We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fab!!”
Review of The Owl Hotel

The Owl Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Owl Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fab!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for my daughter's birthday for a meal with her friends. We were in the conservatory and the cake, balloons etc I had dropped of earlier we're all set up ready. It looked lovely. Even though the rest of the pub looked busy nothing was too much trouble for anyone. So friendly and clearly happy in there jobs. This I think makes for a great atmosphere. The kids loved the food so overall I. Really impressed thank you very much to all staff at the Owl Hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cheeky140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    92
    49
    17
    21
See reviews for
76
68
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Booked 9 rooms and dinner for 17 people. Friendly, efficient welcome, they took the trouble to re-arrange the tables when we asked, service was good, food was good pub grub and rooms were clean and well maintained.

Good choice for breakfast and again friendly service.

Good value for money!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7 which overlooks the car park, it was well equipped, had tea & coffee making f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had reason to stay at this Hotel at the end of Jan 2014 for a very sad family occasion and was thoroughly impressed by the very welcoming staff. David, the Manager, and his excellent staff could not have made us feel any more welcome than they did. The food in the hotel was good as was the catering in the function room. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Would definately stay here again and would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSVN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here mid week at the end of Jan 2014 whilst attending a funeral. The function room was used for the wake so we experienced pretty much all parts of the hotel service from lunch before the funeral through to breakfast the next day. All food was good for what you would expect from a pub chain offering. The service we were given both by David the manager and our waitress both in the function room and at our evening meal was faultless. The pub itself is very nicely finished inside and had a good atmosphere and was busy so obviously a popular local venue The outside areas look a bit in need of smartening but where doesn't at this time of year? Our bedroom was clean comfortable and nicely decorated and furnished. Overall a very pleasant stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagefamily2plus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I ordered the platter sharer and the beer battered fish for main course. Whilst waiting for the starter to come we witnessed some inappropriate behaviour from the staff around the bar area and by the two men who were dressed in formal wear of their choice, who appeared to be part of the management team. Shouting at each other very loudly laughing and joking and appeared to be play fighting, a chef sat yawning in the bar area, before he started work? The starter appeared and the waiter apologised as there hadn't been any plates brought to eat it from! The platter was served on a cold serving dish with cold plates to eat from, most of it if not all from a microwave. Our next course beer battered cod, or so they informed us, was disgusting. Thick yellow crust batter with grey hard fish inside. I was waiting for someone to check if everything was ok, no one arrived, far too busy with their social life etc to be concerned about customers . I said I will complain at the bar £37.00 the girl asked for and then asked us nothing further, no eye contact and carried on talking to her colleague about what usually happens on mad Fridays from the management to make there night more pleasant, I was totally aghast, no thank you how was your meal or anything. What has happened?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selby hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Owl Hotel in Hambleton put on a great New Year celebration last night, nice buffet and pleasant atmosphere all night. The staff team went out of their way to make everyone happy and helped make it an excellent evening. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We are here for a quick mid week tea thinking it would be decent pub grub and it was hardly even that

My son said the chicken dippers (birds eye!) looked like they were from the moon and the were dry, funny colour and looked terrible and had big craters in them! How can you mess up chicken dippers?? My scampi was awful can make better myself too many chips and cold peas. My daughter had the wrap factory!!! Slimy chicken in breadcrumbs (slopping off) with no salsa or other filling just some grated cheese?? Over all absolute rubbish food really disappointed wont ever eat here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarebearleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
13.4 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
557 reviews
15.6 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
315 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
6.9 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
7.0 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Owl Hotel

Property: The Owl Hotel
Address: Main Street, Selby YO8 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owl At Hambleton Selby
The Owl Hotel Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing