We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely views”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

we booked this hotel through trip advisor and booking.com it was a good price at £79 (€100). we arrived in the evening, the room was very cold and after a four hour trip this was a bit disappointing, when the heat was turned on (around 6.30p.m.)it was better. Understanding that there is a very cold north wind constantly barraging the hotel, we guessed the insulation wasnt up to scratch as the heat just disappeared when the radiators were turned off, this could have been rectified with a simple adjustable thermostat on the wall to keep the room at a constant temperature, as in most other hotels.we went downstairs for dinner at 8 and when we came back to the room the heat was off and the room was cold again.adn it was very cold throughtout the night. The receptionist though professional could have been more welcoming. i.e. a. smile says a thousand words. The food was nice but nothing amazing, not much of a vegetarian option. Parking was very tight in the car park so a lot of people chose to park on the street, id hate to see it in the busy season. Apart from that everything else was fine a nice hotel close to the main attractions in Antim.

Room Tip: third floor has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Maria B, thank you so much for taking time to compose and post a review on TA about your experience at Bayview, your comments are much appreciated and have been taken on board by all of us.
Our Head Chef is certainly keen to increase the number of Vegetarian dishes available and has put forward suggestions to be included in our new Spring Time Menus.
Many thanks for your suggestions and kind remarks, we look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview Hotel Portballintrae.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    170
    45
    20
    5
See reviews for
148
380
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Should have known not to book here after reading the reviews on TA and after reading the poor responses of the "management". I booked it for my wife as a present, wish id of spent my money else were. The hotel is nice enough beds are awful! Most of the staff are nice but the food! Food is a disgrace really it's stinking! Would never return an have told everyone of my experience and advised them not to bother wasting there time or money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Itnof27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
This review is totally false and malicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A very professionally run hotel opposite the harbour and on the seafront of Portballintrae with a real fire, numerous signed golfing photos on the walls (by three world class players from this small country!), polite service and a restaurant with panoramic views including Isle of Islay on a good day. Giants Causeway is 45 mins by foot, The Royal Portrush golf couse is 5 minutes drive, there's an excellent 9 hole course at Bushfoot (10 mins walk from hotel), and within 30 mins drive you have the outstanding Portstewart, Castlerock and Ballycastle courses. Some of the rooms have seaviews.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear DannyS, thank you so much for taking time to compose and post such a positive review on TA about your experience at Bayview. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your experience and all of the wonderful attractions on the North Antrim coast.
We look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team at Bayview Hotel Portballintrae.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the Bayview for a winter weekend break, Trevor and the staff were incredibly accommodating and made the place feel like a second home.

I would highly recommend the Bayview to anyone looking for a base to explore the north coast of Antrim. The service, the food and the views are second to none and the staff are more than happy to recommend places to go and things to see.

For a smalI hotel the experience and range of services provided was excellent and I will definitely return at the earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinguzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest, WoW, thank you so much for taking time to compose such a wonderful review on TA about your experience at Bayview, the staff are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, meals and the many places to explore on the North Coast.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again some time soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team at Bayview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Really great for a Winter break. Great service good food and great service. Excellent price 71 pounds for two nights B&B for two. Sunday and Monday. The double bed was a bit lumpy in room 109 but the single bed was fine. Full Irish breakfast is mor than you can eat two days running so I chose the scrambled egg and smoked salmon for the second day. It was just great.

Room Tip: Double bed was a bit lumpy but single was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npjrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind comments on TA. We are truly grateful and pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your meals at Bayview. We look forward to welcoming your back again sometime soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview Hotel Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner bought me a nights stay here for xmas, staff are lovely, beds are awful bath was like a big puddle and the food was terrible . For having such a good location the restaurant could be lovely, I had chowder which was so chewy ? Then duck with lychee ? It doesn't work, duck was over cooked and the plate was Piled with food like they wanted rid of it! Desert was no better. It's the food I look forward when spending a night away so I defiantly would not return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niknak232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest I a sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Bayview and your choice of food. We have had many recommendations about the meals served in our restaurant, especially our excellent fresh Seafood Chowder.
The Oven Roasted Lassara Duck Breast is served pink, with Lychee and natural berry jus, oven roast vegetable and potatoe with crispy pork shards, this is a very popular dish, complimented by many guests. Indeed, many top world renowned chefs include Roast Duck with lychee on their web site recipe pages.
If you had made your complaints known to me at the time of your visit, I can assure you that all would have been sorted favourably and immediately for you.
Kind Regards,
Trevor Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

After having read excellent reviews of the Bayview Hotel we thought we were in for a treat. The location is superb however this is where the treat ends. The room we were originally given gave us a view over the carpark. Wanting to enjoy the breathtaking view we popped back to reception and requested an upgrade. Reception (quite rudely) said that we could be upgraded for a fee - in excess of£20. After paying the upgraded room price we were disappointed to find that the room only had a small window which opened a few inches. We would have been better facing the carpark! Further, you had to run the taps for 30 seconds before using the water as only brown sludge came out which stained the sink. The heating was also unable to be adjusted. The rooms were stifling and we were unable to sleep. We had been in quite a number of excellent hotels and B&Bs through our travels across Europe and this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sweet_nomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest, I was horrified when I received this very negative review on TA by you, obviously I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Bayview.
It is apparent that you were very unhappy about having to pay a small amount (£20.00) to upgrade from a standard room to a Superior room with sea views.
The hotel was built new in 2001 and replacement double glazed windows were fitted only 2 years ago, therefore I was baffled about your comment concerning the opening of the windows, I have checked all and can assure you that all windows open to approx 90 degrees with 600mm clearance (24 inches).
I have also checked our water which is supplied directly by NI Water to the hotel and the village of Portballintrae. At no time have we received any reports of brown sludgy water of other contaminants throughout the village!
I have also checked the radiators within the room in which you stayed and found that all can be easily turned down or right off, indicators on all of the on/off valves clearly show which way to turn the control.
If you had indicated your complaints to management at the time of your visit I can assure you that all would have been attended to and sorted right away.
I have had many visitors from Australia who have really genuinely enjoyed staying with us and have recommended Bayview to many friends and family.
I wish you a happy and enjoyable 2013,
Kind Regards,
Trevor Kane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
983 reviews
12.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
667 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing