We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with beautiful views!”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with beautiful views!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We were most impressed with every aspect of our stay. The room was very clean, comfortable and fresh with a super view from the large window. The staff were friendly and efficient, both reception and waiting staff. The breakfasts were of a very high standard. Both my husband and I felt we had the best breakfast here of any hotel in which we have stayed. We also had dinner on one evening which was excellent also with a wide range of choice. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting the beautiful North Coast. We love photography and the sunsets at the front of the hotel as well as a short distance along the coast at Dunluce Castle are second to none!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    168
    43
    19
    4
See reviews for
144
373
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Down, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a room with a lovely sea view and balcony. Great shower and bathroom. Duvet on the bed wasn't very thick though. There was a menu for breakfast and I had smoked salmon which was very plentiful. Had a good fry the next morning. Well run especially as it was the North West weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorrel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a great hotel with a car park and friendly staff.We had requested a room with seaview and were not disappointed. The view was awesome, having a drink and watching the sunset. Our room also had a spa bath. The hotel had a restaurant which seemed popular but my daughter (who lives in USA) had a hankering for fish and chips. So we drove into Bushmill and Hip Chip to get some, which we ate sitting on a bench overlooking the bay, delicious. A perfect end to a perfect day.

Room Tip: we asked for one with a sea view when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went to stay at Bayview hotel last week for two nights(wish we could have stayed longer) it was fantastic from the staff to the food to the cleanliness of the hotel. We had a wee party for my husbands 50th on our second night the food in the restaurant was delicious out of 12 of us everybody thoroughly enjoyed their meal and the staff even sang happy birthday for us! I asked for a seaview room and that is what we got the views over the atlantic were spectacular. The breakfast was lovely I had poached eggs and bacon one morning and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon the next both were delicious. We would like to thank all of the staff for giving us a most pleasurable stay and a lovely warm welcome, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katepatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

…nothing special, it could easily be a 5 star hotel but I can only give it an average rating because of the quality of food and I didn't enjoy eating in the noisy overcrowded restaurant area, the hotels location is fabulous though overlooking the bay and the Irish sea.

I found the food very overpriced and below average in quality. The evening menu was neither enticing nor worth the money. The open plan restaurant, which is also open to the bar was very busy, noisy, and the décor dated or tasteless. It wasn’t a great place to relax over dinner and enjoy the sea views.

When booking the restaurant we asked for a table at the window but didn’t get one. We were told that our request was only that and they couldn’t offer us a table at the window on the night. Could they not have told us that when we booked? For starters the Tapenade style breads, oils and olives was certainly the worst starter of breads and olives I have had. The big wedges of bread tasted stale and the four or five tiny olives seemed to me to be out of a jar from the supermarket! It was a very poor quality starter and I just couldn’t be bothered finishing it, neither was I in the mood for confrontation by complaining how bad it was. I then had the duck for my main course, it was tasty enough but most of what was heaped onto my plate was too fatty to eat. The following night dinner at the Tartine restaurant in Bushmill’s was so much better in terms of quality and enjoyment.

The Superior room was good, nothing really superior except it had sea views. The standard rooms face the car park at the back of the hotel. Our room which was on the first floor had a large balcony with used cigarette ends thrown onto it and overlooking the restaurant flat roof which actually blocked the views of the bay a little. Perhaps the second or third floor rooms would offer interrupted sea views? The larger balconies on the first floor however could be nice in the summer months and as it appeared ideal for smokers!

I really liked the bar area though, well designed with a variety of seating and excellent for visitors and locals. The open fire was lovely with comfy seats and table beside it, a nice place to unwind when the weather turns bad.

I would maybe go back sometime, the hotels in a great location, but with the competition around in this beautiful part of Northern Ireland, including that from Guest Houses, who knows if I will be back. The restaurant and quality of food would have to improve before I would eat here again in the evening though, but given the downsides I still enjoyed my weekend away.

(PS the bright balcony lights which came on when it was dark were a real pain! It may be nice to have the hotel lit up and be seen from the bay, but not nice for guests to enjoy their balcony in the evening)

Room Tip: Front rooms on the second or third floors should have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIreland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena N. ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having read previous postings and having just come back after a two-night stay, I can only say that "excellent" is the most appropriate word to use. We had a room with a sea view - a real delight to open the curtains to the superb vista. The breakfast was delightful and I would recommend the salmon & scrambled eggs. Huge bed means an untroubled sleep. We will definitely be back to this gem on the north coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

its in an amazing setting, the food i amazing, the staff are so pleasant and it has the most breath taking views! they have live music some nights as well which adds a great ambiance and makes it even more pleasurable and relaxing! it's a great place and well worth the visit! it's superb!

Room Tip: window seats are the best as the view is spectacular so make the request
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
733 reviews
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
376 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing