We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP CLASS HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
dromore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TOP CLASS HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Just returned from another stay at the Bayview with extended family. Can't say enough about the hotel and staff. Food excellent and staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms very clean and a beautiful setting for breakfast and dinner. Will be returning again in August

Margaret Brush

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may123pole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank-you so much for your kind comments about Bayview, I have informed the team, they are very grateful and all looking forward to seeing you again in August. Meanwile have a wonderful Summer,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    162
    41
    17
    4
See reviews for
137
357
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Bayview Hotel is just minutes from Bushmills, and is overlooking the ocean. Our room looked out over the water, and was just great in every respect. We ate in the restaurant for dinner twice, and it was some of the most delicious food we ate while in Ireland. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is wonderful, and the property is pristine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
From myself and all at Bayview, thank-you for taking time to compliment us about your experience at the Hotel. It is wonderful to get such glowing reviews and really gives us a super boost and encouragement to strive and endeavour to continue building a successful and happy team at Bayview,
Many many thanks, we hope to see you or your friends again soon at BAYVIEW,
Trevor Kane
Proprietor
Bayview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very impressed with the hotel, rooms, friendly staff, cleanliness and service. The breakfast was delicious, as was the evening meal. Enjoyed the entertainment also. Will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackslybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank-you so much for your kind and complimentary review of Bayview Hotel and the staff, your comments are warmly welcomed by all,

Trevor Kane
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Eventually getting around to writing a review of myself and my girlfriend's stay at Bayview in early December last. It was during the freezing weather and we were unsure if we'd make the trip but we braved the 8hr drive from Cork in the bad conditions (yes we're mad!) and I'm so glad we did. Got a 2-night 1D+2N B&B deal at a great price (£99pp). From the time we arrived, our stay and the staff couldn't have been better. The hotel was pretty quiet due to the weather but we didn't feel this was the sole reason we got their undivided attention. We were delighted to get a complimentray upgrade to one of the sea-view rooms which was fab. Although the weather was freezing, the sun was out and actually made the view stunning. We curled up beside a fab open fire in the bar for the evening and were waited on by the excellent barman. Next day, after visiting all the fab sites in the area with glorious sunshine (Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-rede rope bridge, Dunluce castle, Bushmills distillery) we curled up by the fire...again. We ate both evenings in the hotel which was fine.....no problems with breakfast either. There are some nice touches in the hotel like the complimentary newspaper and local weather report delivered to the room door in the morning. Met a lot of locals in the bar also who made us feel so welcome....a thing we find everytime we visit Northern Ireland. We set off early on the Monday morning....the hotel owner thanked us personally for staying....when he spotted my car was frozen over, he came out with jugs of warm water to help me defrost it! I felt on leaving that I would nearly be obliged to call when I'd get back to Cork to let them all know we got back ok...I didn't call but we made it back in 9hrs!! Overall, we had a fab stay in a beautiful area. So, many thanks to all at Bayview Hotel. We'll be back soemtime again.....might go in Summertime next time however!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomred1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank-you so much for your kind review about Bayview Hotel, it is great to hear that you made it all the way back to Cork, enduring such inclement driving conditions. I have to add that it is wonderful that we have people like you who love to explore our wee country, as I have said many times to our guests, "we live in the most wonderful county with spectacular scenery all the way from the City of Cork to the Giants Causeway!"
Again many thanks, and we hope to see you or your friends again soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor Kane
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stunning views from bedrooms (or at least ours) and dining room. We stayed 2 nights and loved it. Food was excellent and service efficient and friendly. Pity there was no cask bitter but suppose one can get by with super Bushmills whiskey and the neat wine list! Hilton Belfast could learn a thing or two about service from this excellent little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryfromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Many thanks for your kind review of Bayview Hotel, I have passed your encouraging comments on to my staff, and they always like to get feed back from their guests. I am investigating the possibility of being able to serve Cask Bitter in the Porthole Bar so hopefully we will have Bitter on tap for your next visit,
Again many many thanks for your cheering remarks,
Kind Regards,
Trevor Kane
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stunning view over the north Atlantic coast, indeed hard to find a better view from a hotel! Dont mess about get the large premier/superior room with the bay window. Yes its more expensive but its well worth it. We needed a quiet break, the view, the room, the setting, nestled in the centre of the quiet picture postcard fishing village were just what we needed. It was only for one night and I could have stayed longer. I've already booked to go back for a longer stay. Yes, the service in the restaurant was a bit slow, but hey you're on a break, whats the rush? The Bayview is currently my hotel 'top' recommendation to anyone needing a break, wanting to sit and look out the window and quietly let the world go past while you drift. Excellent. OK you want some practical stuff - Breakfast was part buffet and part waitress service. I prefer complete but overall breakfast was very good. There is a small car park at the rear but it was full on the weekend we stayed. Dont park in the 1st part of the parking area, its private. There is on-street parking at the front door to the hotel so no problem. The room was heated and the premier rooms are well appointed with TV's and a seperate lounge area. The hotel left newspapers and a weather report next morning, which was a nice touch. It allows you to plan your day around the rain, it always rains here! But with such a nice view you could stay in all day!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smakibbfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
It was so nice to read your wonderful comments about Bayview, which I have passed to all of the staff, they love to hear guest comments which they find very encouraging! It is also imperative that we are informed when we get it slightly wrong, as pointed out by you about the slow service in the restaurant! We are doing all that we can to ensure that this is rectified and our performance will be much better from now on!,
Again many many thanks for your encouraging and kind comments,
Kind Regards,
Trevor Kane
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dromore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

This was the first time for our party of six staying at the Bayview Hotel and I can only say that it was the most enjoyable stay we have had in a hotel in a long time. We had the standard rooms and they were exceptionally clean and very comfortable as was the whole of the hotel. Breakfast and dinner was excellent and the view from the dining room was unbelieveable even in November. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I can only say that our time at the Bayview was enjoyed that much by everyone that on returning home we have already booked to go back again in February.

M Brush
Dromore Co Down

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may123pole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank-you so much for you kind compliments about Bayview, I have passed your comments to all of my employees, they are also very pleased that you enjoyed staying at our hotel, we all look forward to seeing you in February 2011, meanwhile have a vey happy Christmas and a wonderful New Year
Kind Regards,
Trevor Kane
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing