We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
548
208
54
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
548
208
54
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porthole restaurant view of the bay superior room window seat giants causeway restaurant staff an evening meal smoked salmon waiting staff jacuzzi bath short break open fire steak antrim coast fantastic hotel both nights first class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 845 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Took the family to the Bayview on a visit to Portballintrae. Our table at dinner was excellent and right at the window with a lovely view over the bay. All staff were polite and friendly. Menu was fairly typical and not unnecessarily crowded with dishes to choose from. The 3 different dishes we received were all fine but not enough to make any of us say we'd be excited to come back and get the same again. Wouldn't give the food a huge recommendation but also wouldn't say it was one to avoid. A solid 3 out of 5 for food, but the location, setting and service deserved better.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nadnerb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Dear Guest, many thanks for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bayview,
Kind Regards, Team Bayview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

A recent visit for dinner left us unsatisfied. The steak was expensive and very chewy. The other meals were quite flavourless. Such a great location deserves to have better food being served each night.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank arjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

It seems very strange that this person who supposedly visited our restaurant some months ago is only posting a very poor review now!
Thankfully we have many satisfied genuine diners who enjoy the Bayview Porthole Restaurant food, ambience and view.
As humans we don't always get it correct, however we do try very hard to satisfy everyone, especially if given the chance to rectify any mistakes.
Trevor and Team Bayview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

Stayed there 2 weeks ago and we were lucky with the weather but i have traveled all over the world and i'd say this is up there in the top 2-3 hotels and location i have ever stayed in. Rooms, hotel, bar, food, staff and location was perfect. A bit pricey yes but then you get what you pay for, go stay here its excellent.
Jon

Room tip: pay extra for the see view and balcony
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 386jon_n386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Hi Jon, thank you so much for the positive comments about your stay at Bayview.
We are truly grateful to receive such a wonderful review
Kind Regards
Trevor and Team Bayview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

We couldn't get in to any of our usual haunts for a meal last Saturday night so we reserved a table at the Bayview and I was really impressed by the quality of the meal and the general layout of the hotel. I had chowder for starters. Now I am a bit particular chowder. I love good chowder but cannot abide poor chowder. This was good chowder, with plenty of fish content and a nice but not overpowering broth. I ordered brisket for mains. I love to see things like this on the menu because it shows that a chef is willing to put in the hard work. Brisket takes a long time to cook and this was cooked to perfection. Served on a root vegetable mash it was truly delicious. I'm not a great one for sweets but decided to try the summer fruit pudding. All I can say is Wow! This was the highlight of a very good dinner. Topped off by a nice double espresso, this was a very well thought out and executed meal. The head chef here really knows his or her business.
The atmosphere in the restaurant was pleasant, the place was busy and there was nice vibe here. The service was in truth a little hit and miss. We asked a question of the wine waiter and he said he would have to check at the bar. With that he left and never returned to us. We got our wine however and although we were left for some long periods without the attention of a server that was ok because we were in no hurry.
I loved the meal, I loved the view from the hotel dining room and I would love to come back sometime soon!

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank PatMurff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Hi PatMurff, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Bayview and very grateful for your kind comments,
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind Regards
Trevor and Team Bayview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

I stayed here with my Mum for one night whilst visiting the area. I cannot rate the hotel highly enough. A welcoming greeting on arrival, a huge room, spotlessly clean, with everything you could need (including a complementary newspaper and weather forecast in the morning). We ate dinner in the restaurant that overlooks the beautiful bay. The food was delicious, as it was for breakfast. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the Giants Causeway, Dunluce Castle and Bushmills Distillery. We loved it here and hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Viking32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Guest, we are extremely grateful for the kind and positive comments about your experience when you stayed with us at Bayview.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind Regards,
Trevor and Team Bayview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews