We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For.”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have never stayed in the londesborough as a hotel, however, regularly eat there as getting two meals for £6.95 is a bargain. The food is not always guarentee'd to be at it's best but half of the time it is very nice, especially considering you're paying less than £3.50 a person for a meal.

It's a shame the management don't care enough about the place to look after it and train staff appropriately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ce06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    14
    16
    45
See reviews for
17
22
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited with my wife of Wednesday afternoon for lunch after seeing the filthy carpet in the doorway we should have walked out but as were very hungry decided to venture inside. Was greeted by a very friendly lady behind the bar who advised us how to order our meals.

We took our drinks to the table bear the window. My first chair amost collaped under me, two nearby chairs were not much better one very grubby and worn the other with tape on the arm covering a hole.

We ordered Mixed Grill & 12oz Beefburger, I commented that the meals were too cheap about £8 for the Mixed Grill and about £6.00 for the burger (which came with a free pint) I couldnt see them being good quality for the price.

Mixed Grill was below average with the small steak very dry. The Burger was a very cheap make with hardly any taste of Beef.

I noticed on the menu, breakfast for £2 this must be a loss leader or very substandard ingredients are being used.

I think it is a shame such a grand building should look so shoddy. A sign of the times?

Would I eat there again. I would like to if the building was renovated and food better quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selby hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Surely the owners can see that this place id worn out tatty bar tops seats sticky with muck snd ripped this in such a great location it has potential to be gem but the owners and staff have no interest its in need of gutting especially now weatherspoons is open come on londesborough have some pride and make this the great place is shoul be

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snatch709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The food has always been good value for money and you can get a decent breakfast before you check out. But the way it has been left to just fall apart is disgusting and the company running the place should go and stay for a night because they would be suprised. Granted the staff can only do so much with the tools they are given but are probably on minimum wage with little or no incentive to do any extra work the place has lost its charm and my custom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrgrumpypants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Recently wrote a review about this place titled not that bad but now feel I need to update. Stayed there this week and it was terrible. On entering room found no remote went downstairs to report staff couldn't have been less interested.
3 AM Tuesday morning workmate and myself (separate rooms in different parts of the Hotel) woken up by night-porter emptying out the empties into bottle bins , went on for an hour.
Tuesday morning blocked in by the delivery dray for 25 minutes he was aware we were there and after we got fed up and went looking for him found him having a Coffee in the bar.
Guests at this place seem like they are an inconvenience to the staff and a good nights sleep here is almost impossible (especially on Thursday night , club night).

Room Tip: If have to stay there on a Thursday ask for room away from nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 632Evanses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting York, as all cheap hotels were full there, walked in and had to ask a dodgy man at the bar where to check in, the woman checked us in then told us to follow directions to the room, no help at all. To sum the room up - it was the worst I have ever seen! Wall paper was hanging off, huge hole in the ceiling, bogies on the walls,cigarette burns in the bedding and the pillows were stained and stunk of sweat. Couldn't wait to leave! The food however was excellent and couldnt be faulted its just a shame about the accomodation. oh and what childrens activities? swimming pool?

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is part of a pub, and upon arrival at the hotel I followed the sign that said "Hotel Reception".

However, there wasn't a hotel reception, I had to ask at the bar. No major issue with that, but at least have the sign stating that! The chap behind the bar told me he was a walking reception, and he was right, he walked away. He never said anything along the lines of please follow me etc..

At this point, due to the unclean state of the bar area I felt like walking out and going somewhere else. Non of the table had been cleared, yet the bar staff were stood around talking to each other, even ignoring people who wanted serving.

I got a key, found the room and was quite surprised that the room was rather nice, and very clean. They should have the hotel cleaner working in the bar!!

There is a nightclub next door, so there will be some noise, but in all honesty the noise of the drunken revelers wasn't a problem, it was the staff out back smoking that was a noise issue.

On a night there was bouncers on the bar door. Charming bunch of chaps, wouldn't let me in, and I'd not even been drinking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
6.7 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
992 reviews
6.9 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
566 reviews
10.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
1.2 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
305 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Market Place, Selby YO8 4NS, England (Formerly Londesborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing