We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS”
Review of Ash Grill Restaurant - CLOSED

Ash Grill Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Ash Grill restaurant at The Shawlands has a open airy feel to it, with glass panels framing fantastic views of the clyde valley and surrounding countryside. The use of contrasting colours and neutral walls complete the vibrant atmosphere. Open all day from breakfast through to lunch and dinner and with a selection of lightbites and beverages the Ash Grill is a popular choice.If you have any special dietary requirements please ask as we will always do our best to accommodate.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“AS”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The serviice was pleasant but slow the food was ok it could have been better and served on warm plates. I have been told since my visit the hotel has changed hands and is much improved.

Helpful?
Thank 44AlanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galston
2 reviews
“Strictly Fun Dancing weekend 2012”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Breakfast was okay but would have preferred a buffet. Had a great weekend though and would recommend it for anyone looking for a dance venue.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Love dining at the Shawlands. The set price menu offers great value and delicious food. Highly recommend the haggis pakora and haggis, jeeps and tatties. Food is always wonderful with plentiful portions. Try to leave room for dessert... It's worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent last night (saturday) with friends at this restaurant within the Shawlands Park Hotel.
We have dined here on a few occasions over the years and found the experience very ordinary
to say the least. However,last night was definately different ! We were told that the hotel was
recently under new managent. The dining room was smart and welcoming. Didn't think the
staff too friendly at first but we warmed to our waitress as the night progressed. A good menu
with a good choice of food,variable price range too. Our partners had sirloin steak both wanting
different degrees of grilling and both said they were perfectly done and delicious. We had the
Beef Stroganoff again,the sauce was tasty and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Good selection
of puddings -try the sticky toffee sundae, it was great! Nice wine selection too. Service pretty
good. We will be back,all in all a really nice night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“"QUALITY DINING"”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

What can i say, my partner and i thoroughly enjoyed the experience at the Ash Grill, from start to finish the politeness and warm welcome the staff shown really made the dining more enjoyable. We both had 3 courses plus drinks and found the price to be fairly reasonable for such a restaurant, the quality of food was exceptional and the platter for two is a sure must to try....not for the faint hearted though as there is more than enough even to fill the largest of appetites. WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK AGAIN...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ash Grill Restaurant also viewed

Larkhall, South Lanarkshire
Larkhall, South Lanarkshire
 
Larkhall, South Lanarkshire
Larkhall, South Lanarkshire
 
Larkhall, South Lanarkshire
Larkhall, South Lanarkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing