We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowtop Country Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowtop Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
1 review
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

had a really nice time here.. clean and comfortable.. local village has everything shops restaurants takeaways (we never cooked much Indian was to good). highlights were the environment ducks.. chicken eggs and the pig he's called BBQ (i hope not).. convienient for York park and ride.. wifi which is free was very handy..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rannoch4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    63
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
71
225
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

My review will seem to be a little opposed to those on here, however from what I read in the comments book in our lodge my comments are not isolated.

Firstly this is the first time we had stayed in this part or Yorkshire, if you don't know the area, within a short vicinity there are a number of power stations and lots of industrial/business parks. Foggathorpe itself is a few farms and houses, blink you have missed it.

The site is ok but I think the accommodation is quite average and didn't live up to hotels within this price range. The lodges are around a lake, which if you read the brochure in your lodge is stocked with a multitude of different varieties of fish. In reality you only see carp and after talking to several fishermen thats all they saw too. If you want to fish and do nothing else then I can imagine this is a popular place for you most fishermen were out from 6/7am for a good all day fishing.

Ok so on to the lodge, on arrival all seemed ok but when you are there for a few days you start to notice things.The furnishings were a real mish mash and differed from one lodge to the other, we drew the conclusion that a lot of items were probably sourced second hand as nothing matched. The bed, well it is a memory foam mattress, opinions seem to be divided on this, some loved it some hated it, I must admit we found it quite difficult to sleep on.

What we did noticed in the first few days was a lack of general maintenance in the lodge. Bathroom was very clean but the kitchen area wasn't. We arrived to find rice on the floor, a dustpan that had black sludge and dirt in it, the hoover hadn't been emptied and the suction part was thick with hair. We quickly made the decision not to use cooker as the glass had thick streaks of grease down it (something that was mentioned by other guests in the guest book). Cigarette containers outside the lodge had not been emptied, I could go on. I guess it just wasn't as nice as I would have hoped it to be. We did enjoy the hot tub, but again after a few days noticed that around the controls there was thick brown scum - it needed a good clean!.

In terms of location its close to York, but most other place Whitby etc expect an hours drive. There is a kennels across the road, and unfortunately most nights you could hear the dogs barking.

The neighbours also were a bit of a concern (and I totally accept this is outside of the control the owners), they seemed to have been very excited by the hot tub and spent several hours in there, however they also were loud, used lots of profanities and were encouraging and laughing at their dog joining them in the tub. Their dog was huge!.

Take what you want from this review, most of the others on here are complimentary and this was the reason we went here. However the comments did not live up to the reality and you can definitely get better accommodation for this price. I would also recommend staying in the Pickering/Thornton Le Dale/Helmsley areas as they are much more picturesque. Yorkshire love it will be back again, but won't be back to yellowtop.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank benson007Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Having used trip advisor quite a few times to look at holidays ( and beeing put of quite a few places), I was determined next time I went somewhere to write a review. This is a very positive one! I went to yellowtop in september 10 for a 4 night break with my husband. The lodges were great. Very clean and airy. The hot tub was very good, every home should have one!! The only downside was the mattress. One of those memory jobies. Not keen at all but thats a personal preference. Many in the comments booked had raved about it. The ducks were very cute. This is the type of accomodation that you could use as a base to see the surrounding area or not move and relax in the peace and quiet. I would definitely reccomend Yellowtop!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mammibach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Just returned from a 4 day break at Yellowtop. What an absolutely idyllic place to relax and enjoy the surroundings in peace and tranquility. Lodge was spacious and well equipped spotlessly clean and private and and OOOH that hot tub!!! we miss it.
Loved the way the staff keep in the background and you wouldn't know they were there unless needed. If you like fishing it can't be beaten.

Easily located to York , Steam trains to Whitby where you must try the food at the Magpie Cafe. Its not cheap but superb! Also if you like it a bit spicy go to Market Weighton and try the Bengal Brasserie excellent food excellent staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pongothebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Another relaxing stay at Yellowtop, stayed in Lodge no 1 right on the lake ,lovely private hot tub, and it snowed which ,made it perfect.The ducks came every morning to be fed and they even tap on the patio doors with their beaks if you try to ignore them, one in particular starts laughing as soon as you start feeding them,you will know what I mean if you go.Looking forward to next visit in May

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

This lodge was amazing. When we arrived the heating had been left on for us and the lodge was toasty warm! The little kitchen was fantastic with it's oven, microwave, tea/coffee supplies and complete cutlery set. It had a TV with freeview and DVD player and the WiFi wasn't bad either.
The hot tub was incredible! It made the holiday, was very romantic being in it late at night with a cold beer watching the stars.
Would go again no problems. It was a great weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyrob669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
12.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
13.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
14.3 mi away
Raywell Hall Country Lodge Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowtop Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowtop Country Park

Property: Yellowtop Country Park
Address: Foggathorpe | Selby, Selby YO8 6PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Selby
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the historic City of York and the beautiful market town of Beverley, Yellowtop offers a tranquil and stylish retreat and a gateway to the breathtaking Yorkshire Wolds. A small development of lodges each overlooking a picturesque lake, affords visitors a safe and secure environment to enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday or short break. We have 1 and 2 bedroom lodges, 16 out of 20 with Private Outdoor Hot Tubs and either Four poster or Floating beds.Perfect for both romantic getaways or family breaks.Excellent coarse fishing* opportunities are available for all ages and abilities and if you are looking for lovely walks there is a direct link to a beautiful bridleway and nature trail network from the park. Children can feed the ducks and collect the eggs or watch the wildlife. The pretty local village is just 2 miles away and hosts a selection of shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowtop Country Park Hotel Selby
Yellowtop Country Park Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing