We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, great food”

The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A FEEL FOR THE OLD WITH A TASTE OF THE NEW The warmth and intimacy of the Porthole Bar & Restaurant provide the focal point of the hotel where you can watch the world go by with the backdrop being the dramatic Atlantic Ocean. Relax by the open peat fire with a pint or in our lounge with one of our specialty coffees. The Porthole has the reputation of being the heart of Portballintrae and is a popular meeting place for both locals and tourists. With sumptuous cuisine, a excellent weekend entertainment schedule, well stocked bar and wines from all over the globe, the Porthole is the perfect place to sample good old Northern Ireland hospitality in a venue renowned for its relaxed ambiance. WI-FI internet connection is completely free through-out Bayview Hotel.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Views, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really impressed with the food, lovely chowder & one of the best Rib Eye steaks I've ever had. Try & bookn in when its still light to make the most of the view over the bay. Stay in the hotel if you can as well, brilliant rooms with amazing views at the front.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank simo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Simo111, it was very kind of you to take time and compose such a wonderful review on TA about your experience at Bayview recently, we are all delighted that you enjoyed the food, the panoramic view of the Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    94
    39
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dromore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent food with great menu choice with not over the top prices. The staff are great and nothing is too much for them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank may123pole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking time to compose such a wonderful review on TA about your experience and enjoyment at the Porthole Restaurant, Bayview. We are all delighted,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and The Team @ Bayview Hotel Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monasootha, Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

While staying in this area, we needed a place to eat our evening meal and the Bayview Hotel was recommended. We arrived late in the evening around 20:45 and asked about meals; the place was buzzing but the cheif(s) said yes to our party of four. The meal was wonderful, tasty and priced reasonablly too. We turned up the following evening (at a respectable time), the staff remembered us (which is always nice) and we had our second delicious meal. Before leaving, I asked for a look at one of the rooms for our next visit which they did. When in that area again, I will be checking them out first.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigebluepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking time to compose and post such a wonderful review on TA about your dining experience at Bayview. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and ambience of the Hotel. We would love to welcome you to stay at Bayview sometime soon, mean while have many more enjoyable breaks,
Kind Regards
Trevor and the Team at Bayview Hotel Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good value and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

we were recomended this place by the causeway tavern.the barman charlie told us that he recomends the bayview to all his guests who are looking for somewhere too eat.and when they return asks how their meal was.he has never got a bad report yet.so full marks for the port hole.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Goyna, thank you so much for taking time to compose such a wonderful review on TA about your experience at Bayviews Porthole Restaurant, we are all delighted that you enjoyed. I will see Charlie at the Causeway Tavern and personally thank him for recommending Bayview to his guests.
Many thanks and Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview Hotel Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a pint, and a peat fire.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a wonderful meal during our stay. Fantastic seafood chowder, ratatouille, chicken in pepper sauce. Fresh salads, perfectly poured Guinness. The bar area is a great place to watch sports, sit by a fire and enjoy a relaxing evening. Great hospitality by Trevor Kane and his staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TFC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking time to compose a wonderful review on TA about your experience at the Porthole Bayview Hotel, we are all delighted that you enjoyed,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview, Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel also viewed

 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing