words just how INCREDIBLE the food was!! From crab cakes and super fresh calamari for starters to fresh seabass with samphire and sauteed potatoes and (as my other half put it) the best steak he has ever ever tasted!! The service was faultless with our waiter knowing in fine detail all about the food and where it was from, how it was served etc. However, if we thought the starter and main course was good, the dessert blew it off the scale!! I had melt in the mouth treacle tart with Birds Eye custard ice cream and my other half had Earl Grey creme brulee with rhubarb compote.......and a side of golden syrup ice cream!! We also shared a bottle of Gribble Bridge sparkling wine which was divine. The next day we did another 3 hours of exploring up to the Pines Garden then along to the Dover War Memorial-well, we needed to burn off the 3.5 courses each we'd had the night before!! The breakfast at the hotel was lovely and all cooked to order. Also fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and juices on the buffet table. We definitely felt that one night was not enough, we switched off the moment we reached the hotel and totally chilled out and would have been nice to have continued that for at least another day! We cannot wait to go back to this gorgeous little find, even just for a Sunday Lunch (which sounds delicious) and a stroll down to the beach.

Room Tip: If you have dogs room 12 opens out on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1983zaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived early and enjoyed a bar lunch. The log fire added to the ambience although we found that the bar and restaurant area were more like a bistro than when we had last stayed, with a chalk board menu.

We had booked a room in the main house which was large and overlooked the church. It was comfortable and well appointed.

Dinner was in the restaurant and, as usual, the food was excellent. Although very busy the service was very good, efficient and friendly. The young staff were well able to multi-task.

Breakfast offered a good buffet and extras could be ordered at a small supplement. My only criticism was poor coffee!

Gavin Oakley maintains an excellent standard using local suppliers and foraged food. We recommend the hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
927 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
561 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: $118 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing