We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hassle free experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wishing Well

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Wishing Well
Ranked #5 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic hassle free experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 4.8.13 after a long bike ride from Glossop. We arrived late but found the help we received from the staff to be excellent. Room was spacious,inviting and well equipped. After a hot shower - in the bathroom which included a bath! we went down to the restaurant and bar area which we also found to be excellent, along with the meal we ate and also a good selection of beverages. The bed was comfy and also nice soft pillows, and to say the A63 runs close buy you can hardly hear any road noise. Next morning we paid £7.00 for the English breakfast which again was excellent with a wide selection of cereals etc before the platefull of fried food !!!!! Overall for the £50.00 odd pounds for a twin room you cannot go wrong with The Wishing Well, we would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    82
    75
    43
    43
See reviews for
91
79
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife as a base for visiting York. Room spacious and reasonably quiet despite the A63 passing nearby. Did not eat here, had breakfast in Morrison's in town centre on both mornings. Reasonably happy with room except for the loo. It took over an hour to refill after flushing! I reported this to receptionist who promised an investigation into the problem, but upon our return nothing seems to have been done about it. I decided to leave the matter there as it was not really an inconvenience (!), but would have been if our visits to the loo had been more frequent. Room 16.
Would stay here again, handy for those travelling to York who prefer to stay reasonably nearby (15 miles) and travel in. Left our car at the Design Shopping Centre in Fulford and took the park and ride into York city centre. Superb service, only downside that the last bus from York is 20.10,

Room Tip: Don't expect a scenic view as the hotel is on a small industrial estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for one night as we were visiting relatives in Selby for a party......hotel was ok room was clean enough....bed comfortable.....bathroom fine......no hairdryer in room but can be obtained at reception if needed......we had a fan in the room which was useful as it was very warm. We decided to have breakfast before we left which cost £7.25 we waited quite a while before it was served but it wasn't good .....very greasy and tasteless....wish we hadn't bothered. The staff were friendly and helpful ........probably wouldn't stay again as I feel you can get better for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekjan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Wishing Well (room only). We were guests at a wedding reception at a local Castle & several of us were being picked up by coach at 12.30pm. We had telephoned the day before to ask whether our room could possibly be ready early (normally 2.00pm as checkout is 12 noon) but were told they would do their very best but could not promise. The receptionist I spoke to on the phone was very polite & I felt most helpful.

We arrived at 11.30am in the hopes of an early occupation but our room had not yet been cleaned, although it was now vacant. The receptionist, again very helpful, asked if we should like to put our case, suit carrier, hat box, etc. in the room prior to it being cleaned, which we did,(or we could have left them in the office) & they would do their best to have the room ready a.s.a.p. We only had to wait 30 mins. & we were able to unpack & "finish off".

It was a very spacious room, comfortable bed & excellent bathroom. It was also spotlessly clean. (The only minor complaint is that the garment rail was a little low for even a knee length dress - hooks on the back of the bathroom door however). We did not stay for breakfast as we were full from the day/evening before but at £5.25 & £7.25 I think that was a reasonable price.

The Hotel is also very conveniently situated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bahiaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

ordered breakfast at 9:30 after complaining it came at 10:30,we had already eaten the chair legs which tasted better than the breakfast,bloke on the next table complained(not about us eating the chair legs)on why it was taking so long he eventually walked out,plates cups bowls looked liked they needed a good wash,the waitress who I must say didn't need one (thank god)was trying her best on her own,the poor lass, some of the other staff were doing nothing and could have given her a hand,if the restaurant was very busy I could understand the food taking awhile but there was only about 8 in including us,we will use the hotel again but probably go to mcdonalds,so room fine staff ok breakfast absolute $@@@.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here 20/7/2013
The evening meal was terrible
When i complained the manager was very rude communication skills nil would not offer refund, went to bed couldn't sleep because chiller unit was on outside window complained again offered no refund offered breakfast which was terrible again sent it bk 3 times ,would avoid like the plague, the staff Unbeliveably rude the food really crap

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1973john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selby hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just don't bother... Unfriendly dis interested staff who don't even apologise for their poor service and cold food, won't be going back any time soon. We were told on ordering our food would be with us in 30 minutes... Fair enough we weren't at McDonald's but after over an hr waiting we asked where our food was. To be fair the boy we spoke to was pleasant and looked embarrassed however he never actually told us what was happening... Skip to a further 20 mins to ask again what was happening to be greater by a rude lady who granted seemed stressed but to be honest this was not our fault or problem and she could have been pleasant. Not one Apology from anyone at all... My food was ok, but cold, the cheese sprinkled over what should have been a melt... Sent back..rubbish food. I'm not a complainer but had the staff been remotely interested and pleasant i wouldn't be writing this review. Their excuse... It was busy! I barely saw 3 tables waiting for food.... It's not home cooked even I know that... How long does boil in a bag really take, won't be coming back sorry

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladykaty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
7.9 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
6.9 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wishing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wishing Well

Property: The Wishing Well
Address: Oakney Wood Road, Selby YO8 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wishing Well 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly hotel, located on the A63 Selby Bypass, only 3/4 of a mile from the town centre. Our hotel also has a bar and family restaurant with a children's play area. At The Wishing Well, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Wishing Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wishing Well Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing