We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowtop Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We keep retuning to yellow top as it simply is the best place to relax and unwind even in the winter when the lodge are very cozy and warm! The hot tubs are a bonus but soooo nice to use.

Excellent location just outside York so very easy to get into the normal hustle and bustle but not far away from the retreat.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone as its fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi :)

A perfect review, thank you very much :D

We look forward to having you back again!

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 411 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at yellowtop. The lodge was warm and spotless. We had a harvest lodge plus and it had everything needed for great stay. It is remote, yet the local shop a couple of miles away stocks everything needed. Nice touch for the management to provide tea, coffee, salt, pepper etc, and a tea towel as well. Shame there have been no fresh eggs for months, daughter was upset by this. The park is lovely and well looked after, the ducks are brilliant!
Couple of things that could be improved on, the hot tub wasn't very hot, we have stayed in lodges with a much warmer tub, it was minus 4 and therefore after twenty minutes the yards was cold. We did mention this but nothing was done. Also the yard that housed the hot tub wasn't great, cobwebs all over the wood work and a rickety fence. It was ok with the light off and candles but didn't inspire us to use during the day. Also a dishwasher would have been a bonus. We didn't get a four poster or canopy bed with memory foam so can't comment on that. We would return but only if they improve the hot tub area. All in all a great break with just a few niggles about the hot tub.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0nestadvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi there,

I'm happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay, the fox did manage to get our chickens, which we do plan to replace asap. Our main guy on site who looked after the chickens before (shutting them in at night etc) has been away and so we didn't want to get more for them just to be eaten up again! So you have my apologies for that.
We do set the hot tubs to 38 degrees and they do go up to 40, which I must say is very hot! (I can't stay in one for long at that temperature!) However having told a member of staff this should have been looked at to make sure there was no fault with the tub.
We are updating the outside areas with a bit more decoration so that the area is more pleasing to the eye, but the area should be cleaned so I will get that looked at to get rid of any cobwebs that shouldn't be there!
Our premier lodges do have a dishwasher, should you wish to return I would suggest to take a look at those lodges :)

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend arrived at our lodge (No.2) Wild Oats Lodge at about 5pm as we decided to go shopping in Selby before hand. Upon arrival the lodge was open and we were pleasently surprised by the size of the place. We had more than enough space to lounge and rest and plenty of clothes space in the bedroom.
The lodge was very clean yet we decided to wash all of the pots we we're gonna use just to be safe.
We decided that due to the driving and time that we'd have a take away on the first night and I can definitely recommend the indian resturant in Holme upon Spalding Moor.
The location of the park is just off a main(ish) road and isn't the easiest to find in the dark.
The four poster bed was adequate but a little small for me, the best part of the lodge was by far the hot tub and although its chilly whilst getting out just relaxing in it was great.
All in all we had a great time at Yellowtop Park and will definitely be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hello :)

Thank you for your 4* review!
I'm glad to hear that you liked the lodge and would look to come back and stay with us! May I suggest that if you return and would like a bigger bed, you take a look at Still Rabbit, which all have super king sized beds :)

Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in lodge no. 15 and it had a nice view over the water. It was perfect for me my family and my staffy pup- he loved it! It was lovley and relaxing, with many places to go to like Scarborough, Whitby and York. We had a great hottub which we enjoyed each night. It was tidy and clean and the beds were comfy. There were many places to eat or you can have takeaways delivered to your lodge. The lodge was nicely enclosed so doggie couldn't get out. It was just right for what we wanted and expected and we had a brill time and really enjoyed our stay! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your great review!

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the information you have put in your review for others to see.

Hopefully we will see you back at Yellowtop in the future :)

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We came to Yellowtop Country Park on a recommendation & we'll most definately be passing the recommendation on to our friends & family. We have just spent a totally relaxing 4 nights at the park,my husband and i & our dog Rodney stayed in a Harvest Lodge plus (15) & we found it to be toasty warm and very clean upon our arrival,the lodge was well equipped,especially the kitchen,i needn't of taken dish cloth,tea towel,spare bin bags etc. Also all we needed in crockery,cooking utensils,pots and pans were in the cupboards. Our lodge had an outdoor hot tub,which was super,a delight at the end of a day out walking. There is an old railway track which leads from the park and on our first day we walked to the end of it (about 8 miles there and back),we didn't walk quite as far the next day but took a turn off the track to the next village-Holme upon Spalding Moor,there we popped to the butchers,bakery and local shop and walked back(about 5 miles there and back). We ate out for an evening meal at Ye olde Red Lion pub in Holme Upon Spalding Moor which was lovely home cooked food. All in all our short break away was just what we were hoping for and more,hopefully be returning soon. Thankyou Yellowtop!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hi there :)

Thank you for your amazing review, we are happy to hear that you found your lodge was spacious enough and enjoyed the surroundings.
We look forward to having you back to visit again!

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked through Hoseasons and were allocated Lodge No.3.
I am confined to a wheelchair so was a little apprehensive as the Lodges are not deemed accessible. However, I was assured on booking that apart from one step into the Lodge and a bath with shower over there shouldn't be a problem.
We arrived late teatime having been told the accommodation would be unlocked with keys inside. They were and a lovely warn lodge welcomed us.
What a surprise, a reasonably large hall with spacious open plan lounge/kitchen/diner to the left and two double patio doors onto the small seating area outside overlooking the lake.
A bathroom large enough to turn a wheelchair round in (although no grab rails) and a good sized bedroom with four poster bed and single bed settee(suitable for a child).
Everything was provided, tea towels, extra refuse sacks, kitchen utensils including all the obvious etc and a welcome tray including tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits, salt and pepper.
Our Lodge was only 20 feet from the lake edge although some are set further back. Plenty of people fishing and although Lodges are reasonably close together you never have the feeling of being overlooked.
Most have hot tubs and although ours didn't we weren't particularly bothered and had been told on booking.
Ducks and coots came to be fed regularly and although there are two steps down from the Lodge onto the patio area it is accessible from the side.
Altogether perfect. Neither of us wanted to come home and are already planning a return trip next Summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 350Gail350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi there :)

Thank you for your amazing review, we are happy to hear that you found your lodge was spacious enough and enjoyed the surroundings.
We look forward to having you back to visit again!

Kind Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we got married in july and are having a honeymoon in nov so thought we would have a mini honeymmon at yellowtop
fabulous time
lodge was amazing we were in lodge no 2 with hot tub
four poster bed and beautiful views on the lake
everything you needed was in lodge was like home from home
hot tub was a must some of the lodges dont have them and i would have beed really dissapointed if i hadnt had one
we went to the park n ride then got the bus to york . did the country walk to the pub and basically chilled for four days . jsut what we needed
really good value would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSimpson, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your mini moon at Yellowtop!

We do pride ourselves on being somewhere people can just come to relax and it seems you did just that :D

Thank you for your lovely review!
Kind Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
10.0 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
6.2 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
38 reviews
11.7 mi away
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Paradise Lakeside Lodges
14.3 mi away
Raywell Hall Country Lodge Park
10.7 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowtop Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowtop Country Park

Address: Foggathorpe | Selby, Selby YO8 6PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Selby
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the historic City of York and the beautiful market town of Beverley, Yellowtop offers a tranquil and stylish retreat and a gateway to the breathtaking Yorkshire Wolds. A small development of lodges each overlooking a picturesque lake, affords visitors a safe and secure environment to enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday or short break. We have 1 and 2 bedroom lodges, 16 out of 20 with Private Outdoor Hot Tubs and either Four poster or Floating beds.Perfect for both romantic getaways or family breaks.Excellent coarse fishing* opportunities are available for all ages and abilities and if you are looking for lovely walks there is a direct link to a beautiful bridleway and nature trail network from the park. Children can feed the ducks and collect the eggs or watch the wildlife. The pretty local village is just 2 miles away and hosts a selection of shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowtop Country Park Hotel Selby
Yellowtop Country Park Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing