We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family and I have been coming to Fountainhead for the past five years and recently return from our most recent stay.

Run by the wonderful Peter and Helen and their family, this is one of the few places that we find we can all truly rest. The surroundings are peaceful, the service friendly and discreet and the apartments lovely and individual.

I have stayed in both the Arizona and Sultan suites, both of which are lovely and bright with everything you might need as well as a fully stocked fridge of treats. The pools and decks are more than big enough for even 3 or 4 people.

The food is homemade, fresh, local, imaginative and comparable to Michelin starred restaurants back in London.

I cannot commend Fountainhead highly enough, we'll be sure to return next year.

Room Tip: The Sultan and Arizona suites are the larger of the four. All rooms have their own individual design...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAW1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and it made a fantastic restful end to our touring holiday of Andalucía.
We stayed in Arizona which is the last suite in the row of 4 with a wonderful large deck. We found the suites to be well stocked with everything that you could need a for a short stay, right down to a shady sun hat for those long siestas!

The fridge is loaded with fresh fruit, juice, water, beer, cheese, ham and the most amazing marmalade that just tasted of sunshine...so good we had to buy some to take home! Each morning Angus bought fresh croissant and bread and anything else that needed topping up,at a pre-arranged time.

The setting is idyllic and peaceful with mountain views that take your breath away and at night brilliant clear starry skies and just a couple of pinpricks of light on the opposite hillside. If you can bear to tear yourself away they have provided a number of suggested routes for short drives and lunch stops which were a great idea .

We ate in the restaurant each evening , beautiful food with unusual but sensational flavour combinations , piping hot plates (a personal bugbear if plates aren't warm, so full marks here) excellent service from Angus front of house and the rest of the family behind the scenes and great value from the DB&B package.

We'll definitely return and a 40 minute easy drive to Malaga airport means this would be a really great trip for a long weekend when we need to re-charge our batteries .

We loved Fountainhead and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it if you love peace, quiet relaxation and super food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just back from our third annual visit to Fountainhead. I can report that there has been no significant seismic activity or landslides.

Fountainhead is still there making a magical appearance after about a kilometre of picturesque dirt track.

A luxury boutique hotel restaurant and spa. Four suites, and a restaurant, great wine list.

I no longer look for comparisons, Peter and Helen are, themselves, and it comes across in the Front of House and Cooking. Both are brilliant and every guest is made to feel special.

Accommodation is first class with comparative flexible, 'nothing is too much room service'. Topped with a first class restaurant.

We will be back next spring for another week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We only stayed at Fountainhead for two nights but we felt really at home there. The suite we had was really nicely laid out and had everything we might have wanted. The bed was large and comfortable, the shower powerful enough (poor water pressure is a real bugbear of mine). The only issue with the suite was the step down to get out of the bath but then I had just had an operation so may have been less agile than I should have been, but this could still be a problem for elderly visitors.

Breakfast was a delight as Angus (the owners' son) brought a basket of warm homemade croisants etc. to the room, to go with the homemade jam, orange juice, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses that the fridge was freely stocked with. Any more of anything wanted and it was delivered with speed and pleasure. We ate at the on-site restaurant on both nights and the food was really good, the choice was a little restricted but then this is a small family run hotel restaurant and the quality of the cooking more than compenesated.

The hotel is in an interesting area and they provide route maps if you want to go siteseeing, we followed two of their routes, one around the nearby lake and one through the nearby mountains with lunch in Periana. The road to and from the hotel is unmade but to my mind is fine for all but the most nervous driver.

Fountainhead was a really lovely place to spend a few days and we wish we'd stayed a few more days here. Hopefully we will return before too long.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great restaurant in fantastic surroundings, a real sense of privacy in the bespoke suites. Very accomplished food using local produce alongside a range of terrific wines. The ultimate venue to wind down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeargeBartov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent there the first days of our honeymoon and it was amazing.
The food was great thanks to Helen she's a great chef.
The suite was clean.
The service was very good.
And I can't forget peter the owner of the retreat he's a very nice and hospitable person.
And above all the privacy was at its best.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mohammedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 6 nights at wonderful Fountainhead in early October and this were one of the most relaxing holidays we ever had. Setting, food and hospitality were just great and the view from our terrace couldn't be topped. The resort is not far from Malaga airport and some of the most beautiful spots in Andalucia are easily reachable too. Thanks to Helen, Peter and family for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibex59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riogordo
14.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Posada del Patio
18.6 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
24.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
328 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
#1 of 3 in Alcaucin
112 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel

Property: Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel
Address: Partido del Rio el Terral | Fuente La Camacha, 29180 Riogordo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Riogordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountainhead is an infinitely romantic, ultra cool hotel and Restaurant located in wild and beautiful country inland from Malaga. An all suite hotel which moves away from the minimalist and slick to an eccentric mix of film set, luxurious glamour and rustic charm. Each suite is private with garden terrace, plunge pool and mountain view. Fountainhead life is simple - forget the technology for a while. The emphasis being relaxation, nature and great modern cooking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing