We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackwood Hall
Nearby Hotels
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Goole Hotel(Goole)(Great Value!)
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel(Leeds)(Great Value!)
$75
$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Milford Hotel(South Milford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
13
4
5
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
4
5
1
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 29 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding for one night and loved it. The hall itself is beautifully decorated and the room was luxurious. We had intended on going out that evening but decided to stay in, in comfort and luxury. We had a top notch breakfast the following morning before leaving.
We found Valerie to be very welcoming and helpful throughout and we intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: The four poster room with large jacuzzi/bath is great, with views out across the estate.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toucan_blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Really wound't waste your time, we visited for a friends birthday and stayed at blackwood hall, it was cold, right next to a business park (literally) and the way over priced, we could stay at Oulton Hall hall for less and have far more luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you are thinking of having your wedding here think again.
Went to a evening wedding reception here the room was freezing cold & had an awful smell,the buffet i have done better myself, Sausage rolls,Pork pies,Quiche,Tuna & cucumber sandwiches,Ham Sandwiches & crisp 3 desserts all which were shop bought no thought what so ever put into it then they cleared it away at 2200 & closed the bar at 2230 without warning considering there was still 2half hours till the evening finished also charged what bar price's they wanted & then we got asked to pour are drinks that we were drinking into awful dirty glasses so they could clear away would not mind but the glasses we had were old tumblers.
On the plus side my friend who was there was thinking of having here wedding there not anymore!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mushkela62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieWK, Owner at Blackwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We can fully appreciate how the reviewer must have felt at the wedding reception of their friends, the bride and groom.

We have to say however that the bride and groom had only booked the venue from us and the catering and bar arrangements were contracted directly by them without our direct involvement. The clients decided the food menu, bar staffing times and bar prices without our participation . We just provided the space for the caterer and the bar stewards to serve the food and drinks. I feel sure the bride and groom will be disappointed to read the review on their wedding and yet, there is nothing we could have done ourselves at Blackwood Hall to remedy this as regards the reviewer's apparent disappointment.

From our vantage point, the caterers appeared to have delivered an excellent service for what was ordered by their clients, who also seemed very pleased with the menu and service even though the reviewer seems less so. We will however be pointing out the issue that the reviewer mentions with regard to the use of glasses by the bar stewards and seek their assurances that in future their glassware needs to comply with our own exacting standards.

Finally, something we DID have control over was the room temperature. The thermostat was set at 20 deg C and I was supervising in the room most of the time. I do not recall the room being cold but quite a few of the guests were smokers and kept an outside door open quite a bit of the time. I can imagine if one was sitting near the open door, there could have been a draught. In future, we will try to ensure that doors are closed if guests prefer this. As regards the report of a strange smell we are puzzled. The room had been used for the Wedding Breakfast during the day. I am surprised to read this since nobody in the wedding party, caterers or bar stewards detected any unusual aroma.

I should point out that we offer all wedding clients details of more than one caterer. Many clients have their own caterers who are brought in by them for their special day. We think this offers maximum flexibility to our clients whereas many venues insist upon clients using the venues own services or preferred contractors.

The same applies to bar services, photographer and entertainment, giving clients optimum choice to personalise their own wedding day or other function.

Finally, regarding the reviewed wedding, the happy couple stayed overnight with us in our Bridal Suite and reported that they were delighted with their stay before they left to go on their honeymoon to Spain. The reviewer did not however have the benefit themselves of experiencing an overnight stay at our Bed & Breakfast Accommodation.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

2 babies (2 families) staying at the hotel but only 1 high chair. Caused issues when trying to have breakfast in the morning, ended up having to return back to the bedroom until the other couple had finished their breakfast with their baby.

When we returned down stairs 30 minutes later we was not served a fresh breakfast and was instead served a breakfast which had been under a hot lamp which completely dried out the food so left having no breakfast, dissapointing for the price we paid.

Found the hostess not approachable, and felt uncomfortable asking her to do anything for us.

The rooms and the venue were lovely though, pub called the Drovers pub near to hotel provided excellent food and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieWK, Owner at Blackwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We have been open now for just over 6 months and in that time we had not had any infants stay so two one year olds booked in on the same night, did rather stretch our resources. We have only one high chair and had we planned breakfast times better the high chair would have been available for the second guests.

The first set of guests came down a little later than expected and really did savour the breakfast. Sadly when the reviewer's party came down baby No 1 was still very happily hogging the high chair !! Admittedly the second guests' breakfasts were delayed which impacted upon their enjoyment of their breakfast.

Many establishments do not take children under 3 years of age and being a family run place we wanted to welcome everyone, young and old. Having two parties with babies at the same time taught us some lessons. One long standing B&B owner told me it had never happened to them in five years. First, we will stagger the breakfasts further apart and second, I have just bought another high chair. Finally, despite food being prepared fresh and on time, the delay affected the enjoyment and this problem will not arise in the future.

It is early days still at Blackwood Hall and we are working really hard to meet and exceed guests' expectations. It is a shame we didn't do so in this instance.

Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Needed somewhere local to stay for an easy getaway night . Blackwood Hall is it . In the main not a car to be heard . Our bedroonm was fantastic as were the public rooms .The place is very clean & beautifully furnished .I'll definately stay there again and recommend to my friends . Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinW2457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieWK, Owner at Blackwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

As we all approach the Summer, the wildlife is delightful and the geese on the lake are doing their courtship dances, so it adds to the peaceful surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews