We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad at all !!”
Review of The Wishing Well

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wishing Well
Ranked #8 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

As a well travelled couple i was invited to Yorkshire to judge Welsh Ponies and was informed of our overnight Accomadation as the wishing well .As always i looked it up on this site and was Horrified to read the long list of negative reviews so was very apprehensive before we left home .I think with most things you have to experience it yourself to gain some measure of what some places are really like .
On arrival we were greeted by a Happy receptionist who was helpful and understanding .
The room was basic but it was clean and tidy and good value for money for the show .
The breakfast was ok ,all pre cooked and put under lamps ,which meant things were a litle dry .
Some of the containers which had juice in them could have done with a wash along with the coffee jug !But on the whole things were ok but wouldnt score a five star rating !
Note the bar does close to residents at the usual closing times (think 11),but the night porter will serve you bottled beer into the late hours ,on the whole an OK hotel wouldn,t stay there through choice but feel some of the previous reviews are a little unfounded

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We decided to visit the New Country Inns (Wishing Well) with the kids for tea on Thursday night, We went there as the kids indoor play area is the largest within decent travelling time from where we live. We arrived & got the kids booked into the play area & then went to order the drinks & food. We then waited a whole 45 minutes for the food to be served to us, Thats where the fun really started!!! The chips on the kids plates were no where near cooked & their Garlic bread was cold & soft (not cooked either) The chips also looked like they had been chipped from potatoes that had been kicked around the car park all afternoon (Bruised & black) We had no apology for the delay in serving either. When our adult orders came out, Scampi was shrivelled up & chips also appeared not to be cooked. We promptly asked for a full refund, where the staff actually score full marks as thats what we got, they also reimbursed us for our drinks which we had no issue with lol We went down the road & ate at the MacDonalds resteraunt which was a whole lot cheaper & cooked too!!!! We will most definately NOT be returning, in fact, I will be surprised if this place stays in business much longer as we were not the only unhappy customers that night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deano02205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a recent one night stay at the Wishing well for my wifes friends wedding the next day we was located on the first floor overlooking the nearby A63 .The room had everything we needed it was clean and the bed was really comfy we had breakfast the next morning which was very nice we also made use of the bar at night which was open till11ish both the bar staff and the restaurant staff were very friendly we will be stopping here next time we visit selby next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazza41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August as a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children. The room was basic but clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The only complaint we had was there were 4 of us staying for 3 nights and had clothes for 3 days and a change for going out on the evenings however there were only 4 hangers in the wardrobe and when we requested more from reception we were told there were none available so slightly disappointing having to live out of a suit case. We chose the continental breakfast for 2 mornings of our stay, there was a good selection and as we had purchased the adult breakfast the children ate for free, included in the childrens free breakfast was a hot breakfast selection. There is a lovely outdoor playarea which our children loved as well as an indoor soft playarea. Overall for the price we paid it was an ideal base for exploring the surrounding Yorkshire area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momzillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night mid-August we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist and shown to room 18. The room itself was lovely and well presented, the view from the window was of the back of a large sign however. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening the food was as can be expected from a family pub type of place, I enjoyed the food and it wasn't too expensive. All the staff were extremely helpful all the time.
The tv would only tune to certain channels bbc1, 2 etc no itv available we had already got into bed however so I didn't raise this issue with the reception desk and it by no means spoilt our stay, I was unable to connect to the hotels wifi at any point during the stay either as connection has to be verified by an email which surprisingly requires an Internet connection!
Breakfast was £7.25 which is about average price for a hotel of this sort, however the bacon tasted like it has been reheated in a microwave, the hash brown had been deep fried to beyond recognition and it was basically tasteless. I've had better breakfasts for a lower cost. You do get toast, tea/coffee and fruit juice included however

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I use this hotel every 2 x weeks when I stay away with my job. It is always clean, warm and staff are lovely and bar area and food very good. Plus its only a short walk into Selby if you want and 30 mins drive to York.

Room Tip: For best Wifi you need to stay on 1st floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 4.8.13 after a long bike ride from Glossop. We arrived late but found the help we received from the staff to be excellent. Room was spacious,inviting and well equipped. After a hot shower - in the bathroom which included a bath! we went down to the restaurant and bar area which we also found to be excellent, along with the meal we ate and also a good selection of beverages. The bed was comfy and also nice soft pillows, and to say the A63 runs close buy you can hardly hear any road noise. Next morning we paid £7.00 for the English breakfast which again was excellent with a wide selection of cereals etc before the platefull of fried food !!!!! Overall for the £50.00 odd pounds for a twin room you cannot go wrong with The Wishing Well, we would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
24.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
416 reviews
6.9 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
618 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
1.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#9 of 9 in Selby
17 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wishing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wishing Well

Address: Oakney Wood Road, Selby YO8 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range: $76 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wishing Well 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly hotel, located on the A63 Selby Bypass, only 3/4 of a mile from the town centre. Our hotel also has a bar and family restaurant with a children's play area. At The Wishing Well, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wishing Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wishing Well Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing