We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway Retreat!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway Retreat!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I (late 20's) stayed here after we got married in Nerja in Sept 2012. It's approximately 30 - 40 mins drive from Malaga Airport and is really easy to find.

The drive off the main road to the hotel is an experience in itself. An exciting adventure up a dusty, bumpy track for approximately 1.5km. We had a small hatchback car and managed it no problem. There's no need for a 4x4.

As we approached the hotel we could see Peter waiting to welcome us at the car park area. His warm and relaxed manner set the tone for our next 3 days - RELAXATION! Peter led us to our suite, just 50/60 metres from the car park and showed us around.

The suite was everything we could ask for and more. We stayed in the Oriental suite. A few steps up to the suite from the path and we were on the spacious and extremely nice deck area which had a number of sun loungers, table and chairs and a plunge pool which we used repeatedly in the hot sun daily.

Inside our suite was lovely. The kitchen / living room area was nicely sized for the two of us with a small table for dining and some comfy chairs for relaxing on at night time. Our bedroom was fantastic, a huge four poster bed with really nice ensuite and a shower with a view to die for - overlooking miles of the wonderful valley below the hotel looking back towards Riogordo.

The suite is designed in such a way that no matter where you are - you are looking across the vast valley towards the village. It's a treasure. A pair of binoculars (provided in the suite) were required to view the nearest road.

At 9am a knock on the door meant a fresh delivery of breads and croissants for us to enjoy for breakfast.

Each evening we headed up to the restaurant where again we were met by Peter. He proved a wonderful host. Peter's wife, Helen is the chef.

The three evening meals and the Tapas we had for lunch one of the days was the best food we have ever eaten. Absolutely incredible. We spent our days working our way through the menu and even now speak of how much we look forward to returning if only just to eat there again!

Our days we filled with reading and lying in the sun and pool. We also went for a number of walks on some of the many paths surrounding the hotel and leading down into the valley. I'd advise going early if you intend walking as it gets extremely hot in the midday / early afternoon sun.

I could go on.... Fountainhead is a brilliant brilliant retreat hotel. The perfect place to unwind and relax and get away from everything for a few days. We stayed for 3 nights which we found perfect and then headed to Cordoba (thanks to Peter's recommendation).

We can't wait to go back at some time in the future. Worth every penny. If you want to get away for a few days, you will not regret visiting Fountainhead!

Thanks Peter & Family!

Room Tip: We only saw our suite but I'm sure they are al equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kearnsey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had fond memories of Helen and Peter's previous ventures in the UK and it was wonderful to rediscover the fabulous food and quirky original interiors. The setting is wonderful and entirely justifies that 2km white knuckle ride up the drive! Our suite was perfect - a huge and entirely private terrace with pool, living area, well equipped kitchenette, well stocked fridge, shower room, bathroom and bedroom, with a second bed/dressing room - all with breathtaking mountain views. Dinner, preceded by G&Ts, home grown almonds and the most delicious olives ever, was faultless as were Peter's wine recommendations. A perfect escape - can't wait to go back. In the meantime we've boght Helen's beautifully illustrated book and will have to try to recreate the dream from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joinbathBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a week in andulusia and out of the four hotels we stayed in Fountainhead was the best, after a night time drive up some quite hairy track we arrived at our refuge for a couple of nights . We had chosen the Sultan suite decorated in a moorish style beautifully with a largish sitting room and a kitchen and our own fridge stocked with all we could want for our stay ,cheeses , cold meats , fruit juice beers and even Cava and fresh bread delivered each morning . The view from our private terrace was beautiful the mountains loom down on you and there is nothing but the birds and bees a real sense of both privacy and escape , and our plunge pool was a welcome relief on a boiling August day. When we arrived they seemed to be experiencing an incredibly hot period and while there are large fans on the ceilings in the rooms air conditioning would be nice, but this is only a slight problem and with all the windows having mosquito mesh we could sleep with them open.
The food as well in the restaurant was very good,so much so that my wife bought the chefs cook book ! Somewhere you leave feeling like life's load has got a bit lighter brilliant !

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank acefaceWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fountainhead is a beautiful retreat in an amazing setting, the views are fantastic and the peace and quiet is unrivalled. Helen's food - from daily, different, home made bread and rolls, to delicious tapas, to three course dinners - is superb. The attention to detail and the look and feel of each dish showed that she is a very skilled cook, and the use of local, seasonal ingredients made each dish very special, it was hard to choose which to enjoy next. We looked forward to each meal. She is a very talented and lovely lady. Peter strikes the right balance between being friendly, knowledgable and hospitable, around when you needed him, and then quietly disappearing into the background to leave you alone to relax and enjoy the panoramic views of the Andalusian countryside. We had a truly relaxing and memorable experience and will return very soon.

Room Tip: Choose the Arizona suite if you welcome a large terrace and slightly larger plunge pool. You will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heywood08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This small boutique hotel was part of our 10th wedding anniversary. We wanted to escape after a fortnight in London and Fountainhead did not disappoint. We had excellent meals and wines, professional service from Helen and Peter, and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Malaga countryside. Great afternoon tapas, three course dinners, and a well stocked fridge everyday. After an afternoon of hill walking it was a delight to return to our room with a warming fireplace,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbonnerabv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for four nights at Fountainhead in June. Fountainhead is not a hotel, or self-catering, or in fact a typical catagory of place to stay; it stands out as unique and special. The location and views are fantastic, the food authentic thoughtfully prepared and tasty, the wines excellent, and the service (from the owner Peter, Helen and family) personal and considered. Given that the quietitude of Fountainhead is a mere 40 minutes from Malaga means this must be one of the best places anywhere to gently unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Arizona has a bigger corner decked balcony than the other rooms we saw: the only slight disadvantage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandChris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Fountainhead Andalucía
Perched on a terraced mountainside in a Moorish/Art Deco cottage, surrounded by wild Fennel, self-set Almond trees and ancient Olives, I can see across the deep wide valley to the bald grey mountain tops crowned with wreaths of blue-grey rain laden clouds, at odds with the sun drenched lower slopes whose legions of regimented Olive trees do battle with the precipitous slopes keeping at bay the otherwise advancing erosion typified by the naked rim of summits that surround us.

Fountainhead is described as a ‘Five Star Retreat’ I would prefer to describe it as a ‘Five Star Refuge’. We hadn’t finished dinner on the first evening and we were already planning a return visit. At the end of our seven night stay, if anything our desire to return is even greater.

Fountainhead defies comparison with anywhere else we have stayed, or heard mention of. From the moment the wizened, old, family retainer lurches and drags himself down the steps to the car, waving his arms discordantly, howling ‘Sanctuary, Sanctuary’. You are cosseted in the warm attentive folds of this excellent, warm, family owned and run Shangri-La.

Actually ‘Front of House’ is the domain of Peter (not the afore mentioned Quasimodo) and son Angus, Peter is urbane, witty, intelligent and an ‘all round’ really nice bloke, Angus is well on his way, but no doubt with his own slant on life and the universe.

We drove from Northern France over three days and left the main road to tackle the infamous front driveway to Fountainhead, despite some comments this is not a problem; if you take note of the wreaths and shrines that denote previous fatalities you should be ok. To be honest all you need to do is engage your brain and drive carefully.

Over the brow of a hill Fountainhead appears, a white and yellow pueblo suspended amongst Olive and Almond Groves with gradients of 1 in 3.

Peter, alerted by grinding gears and spitting sand is there to greet you and escort you to your suite, with a full fridge and views to die for (remember flowers and shrines).

Now, dinner, what can I say? There is a standard choice of 5/5/5 (starter, main and dessert) with the likes of Langoustine Broth, Chicken Livers, Bream, Lamb, then chocolate torte or cheese or something else.; but you have all read these menus before, so is this a case of ‘same old, same old’? No, quite frankly it is not.

We have eaten at Gidley Park and the Le Gavroche amongst others and these are fantastic restaurants, But Helen the chef at Fountainhead can count herself the equal of Michele Roux (Jnr) and Michael Caines, her food, imagination and sense of style is every bit as good as the best the UK has to offer. We realised this on ‘day two’ in that we had actually run out of superlatives and sat dumbstruck when the empty plates were removed.

Peter’s Dry Martini is traditional copious and excellent, dry as a bone. He appears to treasure his wine list and rose to the evening challenge of ‘you choose’ without faltering and managed to match white wine with every meal which is no mean feat. We are in Sherry country and his range and knowledge is excellent, this is not the stuff that sits in your granny’s sideboard only to make a brief unloved appearance along with turkey for Christmas.

If you want to get out and about, Peter runs various tours and took us to the Alhambra, acting as our guide he knew it inside and out and spoke with real affection as well as deep knowledge.
If like us you want to take a gradual tour around the best restaurants available then add Fountainhead to your list which is also available to non-residents if booked in advance.

The suites (and there are only 4) are cleverly arranged to have decks and plunge pools that are not overlooked and enjoy uninterrupted and dramatic views of the surrounding mountains. All meals apart from dinner are served in your suite and you decide what that consists of.

All good thing must come to an end and the only time we used our car was to leave and go home, when I paused at the top of the valley for one last look I almost expected Fountainhead to disappear in a swirl of mist just like Brigadoon, too good to be real (until next year).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riogordo
14.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Posada del Patio
18.6 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
24.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
328 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
#1 of 3 in Alcaucin
112 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel

Property: Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel
Address: Partido del Rio el Terral | Fuente La Camacha, 29180 Riogordo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Riogordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountainhead is an infinitely romantic, ultra cool hotel and Restaurant located in wild and beautiful country inland from Malaga. An all suite hotel which moves away from the minimalist and slick to an eccentric mix of film set, luxurious glamour and rustic charm. Each suite is private with garden terrace, plunge pool and mountain view. Fountainhead life is simple - forget the technology for a while. The emphasis being relaxation, nature and great modern cooking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing