We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penrhos Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhos Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrhystyd
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spent two nights here with friends. Rooms large with fridge, microwave, crockery, cutlery, etc. Don't play golf but used it as a stop while doing the Ceredigion Coast Walk.
The swimming pool was very welcome but the jacuzzi didn't work on our second night and there was no-one around to sort it out.
Breakfast set us all up for the day; the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs would have fed two or three people!
Evening meals were fairly standard but well presented and very generous. We found the staff pleasant and helpful.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
38
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is in a great location between Aberystwyth and Aberaeron. It is dated but the rooms are large and facilities good. The receptionist on arrival had little idea of who we were and where we were staying. The double room was sizeable with a double bed as well as a single, but the single bed hadn't been used,I imagine, as the bedding was very dusty.Service in the bar was efficient, but not so in the restaurant. Some tables were too close together and cramped. Don't arrive for breakfast at the time the restaurant opens as it won't be set up. And why serve chips and peas with almost everything on the evening meal menu? We don't all want chips. Overall, a hotel in a good location crying out for a makeover. Could be great with some attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was on a self-guided hiking trip up the coast of Wales (b&b reservations and luggage transfer were covered by the agency offering the trip), and was expecting the charm of a bed and breakfast each night. In the middle of the trip, after three b&b's, I ended up at this mostly deserted 1970's-era golf course/hotel. The staff present ranged from indifferent to polite, but quite always quite difficult to find! Only a few other guests in a large facility was somewhat daunting. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious, but it was the ambiance of a motel and not a b&b. If the staff had been genuinely friendly I would give it four stars in spite of the deserted quality and lack of character/charm in the surroundings!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irislyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our son goes to Aberystwyth University so we have often needed to stay somewhere in or near Aber, and Penrhos has proved, all things considered, to be the best hotel in the area. It's a few miles down the coast, and a 10-minute drive to Aber (15 if you get stuck behind a lorry) so it's inappropriate if you need somewhere within walking distance of the town centre. But there are many benefits to being out in the countryside - the nights are wonderfully peaceful, and there is little to disturb the tranquility apart from the birds. Penrhos is mainly a golf club and mobile home park, and there are very few hotel rooms - they are in a cluster of small chalets, so be warned the short walk from the reception to the rooms involves going outside. The rooms themselves are fairly huge and very well-appointed, with everything you'd expect.The reception staff are friendly and helpful, and there are various on-site facilities that are either free (like the indoor swimming pool) or at a reasonable price (like the golf course). For the price, we can't really fault it... except for the breakfasts, which are big but not very inspired. Our advice is to skip them and get something tasty in Aber.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground-floor, with no-one above you to cause any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpongeBob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmouth, Bridport, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in a mobile home - which was good. Not quite as good as on our previous stay but realised we must have been upgraded on that visit (2010). Thought the site was starting to look a bit tired and wondered if the recession was leading to staff cut-backs (not a good idea).

The location is great for sightseeing in this region of Wales and very suitable to couples. Not ideal for families with children as there is not a lot to do and the beaches on this stretch of coast are not good.

We had planned to have some meals in the bar but as it was Euro 2012 week there was a large screen and the volume was not conducive - OK if you are a football fan but it left no alternative for others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very clean and comfortable caravan. Swimming pool ok.
Food looked pricey and didn't fancy the look of the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break in a kestrel lodge booked through hoseasons. The lodges are fantastic and the hot tub a real treat, we thought the cost was very reasonable for the level of accomodation - log cabin very clean, had all mod cons and was very warm even though outside weather was bad. Only downside we felt the facilities on the site were really poor, the swimming complex was very tired (jacuzzi/ sauna & steam room didnt look like they had worked for years!) & cold, changing facilities were also poor, particularly for babies (no baby change facilities at all). Overall nice for a weekend break but not enough to do with kids and leisure facilities need updating to match quality of the lodge accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bellebellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrhystyd
4.6 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
7.0 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
10.3 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhos Park

Property: Penrhos Park
Address: Llanrhystud, Llanrhystyd SY23 5AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanrhystyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrhystyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhos Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhos Golf And Country Club
Penrhos Golf & Country Club Hotel Llanrhystyd
Penrhos Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing