We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Stayed here on a quick overnighter. Great room, large with the huge double bed facing the balcony window overlooking the sea..... not bad for 65 quid a room per night.

Only downside was that the bed was a little hard with sheets (I prefer a duvet) and the room was a wee bit on the cold side, but with more time this could have been easily sorted.

Didn't get to sample breakfast as had to leave early but looked good.

At this price this is cheaper than many overpriced B&Bs in the area.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Chachmoohach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 714 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2008

A lovely surprise gift from friends as I travelled abroad. This hotel is situated across the street from the ocean. In the upgraded superior room, you get a panoramic view and feel as though you are right over the ocean. Too bad they only made two small windows but you can hear the waves throughout the evening if you leave them open.
The bathroom is very large and clean, looked fairly new. Two televisions and a kettle and tea etc is provided (no mini bar). Its a short drive to Portrush, Portstewart and more beaches at Whiterock. THe scenery is breathtaking.
The breakfast and dinner we had was good. I would stay there again, but bring your own pillow. Theirs are hard as rocks.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and it was brilliant. We needed a family room and we got everything apart from the kitchen sink. TV, CD player, Tea making facilities, double, single and a sofa bed, shower, bath all you would ever need. In the morning you had the morning paper and the weather forecast delivered to your door so you could plan your activities for the day. The only problem I found was the slow service between the courses when you were eating either breakfast or dinner. But I can't complain about the food it was excellent in this hotel. But if you ate out elsewhere I found the slow service to be common problem and I would have recommended Sweeney's for a meal but when we were there the manager fell out with a group of customers and that really put us off and we will not be going back. If you want a good meal stay in the hotel and you can have a couple of drinks as well without the need to drive. Excellent hotel I hope you keep up the good service for other guests as we will be coming back hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtbproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Reviewer S. Wally [60ish]

We stayed at the Bayview for 3 of out trip. We had a superior room on the top floor with fabulous views across the bay. The room was very spacious with lots of storage room and the bathroom was well designed with shower and jacuzzi bath.
There were tea & coffee making facilities in the room with biscuits replenished each day.
There are not many places to eat in the vicinity so we ate at the hotel restaurant every night and found the food very good quality. The restaurant does tend to get busy after 8'oclock because people from B&Bs and rented apartments use it and because the food is good.

On our last day the receptionist called us over because the night before someone had handed in my husbands wallet with all his credit cards plus cash. It must have fallen out of his back pocket when we were in the bar and he had not noticed -how's that for honesty!!

The North Antrim Coast is very beautiful don't miss Ballintoy Harbour & Dunluce Castle. In all we found the Irish people very friendly and unlike so many other holiday destinations no-one was trying to rip us off, if you need to unwind and are happy just to sit in a bar in the evenings this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussyduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Stayed in the hotel as a treat for my birthday. Stayed in one of the rooms with the 3 windows overlooking the bay at the front. The interior of the rooms is not the most modern but it was very clean. There was a very large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and seperate shower. I found it was unusual that there was no mini-bar or fridge in a superior room though. The view was amazing.
When we booked in there was three blonde girls at the desk, and while they were there they seemed to do nothing else but stare at the people walking in and out of the lifts. It was funny, but a bit off putting.
Breakfast was fine, and the service was good even though it was busy.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmafx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I booked this hotel for my husband and I. When we arrived our room had around 100 sand flies all over the ceiling. The person at reception told us she would try to take care of them and would give us a discount for our inconvenience. They told us to keep the door closed so the bugs do not come back and the reason we booked the room was to experience the sounds of the sea as we relaxed and slept in our room. Upon check out the manager gave my husband a hard time and did not want to honor the discount and after blaming us for the bugs she finally decided to reduce the room rate for the first night.

The restaurant seemed more like a diner than a fine dining establishment. We ate on Saturday night and the lights were up very bright and the wait staff was abrupt. I recommend skipping their restaurant and walk about a block to Sweeney's; it was a warm, friendly, authentic Irish pub and restaurant.

The Bayview claims on their brochure that they are a luxury hotel however our experience made us feel as if we checked into a low end chain hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moviegirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We were travelling through the North, staying in a different place each night. When we phoned, on the day, they offered us a discount straight away, even though we didnt ask for it. They could easily have charged us full price and it would have been worth that too. The room was excellent, with a superb full view of the bay/harbour - we expected theyd put us in a back room with the half price discount. Spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant was fabulous - although much too much of it. The prices for the food were very good. The restaurant was busy but service still excellent. The chef accommodated me by making a special desert. The waitress too,hadnt balked when I asked for it - she (and the chef) could have insisted they only had what was on the menu. The receptionist on checkout offered good advice on tourist attractions in the area. There seemed to be quite a few families staying in the hotel, even though this is a very quite village.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
817 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
721 reviews
4.8 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range: $133 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing