We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Views.......”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Views from Portballintrae Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portballintrae, Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suffolk S
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Views.......”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my parents in June and we had a lovely time in the area and the accommodation was good too. The view across the bay from the apartment is fantastic, on a lovely day this is relaxing enough. The rooms are all spacious and well decorated with good facilities for cooking and staying in should you want to. The only reason this doesn't score a 5 is that it was just a little lacking in information from the company about the house and nearby facilities and a couple of things were broken, light bulbs etc - minor stuff, but stopped it from getting rave review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the living room
Liked least: having to buy light bulbs and toilet roll on arrival
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Thanks you so much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, Regards CCR team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobw413
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in Northern Ireland”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in Ballintrae House for a few days in Nov 2013. We loved the place as soon as we entered it. There was so much room, so clean and everything you needed.The view is so great, I don't think any picture or photo could express it. We loved every minute of our stay and did not want to go home. The best place we have stayed in throughout Europe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place and the view
Liked least: Nothing 100% great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback, since your stay we have replaced the carpet in the front room, re covered the sofa and give it a fresh lick of paint, so next time you come it will be looking even better. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Keith at Causeway Coast Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing - Would highly recommend”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My partner and I stayed at Ballintrae House for the weekend and could not have asked for anything more. An exceptionally clean, modern and spacious apartment with amazing sea views from the Balcony. The apartment was fully equipped with all the essentials needed for a great self-catering break. The apartment is situated in a great location with the Portrush, Portstewart, Bush Mills and Coleraine all a short drive away. The staff at Causeway Coast Rentals were great. I would highly recommend their services and a weekend away to the Causeway Coast. I will definitely be retuning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Keith at Causeway Coast Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn R
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing and amazing views”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

free parking, the apartment is brilliant, have the options to cook or go out for dinner with menus set in the apartment for local businesses who have different food options, its two minute walk from the beach, the views are amazing, myself and the family go up every couple of months to get away for the weekend and relax or celebrate birthdays and they enjoy to get away, the apartment is very clean and tidy, fresh towels on arrival, full use of the equipment within the apartment including free WI-FI, TV, DVD player, kitchen, Jacuzzi bath, shower, etc. it is a very quiet place to stay, this weekend was our fourth time staying in the apartment and would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing i did not like about the place
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2013
Thanks for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon. Causeway Coast Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our perfect holiday home - with stunning views & peace and quiet”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fifth stay at the tiny village of Portballintrae, and one of the main reasons we continue to return, is this beautiful modern apartment.
With stunning sea views and all the comforts off home we will be back for a sixth visit in the near future!!

We travelled with two children (8 and 2 years old) and love the peace and quiet. The previous review mentions noisy neighbours which I find very surprising - in all our visits we have not had any problems with noise - in fact the opposite applies.
If you are looking for a base with stunning sea views (I could watch the waves all day long) and to get away from the hassle bustle then this apartment is a must.
As per previous reviews I echo the comments on the helpfulness of the owner when contacted (we needed a cot on a previous visit and a new cot arrived within hours of calling).

Portrush is only a few miles drive away - the drive along the coastal road is one of the best you will experience anywhere - and when you arrive at Portrush the Harbour bar is a must for the best Guinness outside Dublin. Also the Harbour Bistro is a must visit for some stunning food at reasonable prices.

In nearby Bushmills I'd recommend 'Flash in the pan' for Fish & Chips - healthy portions and freshly made (be ready to wait as its made to order).

Also take the Distillery tour as well worth it.

In summary a cracking apartment that will not disappoint - with an owner who is clearly proud of his holiday home and as helpful as you could wish for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views and home comforts
Liked least: A small thing but the kitchen could do with new cutlery - that's all I can think off!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2013
Thanks for this review, we love the face we have a number of regular guests that use us again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back again in Oct. Regards Keith (Causeway Coast Rentals)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy88Ca...
Carrickfergus
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice view noisy neighbours”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

The apartment itself is of a very high standard with lovely views of the bay. However during our stay the residents in the upstairs apartment were very noisy especially at night. I think it is a fault of the building as with wooden floors sound travels did spoil our stay.
Would rather have stayed in a top floor apartment to avoid the noise.
The area is beautiful and we had some fantastic weather but I think next time I will be looking for quiter accommodation.
Also it's not got three bathrooms but two one has just two doors leading into the same bathroom which is a bit misleading.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The noise from above
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2012
I am really sorry you experienced a nosy neighbour, in 4 years of running this property as a holiday home we have never had a complaint about noise. This apartment is in an exclusive block with only 8 apartments which are all privately owned. It is in a very quiet part of Portballintrae. With regards the listing stating 3 bathrooms this was an error, we only have 2 bathrooms as it is only a 2 bedroom apartment. This has been corrected on the website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
303Gail30...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury apartment in an unrivalled location”
Reviewed March 19, 2012 for a stay in July 2011

This is a truly fabulous holiday apartment, with probably the best vantage point in a building that enjoys one of the finest settings in Portballintrae. With two generous double bedrooms, both ensuite (including a jacuzzi in one bathroom), a great kitchen and a lounge with spectacular views, there is ample room to relax. The hallmark here is luxury - the kitchen is perfectly equipped for everything from casual dining to a dinner party, there's a great TV and extensive DVD library, and even a telescope to take a closer look across the bay at the Giant's Causeway. Reliable internet access too. Expect the experience of staying in a top hotel, with all the convenience and freedom of being able to do exactly as you want, like having breakfast on the little balcony in your PJs. There's also a well-stocked store cupboard with everything anyone with a young family could need. The lift is also handy if you are travelling with an older relative and there is plenty of parking space. Two good restaurants (Sweeney's/The Bayview Hotel) are just a short stroll away. As anyone familiar with the area will know, Portballintrae is a perfect gateway to the North Coast with all its attractions, from beaches and golf courses to Carrick-a-Rede and the aforementioned Causeway. Bushmills Distillery is just a short drive or decent walk away. When we couldn't get the TV to work (due to our lack of technical know-how) the owner was on hand within 15 minutes to help. Rain or shine (or storm) I truly can't think of a better place to wake up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment was luxurious and immaculate
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, come back soon. Causeway Coast Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing