We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely start to our summer holiday with unexpected consequences.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely start to our summer holiday with unexpected consequences.”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I were catching an early ferry from Dover to Calais on our way to the South of France, and I'd spent a lot of time researching dog-friendly hotel options prior to picking the White Cliffs Hotel. It's a 15 minute drive from the port, so convenient and in such a pretty area that Dover does seem a rather long way away. We arrived at the hotel at about 5.00pm and were met by friendly, helpful girls on reception. In fact these 3 girls not only manned reception, but also served in the dining room. They did everything with a smile. I nicknamed them the "Three Graces". I would say that the service overall was excellent.
Our room was called the Lighthouse, I think; an executive double, which I'd been told was the room they recommended for travellers with dogs. It led straight out onto the garden area and so was very convenient for us. Upon first entering the room, it smelt a little damp and was very cool, but that was quickly remedied by turning on efficient radiators. We thought the room was looking a little tired, despite being tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was definitely dated, however, for one night it was perfectly adequate and spacious enough. The bed was comfortable too.
The common areas have a lovely rustic charm and are comfortably furnished for guests to enjoy. These appear to have been kept really updated, and charmingly decorated in keeping with a coastal location.
We'd booked a table in the restaurant, and I'm really glad we had because it was very busy. The food was tasty and well cooked with epic desserts! I pinched my husband's ginger ice cream, which was truly delicious.
So far so good, but what I didn't realise until I returned home from holiday, is that we were charged twice for our stay, once upon checkout, and again later the same day when we'd been gone for around 3 hours. I have been corresponding with the hotel for a refund and the owner / manager David, has been truly apologetic. I do feel, however, that in a balanced review, I must mention this, despite the fact I have been reassured that this would not happen again. It has, unfortunately, tainted the memory not only of a lovely evening at the hotel, but of our whole holiday. I would've given the review four stars otherwise.

Room Tip: If you're staying dinner, bed and breakfast at the hotel be sure to book dinner ahead as the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robstarminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed the start to your Summer holiday at The White Cliffs Hotel and we're really happy you found the service from our lovely girls 'Excellent'. We thank you for your feedback regarding 'Lighthouse' aka room 12. We have recently refurbished rooms 6 to 11 and 12 is next on our list, so we'll pay particular attention to the highlighted areas. We were a little puzzled too at the time as to how your payment went through twice but have since established the cause and implemented a revised system with our bank to stop this from happening in future. We'll always deal with any such issues speedily, securely and with minimum fuss as soon as we are made aware to ensure our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    108
    46
    15
    13
See reviews for
78
146
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

A lovely hotel with the appeal and charm of a New England Inn. Rooms were lovely, food in restaurant is very nice - only two complaints. For the price you pay (£99 for double room) it seems cheeky to charge an extra £5 for a cooked breakfast. Also our room has a shower over the bath without a thermostatic mixer tap. It was difficult to get the temperature right and the temperature also varied throughout your shower if someone else was using the water! Still, loved our stay but not sure I would pay the money again to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heverScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It's always great to hear that guests find the place and rooms to be lovely, we do put a lot of love into our work. It's also really nice to know that you enjoy the food in The Bay Restaurant (We've just been included in the 2012 Good Food Guide too!).
With regards to breakfast - As many of our guests staying with us are from the Continent, travelling to the Continent or doing business at the port of Dover we made a call when we opened three years ago not to put a charge on every room for a Full English Breakfast. A cooked breakfast is available from as little as £2.50 should you wish to take it. We try to make it clear that the room rate includes a free Continental breakfast. There is information on our website, on our registration forms, in room folders and on our breakfast menus highlighting the facts.
Our rooms are at a price point which affords us the ability to hold onto our values of offering our guests the opportunity to spend time sleeping, eating and drinking in a welcoming atmosphere with food that is carefully sourced and prepared, served by caring people genuinely interested in our guests happiness. We strive for a calm, safe & happy environment for all and a fair profit for the owners in order to sustain this treasured hotel for all our future guests. Be assured that by choosing to stay at The White Cliffs Hotel you are investing in helping to secure the future of independent hotels with character and charm, such a rarity in these times of corporate chains and global brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Far superior than staying at a travel lodge. Good standard of room and an excellent meal in the restaurant. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Close to Dover ferry port approx 5 - 10 minutes drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garibaldi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We've now been back here a few times, so thought I'd write a review of this wonderful hotel. The rooms are quiet and warm, the hotel staff are fun and friendly, the breakfast is good and the dinner is great. The bathrooms are, as is often the case in England and the rest of the UK, a little, er, different to the standards one would expect elsewhere in the world. But I don't mind too much about not having a mixer-tap, for instance.
Two small niggles:
1. The coffee, whilst good, isn't fresh for every guest, but is made and kept warm in a thermos pot. I think fresh coffee variations (cappucino, latte etc.) offered to each guest would make the breakfast a much more enjoyable experience.
2. The dinner menu doesn't seem to change much. I'd like to see a bit more varied specials menu, or a rotating / seasonal selection.

All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Pleasant surprise to find such a delightful small hotel in St. Margarets. Excellent service from friendly staff, very cool yes casual surroundings and even Ren products in the bathroom.

Very comfortable room, towels need to be renewed but otherewise very good.

Breakefast was one of the best for ages with local produce properly cooked. Eveing meal was Ok - prawn cocktail was not as good as it should be - sad salad and whilst steak was good, not great.

This is a must stay place if you are in the area. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Excellent hotel with friendly staff and decent restaurant. Their sister hotel (Wallett's Court) about half a mile away also provides indoor swimming facilities for a small extra charge. The rooms are good, and there is ample parking on site. The prices are not cheap, but are reasonable for what is provided, compared with the competition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redsonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had four days in this very good venue. Staff excellent, helpful, friendly, paid attention to detail, knowledgeable about the surrounding area, no request too much trouble. The Bay Restaurant well deserves its accolades - from breakfast, lunch, cream teas, through to dinner all very good. Dinner in particular was a gastronomic pleasure, with a wide choice of well planned dishes beautifully cooked and presented.

The accommodation was comfortable, good quality throughout.

Good centre for walking, visiting the lighthouse, St Margaret's cove, Dover Castle, the Roman painted house in Dover. Taxi to Dover Castle £10, bus to Dover town 15mins (used our bus passes).

I'm going back in September for another four days!

Room Tip: be absolutely specific about your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
885 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
525 reviews
10.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Property: The White Cliffs Hotel
Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing